User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2020 with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Three Kings, Twickenham

42 Heath Road
Twickenham
TW1 4BZ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about The Three Kings

A beautiful tiled exterior but the inside has been gutted into a restaurant, although retaining a good bar counter with stools amongst the dining tables. An assortment of crystal lighting under a dark ceiling is presumably intended to give an intimate feel, while a couple of sports TVs are a nod to drinkers and rugby fans. To the rear is a raised area, leading through to a garden. Draught ales were TT Landlord, Twickenham Naked Ladies and London Pride; condition was good. Pretty empty at time of visit, although the lack of exterior illumination meant it was not obvious to non-locals.

On 13th November 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2252 recommendations about 2200 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Three Kings

Nicely laid out pub but with no ale to speak of. Won't be returning.

On 7th December 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Three Kings

A chunky corner pub,the L shape main room has been modernised inside with the majority of the tables set for eating. Seven handpumps adorn the bartop but sadly only a choice of three, London Pride, Twickenham Sundance and No18 Yard 4-4-2. I seems this is a pub caught between two styles,boozer and gastro, and achieving neither,needless to say it was empty on my visit but to be fair 15 mins after opening on a Sunday lunchtime.

On 25th July 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1327 recommendations about 1313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Three Kings

The refurbishment mentioned below has resulted in this pub moving upmarket, and that also means that there is more of a focus on dining. But the ale selection also seems to have improved somewhat, with Timothy Taylord Landlord and Le Champion (tour de France related possibly?), London Pride, and Springhead Robin Hood (£2 a half) available, with a further handpump apparently unused. I also spotted three keg offerings from Meantime - London Lager, Yakima Red, and Pale ale. I decided that it must be food led because the majority of the tables were laid for diners, but I didn't see a menu when I was in at about 2.45 PM on a Wednesday.

It's obviously bare-boarded in here now, with mainly dining room style tables with normal chairs, but with a couple of chunky tall tables, with a tall bench and tall stools. A raised area at the back on the left has a clutch of sofas in it. All of the tables had a wine glass with a red and yellow rose in them. It looked quite stylish actually. There are a couple of brick fireplaces on the right which have clearly seen considerable use in the past, and the upper parts of the walls and ceiling are painted that indigo colour so beloved of upmarket pub/restaurants. The original matchboard panelling on some of the walls has been painted white. On the plus side there are no fruit machines or other similarly unnecessary mechanical distractions.

It all looks quite elegant and classy, but it doesn't look to be a drinker's pub. My Springhead Robin Hood was in good nick though.

On 30th April 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Three Kings

Currently closed but being refurbished still as a pub. Signs in the window state that it is under new ownership but the pub character will remain. I haven't "closed" it on here as I'm certain it will reopen soon.

On 30th June 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


elizabeth mcgraw left this review about The Three Kings

Planning Application has been submitted for a single story extension and various internal changes consistent with continued Pub use, Keep your Eye on this someone

On 15th April 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 252 recommendations about 249 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Three Kings

The Three Kings is on a very busy road just away from the centre of Twickenham.
This pub ia a corner pub and once inside the pub was very busy i went in the room at the front and i am not sure if there were any other rooms.
There were two real ales on here i had a drink of Courage best and this was a decent drink the other beer was London Pride.
This was a fairly basic rough and ready pub and it was a bit too busy for my liking.

Pub visited 13/12/2003

On 13th December 2003 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]