User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th September 2019) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Wig & Pen, Norwich Central, Norwich

6 St. Martins Palace Plain
Norwich
NR3 1RN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Wig & Pen

There has been a pub in this attractive building since the 18th Century, previously known as the White Lion before adopting its current name in 1985 when the new Magistrates Court opened nearby. The pub has a decent location, just off the river in a quiet spot close to the city centre. You enter via a large outdoor front seating area, into the large main bar with the servery positioned to the rear left. Banquette and low stool seating fills the space directly opposite the bar whilst over to the right, a larger bare boarded area has been furnished with banquettes, pews and standard chairs. Here a massive fireplace dominates one wall whilst a TV screen provided ample visual distraction by screening a Premier League fixture. The room has something of a cosy, traditional local's bar feel to it, although the dark wood beams that lined the ceiling looked fake to me. To the rear there is a tile floored dining area with a nice little snug to the right offering a cosy spot to settle on some comfy seating. The rest of the rear area is set up for dining, with tables laid for service. A quick look at the menu showed that main meals could be enjoyed for around £10-12, with sandwiches and the like coming in closer to the £5-6 mark. I also noticed the day's papers displayed in a rack in one corner.
Six handpulls were dispensing Adnams Topaz Gold and Southwold Bitter, Woodfordes Bure Gold, Sharp's Doom Bar and Norfolk Brew House Moon Gazer with the final pump out of action. Keg options included some rarely seen brews such as Sharp's Pilsner and Franciscan Well Shandon Stout. I decided to try the Bure Gold, having seen it in a couple of pubs around town, and thought it was in great shape, if not my favourite beer of the crawl.
In any other town or city, this would probably be regarded as a great pub, but with all the riches on offer around Norwich, it feels more like an 'also-ran'. I enjoyed my visit here and would happily recommend the place, but there are plenty of pubs not too far away that outshine it.

On 2nd October 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2313 recommendations about 2313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Wig & Pen

Update – April 2013

6 real ales on, mainly from local breweries ( eg – Woodfordes, Adnams, Winters, Humpty Dumpty ) . It’s an attractive 17th century pub with black ceiling and wall beams and whitewashed walls. There’s something of a corporate feel with staff in the usual chain pub uniform of black shirts and, disappointingly, there’s no photos or prints inside of either Norwich or the pub itself.

On my early evening visit, the after work office crowd were, unfortunately, very much in evidence with several people tapping away on laptops and engaging in office- speak conversations – “ we’ll take that on board”…etc

Pricey food is available – eg pan fried duck breast on a bed of parmentier potatoes in an orange honey and star anise glazed with wilted spinach - £ 14.50p, but, based on my visits, food does not dominate.

It’s close to The Adam and Eve and Norwich Cathedral and makes for a reasonable mini crawl of two of Norwich’s most historic and well known pubs

Original review – April 2009
Smallish white-washed reasonably traditional pub in a quietish area of the city reasonably close to the cathedral.

The pub is a GBG regular and, so I'm told, one of the best known Norwich pubs.

Food appeared to play a major part when I visited, but there were 6 real ales on - London Pride, Adnams, Deuchars IPA, Mauldens, Woodforde Nog and Oakham Ales JHB.

It's quite compact inside and probably usually gets busy quickly, but there's a spacious outside drinking area on the square outside to help relieve any crush.

Not a must visit pub, but I'd probably return

On 22nd October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Wig & Pen

On approaching, I was a bit worried to see a large but deserted patio out front, but needn't have worried since it was very busy inside. Interesting old building with traditional furniture and decor. Six handpumps on the counter, offering Pride, Oakham JHB, Adnams Southwold, Summer Lightning, Woodforde's Ketts Rebellion and Tipples Redhead (£3.20). If anything, it was a bit too busy on my first visit, so will try again at a quieter time when next in the area. (NB - Review dates from August 2012.)

On 10th March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Wig & Pen

This 17th century freehouse is well worth a visit. Serves six well kept ales and also prides itself on their fresh locally sourced ingredients for the menu. I went for the Adnams Southwold Bitter.

On 4th November 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Wig & Pen

The Wig and Pen is a decent looking pub that is in a nice location fairly close to the river.
Once inside the pub had one room that had an olde worlde feel to it with a beamed ceiling and comfortable seating,there were three real ales on the bar i had a drink of Buffeys Terrier and this was a very nice drink the other beers were Adnams bitter and London Pride.
I quite liked this pub and was happy enough having a drink in here.

Pub visited 3/6/2006

On 3rd June 2006 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]