User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Compleat Angler, Norwich

120 Prince of Wales Road
Norwich
NR1 1NS
Phone: 01603622425

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Compleat Angler

A large town pub by the bridge outside the station with a reasonably traditional feel and a nice terrace outside overlooking the river. The walls are mainly decorated in a strange mixture of postage stamp wallpaper and imitation bookshelves, but it somehow works. A few large Sports TVs are strategically located but can be avoided. The main draw however is an excellent range of beers, with up to 10 on handpump including many local brews. At time of visit these included Earl Soham Albert and Gold, Humpty Dumpty Branch Line Bitter, Moon Gazer Nibbler, Green Jack LGM1 and Woodforde Wherry. Cask Marque accredited.

On 11th April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2465 recommendations about 2410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Compleat Angler

Riverside Greene King pub near the station with a small side terrace overlooking the Wensum. The interior has been partially opened-out at some stage, leaving several seating / dining areas in an overall 'L'-shape - all given a corporate, faux-traditional makeover. Having said that, there is usually a reasonable selection of real ales available from six of handpumps, and on this visit I found Tribute, Otter Amber, Bure Gold and Nelson's Revenge from Woodfoorde's and Humpty Dumpty Swallowtail (£3.80) in addition to the inevitable IPA.

On 18th February 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6620 recommendations about 6620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Compleat Angler

This is a large riverside pub and also one of the first pubs you'll encounter if arriving into Norwich by train. You enter into a bare boarded space with an upright piano to your right where the pub extends some way towards the rear. A nice dark wood servery and bar back makes a good impression on arrival, although I got the impression that these were comparatively recent additions. There is a lot of vertical drinking space to the right with the odd high table and stool combination, although this gives way to a conservatory style space which has been carpeted and furnished with comfy button backed banquettes. There were a lot of flags from all over the world on the ceiling here and a few slot machines quietly flashed away around the margins. To the left of the bar is a more conventional pubby space with a mix of bench, high stool and standard chair seating in an area decorated with bookcase and stamp motif wallpaper. More flags were on show here, including in bunting format and there were several large screens throughout the whole pub showing live sports coverage whilst pop music blared out of the speakers. Arriving in the hours of darkness, I was only able to get a vague sense of the outdoor seating options, but the riverside seating certainly looked like a good bet for a pleasant day and the pub seems to have done a decent job of making the most of this feature. Stairs lead down to a restaurant/function room that I didn't get to explore and the pub is one of the recommended venues for away fans attending matches at nearby Carrow Road.
I wasn't expecting too much on the ale front from, what I assumed would be, a standard station/football pub, but there were four interesting options on handpull - Tyne Bank Pacifica, Greene King USA, Roosters Yankee and Sadler's One Stop Hop. My pint of Pacifica was in fine condition and having arrived at a time when most of the football crowd had dispersed, I found the place a relaxing spot for a quick pint.
This was a bit of a wildcard, having found myself with time to spare before my train home and I'm glad I gave the pub a chance. It is probably best avoided on match days but I can imagine having a good pint or two on a summer's day by the river and would suggest this works well as a good first or last pub of the day for anyone visiting by rail.

On 15th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2630 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Compleat Angler

We were early for our train so decided to have a meal and drink here but we were disappointed. The Adnams Explorer was hazy. Menu was attractive and reasonable too, but I'm afraid I had to leave the unchewable beef on my dinner, although the rest of the meals were fine. Lovely sitting on the balcony outside by the river.

On 4th May 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Compleat Angler

The Compleat Angler is situated next to the river and is the first pub you see if arriving by train when walking towards the city centre.
I first went in this pub on 23 June 1983 and the pub was a Watney Norwich house with that lovely Norwich keg bitter coming out of a green box on the bar.
Things have improved since then the pub has been opened out and is fairly smart inside and there were real ales on the bar.

Pub firts visited 23/6/1983

Photo taken 3/6/2006

On 7th May 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


andrew parr left this review about The Compleat Angler

Good pub next to the river and railway staiton.Good food

On 28th July 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 105 recommendations about 100 pubs]