User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Queens Head, Uxbridge

54 Windsor Street
Uxbridge
UB8 1AB
Phone: 01895258750

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

John Barras (Spirit Pubs)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Queens Head

ORIGINAL REVIEW January 2012

Operated by The Original Pub Company,this low ceiling town centre pub seemed to have more drinkers than diners on my visit,despite a menu that offered extreme value with many dishes sub £4 and little over £6.My thoughts turned immediately towards "you get what you pay for".
Other describe the interior well.On my trip ales available were dominated by national brands Doom Bar,Youngs Bitter,6X and Adnams Broadside while the sole unusual guest was Thwaites Wainwright which proved another unexceptional beer.There is rather loud musak ,free wifi and very high tables infront of an unused brick fireplace.
I was expecting more from this 2012 GBG entry,but it's selection may have more to do with the paucity of real ale in the other pubs in the town centre.

UPDATE

Now branded with Greene King signage,the ale selection will have GK IPA and Abbott as regulars with an assortment of guests,three on my Friday evening trip being Twickenham Summer Down Under,Southwark Oatmeal Milk Stout and White Horse Bitter.The menus are corporate GK and not much else has changed.

On 19th January 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2086 recommendations about 2086 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Queens Head

Nice little traditional pub close to the tube station. 4 beers on when I called including Hardy & Hansons Olde Trip and Rebellion ales Marlow Amber. I went for the local Amber and it was fine. Camra discount too! All in all a decent pub.

On 4th June 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1078 recommendations about 1036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Queens Head

The Queen's Head is a pretty, traditional pub in the heart of Uxbridge.
Inside the traditional - low wood beams and a familiar bar - clash with the modern - furnishings and two large, wall mounted, televisions one showing BBC News on mute and the other Radio 2, not on mute regrettably. Why?
The governor's a cheery and welcoming fellow and there's a decent bank of handpumps all of which bodes well until close enough to identify the clips.
Available on our visit were Greene King IPA, Doombar, Brains Rev. James and Theakstons Old Peculier in addition to a Wells Directors clip reversed and one unused handpump. Not inspiring but the Old Peculier was in top nick and a reminder of what a decent pint this can be.
Worth dropping in for an Old Peculier.

On 19th October 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Queens Head

Low beamed olde worlde style pub with 6 handpumps but a Twickenham beer was as exciting as it got.But it was the only one of 6 pubs I tried that had a Locale on.

On 4th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Queens Head

This is a very low ceilinged (the “mind your head” sign on a beam is really necessary) old town centre pub which is full of pub character. It has a “pub rustic” look, but I suspect that in here it’s the real thing. It’s mainly furnished with normal tables and chairs, but unfortunately I did spot a tall table with a tall bench and tall stools that looked a little out of place. There’s not a lot in the way of decor – a few small mirrors on the wall on the right, and stags painted on bits of wood in a small area on the left. Newspapers were in a small rack on one of the pillars. Being a Spirit pub there are also chalkboards around the place advertising meal deals and the like. A typical pubco illustrated menu is on all the tables including the usual pubco pub grub favourites, and offering a “two meals for £9” deal.

Real ale most certainly deserves a big mention. When I was in they had on Courage Directors; XT4; Cotleigh Nutcracker; Old Growler; Tring Tea Kettle Stout; Vale Red Kite; M Malt Golden Ale, plus Rosie’s Pig cloudy cider. They give a 10% discount on real ale to CAMRA members, bringing my half of Old Growler down to £1.41. That’s an excellent ale selection at good prices.

This pub is nowhere near perfect, but the usual pubco features haven’t been allowed to destroy the “olde worlde” feel to the place. This is almost certainly the best pub in Uxbridge. I shall probably be back as it’s due to feature on a forthcoming London Pubs Group crawl.

On 16th May 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Queens Head

It's quite surprising to find such an old-fashioned sort of pub in Uxbridge town centre. It doesn't look much from the street, but inside it is full of traditional wooden furniture under a low ceiling. The original layout has been opened out for form various seating areas, some a bit raucous, others quieter. Five of six handpumps were working, offering Broadside, Doom Bar, 6X, Youngs Ordinary and Winter Warmer (curiously-priced at £3.01, but in good form).

On 4th December 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Queens Head

Pleasant low-ceilinged pub with an old feel to it and creaky floorboards. There are seating areas at the front with the bar a little further back and a small room to the left at the rear. An impressive range of guest beers were shown on a chalkboard with the presumed intention that this is ticked when they are available. However on both of my visits beers were restricted to Youngs Ordinary, Landlord, 6X and an Adnams. Ate there once and the menu is typical pub grub fayre, reasonably priced and good portions. One of the few remaining unspoilt pubs in the area.

On 22nd January 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Queens Head

This is one of the quieter pubs in the town centre that is mostly frequented by the older drinker. There was some very low music on during my visit and I didn’t spot any TVs in the main bar area although there was a flat screen monitor in the back room which was showing Harry Potter, which I found a bit odd given the nature of the pub. Obviously having no screens means that there is no Sky Sports and there is a sign in the door warning that no service will be given to anyone wearing football colours – not that anyone wearing football colours would want to drink in here anyway.

Two of the six hand pumps were off, but Ordinary, 6X and Landlord were all available and the Guinness that I had from the standard draught range was on good form. I didn’t see anyone eating, but there were some menus lying around and I spotted an advertisement for a curry club every Thursday from 17:00.

I like a pub with low beams and a slightly olde world feel, but I struggled to get comfortable in here and I would walk past if in the area again.

On 20th April 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]