User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
PuG Tools with hondo on the Pub Forum

The Alexandra Tavern, Norwich

16 Stafford Street
Norwich
NR2 3BB
Phone: 01603627772

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Alexandra Tavern

A lovely two room backstreet pub with traditional decor; burgundy and cream painted embossed wallpaper with dark varnish trim. Three ales on, 2x Winters and Woodfordes Reedlighter (a bit flabby, NBSS 2) served-up in a dirty pitted glass. No Chalk Hill beers on, guess that link is now severed. Another Norwich stereotype – lovely pub, shame about the beer…
Visited early August.

May 2009
A traditional corner local a couple of minutes stroll away from the (in)famous Fat Cat. Set over two rooms, retaining a semblance of the old public/lounge split with a log burner in each. A number of ales on with an emphasis on Chalk Hill. Pool and darts available. Enjoyable visit in this take-it-as-you-find-it pub. Rated 8

On 12th September 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4111 recommendations about 4099 pubs]


Moby Duck left this review about The Alexandra Tavern

An excellent corner pub hidden away in the residential backstreets of Norwich and makes for a great double header with The Fat Cat 5 minutes walk away. It consists of two traditionally furnished rooms, wooden floored and walls half clad with wood panelling, an old traditional stand up jukebox nestles in a far corner. There were four beers on from the five handpumps, Robinsons Dizzy Blonde , Adnams Ghost Ship , Mr Winters Ale X and Oakham Citra, The Citra went down very well with a cheese and pickle Roll. A cracking pub.

On 11th July 2021 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1420 recommendations about 1405 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Alexandra Tavern

Hidden away in a residential area to the West of Norwich city centre, the Alexandra Tavern is a charming two bar traditional pub and the unofficial tap for the local Chalk Hill Brewery. The main bar is on the right hand side of the building and has a servery split in two parts by a partitioning wall and wide doorway which divides the room into two notional sections. A good amount of bench seating is supplied, supplemented by low stools and standard chairs, one of which had been claimed by the pub cat who looked like it was settling down for the rest of the day. The room has been decorated by various photos, newspaper clippings and breweriana as well as various maritime related items, whilst a pool table resides at the far end of the room. Doors at either end of the bar lead you through to the lounge - a cosy, carpeted space with a long fixed bench opposite the bar which displayed a collection of old Good Beer Guides on the ledge along its back, as well as a wireless set, barometer and old barrel among other nick-nacks. Next to this is a small stove in a pleasant fireplace and further into the room is another fixed bench with framed pump clips and beer adverts above. A stained glass pane set into a short screen in front of the toilet doors had the words 'Bullard's Ales' on it, hinting at one of the pub's previous owners. A dartboard can be found tucked in one corner of the room and there is also a display relating to the landlord's charity rowing challenge which saw him row across the Atlantic Ocean in 2005. Flowers had been placed into old beer bottles on each table which brightened the room up nicely and a quiet soundtrack played through my stay. The pub has a number of sports teams and even a philosophy club led by a former UEA lecturer.
Three Chalk Hill beers were on at the bar - Tap, CHB and Gold - so I decided to give one a try, opting for the Tap (£2.60) which turned out to be a very nice session bitter in reasonably good condition. Other options were Hyde's Request and a Pale Ale whose brewer I failed to note.
I really enjoyed visiting this interesting pub and left feeling that there was probably lots that I missed during my stay. This is the kind of place that will reward repeat visits and I would say this is one of the better pubs in a city full of excellent boozers.

On 19th September 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2597 recommendations about 2597 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Alexandra Tavern

Excellent, traditional corner local, retaining a twin-bar layout. The public bar has five handpumps, basic tables and chairs, breweryana on the walls and a pool area at the back. Separate lounge with another small counter and more comfortable furniture. Beer choice was Woodforde's Nelson's Revenge, TT Landlord and three from Chalk Hill: Tap, CHB and Gold (£2.90) when I visited a couple of months ago. Well worth seeking out.

On 7th July 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6465 recommendations about 6465 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Alexandra Tavern

Another fine example of a good traditional Victorian pub. This is a well supported pub, serving five ales on handpump at reasonable prices. Three from Chalk Hill Brewery, Fullers Front Row and Humpty Dumpty Little Sharpie were on offer on our visit. Cobs on the bar were a pound each. The manager was a submariner and there are photos also of him rowing single-handedly across the Atlantic. Look out for the clock near the main bar that goes backwards, I thought I was seeing things.

On 16th February 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3006 recommendations about 3006 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Colin Moore left this review about The Alexandra Tavern

i really like this pub the landlord is funny and great range of ale and beers.
pool table,great old fashioned juke box..and only 10mins from fat cat

On 29th August 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 8 recommendations about 8 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Alexandra Tavern

The Alexandra is a really good three roomed corner pub i sat in the small bar at the front of the pub and was quite happy here there was also a larger room at the back which was doing hot food,there were four handpumps i had Chalk Hill CHB which was a very nice drink there was also Chalk Hill Tap and Fullers Hock i did'ng get to see what was on the other pump,i really liked this pub well worth a visit.

On 8th June 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]