User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Good Yarn (JD Wetherspoon), Uxbridge

132 High Street
Uxbridge
UB8 1JX
Phone: 01895239852

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Good Yarn (JD Wetherspoon)

Fairly standard spoons which was packed with football fans heading to Wembley. I couldn't see all the beer choice so I settled for the Saltaire Blonde I spotted and it was fine. The service was pretty good considering how busy it was.

On 6th June 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1086 recommendations about 1043 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Good Yarn (JD Wetherspoon)

A shonky but very busy 'Spoons on our Thursday evening visit.
Beers on were: Portobello APA and Star, Sambrooks Wandle and Juntion plus the usual dreaded trio of Doombar, Ruddles Best and Abbot.
Service was dense at best and beer quality lacking.
Uxbridge isn't blessed with real ale options so it's probably worth looking in to see what's on but I'm in no hurry to return.

On 19th October 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Good Yarn (JD Wetherspoon)

This 'spoons has a small frontage but extends a long way back.The ceilings are quite low ,especially at the back,which creates a solid pub atmosphere and I liked the seating booths which are evident throughout the interior.The bar is in the middle on the left side and has two ranks of five handpumps,the furthest from the entrance offering the dull regular ales (Ruddles Best,Abbott,Doom Bar) with a few doubled up.The guest ales were all from Sambrooks and Portobello,but with two "available soon" this left a poor selection and both the Portobello APA and Pale that were sampled had been hanging about in the pipes,the second pints were more acceptable.
The pub was busy with an archetypical 'spoons audience,all day drinkers,mutterers,clinically obese,old men with tatoos and young folk supping blue liquid from a jug.Given a poor real ale selection,and dozy serving staff ,I can see little reason to return.The GBG inclusion looks like a desperate attempt by the local CAMRA branch to use up their allocation of slots in the Guide.

On 16th September 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Good Yarn (JD Wetherspoon)

The most exciting pub for beers I found in Uxbridge. Not hard to win that accolade unfortunately.Long rectangular pub and busy busy.Still had a few fest beers on so I tried Beerd-cubic which was blonde and bland but cheap.(not brewed at Beerd so why pretend)

On 4th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Good Yarn (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a typical 'spoons in many ways. This one has a narrow frontage that stretches back a long way, which is what you'd expect from a 'spoons. The long bar counter's on the left; there are a few tall tables/tall stools facing it along with a quartet of fruit machines. Past the counter and up a few steps is a largish area with booths on the left, banquettes on the right, and normal tables and chairs crammed down the middle. It's clearly a shop conversion, having undoubtedly been a tailor in a previous incarnation judging by the tailor's dummy torso showing off a flashy waistcoat, and the rest of the tailor's paraphernalia in cases along one of the side walls. There's a clue in the name as well.

I had a better experience in here than Aqualung. There are two banks of six andpumps - the first bank had what would be regarded as guest ales (all six were clipped - can't remember what I had but it was in good condition); with the second bank further along the counter where you find the usual suspect. The prices seem to be at the lower end of the 'spoons pricing structure (at least for London), with my "marker" meal, the traditional breakfast, being just £3.09. But it's a typical 'spoons; it was doing a very healthy trade when I visited just before midday on a weekday.

On 29th February 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Good Yarn (JD Wetherspoon)

On approaching this place today from Uxbridge Station it looked as though it just might be an original pub. After entering all those thoughts were put aside as the huge narrow dark cavern inside could only be a shop conversion.

This is a Lloyds No 1 rather than a Wetherspoon although it looked like a bog-standard Spoons to me rather than a night club.


There are twelve handpunps here which should be good news, but isn't as the GK Abbot / Ruddles and the mind-numbingly boring and overpriced London Pride were
all doubled up. Throw into that a couple of ciders and the usual "available soon" then it left Ringworm Fortyniner (£2.29) as the best option.

This was a bit cloudy and not really that good.

This is one of the worst Spoons I've visited this year and won't return nor can I recommend it. The only good thing I can say is that the service was good, but it was quite early in the day.

On 10th May 2013 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Good Yarn (JD Wetherspoon)

Decent selection of ales in here when I popped in recently. As well as the cheap Ruddles they also had a 99p Beer of the Day offer. It was early evening when I visited and was starting to get a little lively. As I was leaving a fight broke out by the main doors, luckily there is also a side door and I was able to use that. Not the sort of place I'd want to spend a whole session but if I'm in the area again I'd probably call on to see what beers are available.

On 22nd January 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Good Yarn (JD Wetherspoon)

Reasonable sort of 'spoons, with the back part of the elongated room at a slightly raised level. 12 handpumps offering a reasonable selection of guest ales - such as Yorkshire Terrier from York Brewery at £2.10 - in addition to the usual suspects such as Ruddles. Mixed crowd, with friendly (if slightly clueless) staff.

On 25th September 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Good Yarn (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a thin yet very long Wetherspoons pub that had twelve hand pumps on with stalwarts like Ruddles and Pedigree alongside some guest beers including Pride and Deuchars which were two of the less interesting ones. There is also a standard draught selection and I cannot remember seeing Staropramen in a JDW before, but it was here.

The décor is pretty much the usual Spoons affair with a couple of plasma screens showing muted 24 hour news and lots of displays around the pub offering cheap food and cut price drinks. The music was louder than usual, but I visited at that time when all of the old boys that have been propping up the bar make their way home and the younger crowd come in to load up on cheap booze before hitting one of the town’s livelier pubs.

I thought that it was OK in here and it is a good pub to have on the high street.

On 20th April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Good Yarn (JD Wetherspoon)

Long and narrow Wetherspoons selling a fair range of guest ales with the usual regular beers. 5 minutes from Uxbridge Tube and Bus stations

On 20th June 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]