User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Fox, Twickenham Town, Twickenham

39 Church Street
Twickenham
TW1 3NR
Phone: 02088921535

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about The Fox

A strange pub of two halves. To one side and down a couple of steps is a dark, cosy bar, in full nocturnal mode of an evening and populated entirely by couples. To the other is what was presumably once the yard, now covered with a glazed roof and overhead building, with a large patio garden behind. The food seemed to be relatively conventional rather than gastro and not horrendously overpriced for the area. On handpump were Twickenham Grandstand and Champions, Ghost Ship and Doom Bar.

On 12th November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2093 recommendations about 2047 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Fox

Quite a dark bare boarded interior serving 3 real ales and food. Didn't visit the back area.

On 22nd October 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Fox

Very murkily lit pub with a number of ales on hand pump but nothing above 4.5% ABV.

On 7th December 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1520 recommendations about 1518 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Fox

An old looking pub nicely situated in a narrow street full of cafe's and resturaunts, the street at times ,as it was on my visit , is pedestrianised to allow alfresco dining and creates a nice vibe.The main original pub room is small and L shaped, authentic decor right down to uneven ,creaky floorboards. The space between the pub and the next building in the street has been glazed either end and roofed to create another more modern seating and dining area, this leads through to a courtyard garden area, the addition of the newer area in no way detracts from the pub proper.There were six handpumps on the bar, four in use, two ordinary suspects in Greene King IPA and Doom Bar along with something a bit better in the shape of Twickenham Naked Ladies and Park Gallows Gold, the latter being a decent drop.
A really nice pub and will deservedly get another visit should I return to Twickenham Town.

On 28th July 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1297 recommendations about 1284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Fox

This is a nice historic pub on a pleasant street in the heart of Twickenham. The pub is believed to be over 300 years old and this is given some credence by the fact that the street level has risen over the years, meaning that you have to descend a step or two in order to enter through the front door. The main bar has a slightly scruffy feel to it, with scuffed floorboards throughout and dark tongue and groove panelling on the walls. A compact, curved servery runs along part of the back wall, turning 90 degrees towards the rear right of the room. Smart cream coloured padded pews runs down this side of the pub, complimented by a few low stools and there is a brick fireplace t5o the rear, as well as a TV screen which was showing the climax to the Premier League campaign. The front and left hand side meanwhile, has a mix of pew and standard seating, with each table provisioned with a clipboard menu and a lit candle. There is a great drawing framed on one wall, showing a depiction of London from a hot air balloon in 1884, whilst an old beer engine has been mounted next to it. There is another small fireplace on this side of the room, close to a door which leads you out to the more modern part of the pub. This space has a bit of a conservatory feel to it, thanks to the glass front and rear, with bare brick walls between. The room is filled with standard tables and chairs and decorated with a mixed bag of old pictures. The rear doors lead out to a nice patio seating area. The stairs to the toilets are lined with various political caricatures as well as the more obvious rugby knick-knacks and local black and white photos. An eclectic range of music played throughout my stay and live music was being promoted throughout. I had a quick look at their menu, which was fairly limited but offered main meals for around a tenner, although it did note that a new menu was to be launched in the coming weeks.
The ale selection was a lot better than I’d anticipated, with the options on handpull comprising Twickenham Sundancer and Spring Ale, Windsor and Eton Gallons and Bingham Vanilla Stout and Brickwork Bitter. I sampled the Vanilla Stout which was in great shape and quite comfortably the best kept pint I found on a day crawling around Twickenham. There were a couple of interesting keg options available and over forty different bottled beers to choose from.
I very nearly walked straight past this pub without giving it a second thought, but something made me look twice and I’m glad that I stopped to give it a try. There’s a nice ambience to this place, especially in the older bar, and this, coupled with a well kept pint, would be enough to tempt me back.

On 3rd June 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2364 recommendations about 2364 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The Fox

The Fox - I have an observation, which some of you good "Pubs Galore" folk might be able to help me with. I noticed recently an old wooden money box, like an old alms box, bolted & locked to the actual bar at the front of the main bar. It had engraved on it some chaps name, (which I can't recall) something like Ebenezer...who worked at Billingsgate Fish Market ! Does anyone know what this box is, and why its attached to the bar..??!! I did mention it to a young barman, who claimed he'd been working at the Fox for 2 years and he'd never even noticed the old wooden money box before..! Does anyone know its story??!!

On 27th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The Fox

"The Fox" - what a nice pub! Right in the heart of Twickytown centre, handy for the railway station, or if eating out in the town. Blink and you could miss this pub, (and we wouldn't want you to miss out..!) it's hidden off the main drag, down the cobbled street (Church St.) which goes down to the river (Thames). A nice traditional feel to the front bar area, which is just about big enough to swing a cat round, or have a Christmas party, but don't worry there's more room at the back, with seating & tables for dining, etc. There is also a 'yard' area for patrons who like tobacco! Binghams ale was on the other evening, which proved quite popular with the punters. A nice friendly feel to this pub, with no mid-week riff-raff to put up with! Chavs definately NOT allowed. This is Twickenham! 7/10 :o) TJ

On 5th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Fox

The Fox has probably changed hands since the last reviews, because they've tarted up the inside and improved the ale selection. A recent visit on a sunny saturday afternoon proved highly enjoyable, and yielded an excellent pint of the locally brewed Twickenham Naked Ladies (£3.50). The pub also benefits from a nicely appointed patio garden at the rear, where there is also another bar that is presumably open when it is very busy or they have barbecues. Very much worth a look if in the area and some competition for the Eel Pie across the road.

On 17th August 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Fox

Down a couple of steps from street level into a single room with a central bar. The pub has a wooden boarded floor, light coloured panelled walls, seating at pew style benches at rectangular tables. Decoration includes local views, rugby scenes and team photos and framed adverts for beer taps and other such breweriana. Calm and relaxing, a low key background soundtrack of the sort of stuff you find on JazzFM, and a row of candles burning over the fire mantle with the wax dripping down over the brickwork.
There are a few tables set outside on the street, cafe style, but a side passage leads on through to a high-walled secluded rear garden.
As said below, 6 pumps, the choice yesterday being Harvey's Sussex Best, Ascot Ales Alligator, Twickenham Naked Ladies, Pride, with Isle of Purbeck Fossil Fuel clipped as "Coming Soon". The remaining pump had a cider, the name of which I didn't record.
A pleasant town pub, worth a visit and definitely improved from when I stuck my head in a year or so back and decided not to go in.

On 31st August 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Fox

The Fox is an historic inn dating back to the 17th century and is allegedly the oldest pub in Twickenham. Well sited on the quaint cobbles street of Church Street, just along from the Eel Pie and a short walk from the River Thames tow path.
A single bar pub that you have to step down into, it used to be a good place to catch the local brews from the Twickenham Fine Ales Brewery. But the last time I was in towards the end of last year these were not on and there was only a poor pint of Pride to be had.
However, took the opportunity to drop in on Saturday after the Rugby and it’s been done up since my last visit and there are now six hand pumps on the bar and the Twickenham beers are back on, as well as a couple of others. But at this point I have to apologise that this was the last stop on a long day and I do not remember what they were.

On 31st May 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1635 pubs]

Page: 1 2