User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore Autumn 2022 Midlands Pub Crawl. with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Lion, Teddington

27 Wick Road
Teddington
TW11 9DN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Lion

Impressive-looking suburban pub in an upmarket area. The interior is best described as an inverse j shape. Sadly there has been a septic gastro refit, off-white and lacking character bar some tasteful framed 1920s prints. The large windows do at least allow for a light and airy feel inside. Sizeable rear garden noted but too wet to explore. Five pumps with three on; Doom Bar, Surrey Hills Sheer Drop and Twickenham Naked Ladies the latter of which was in very good shape and surprisingly cheap for the area. This is a family-friendly pub, friendly in the sense that loud children run amok and their squawking middle class parents don’t care for the comfort of other patrons. Apart from the beer, there wasn’t much I liked about this place. A shame as this used to be, by accounts posted elsewhere, a real destination pub 10 years back.

On 4th July 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4423 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Braks Lover left this review about The Lion

Is "Tom Ellis" the new owner I wonder? This is his only post, and a similarly glowing review has just appeared on another site!
I would love to think the review is genuine, but from reports from colleagues who have visited, I have my doubts.

On 16th September 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 9 recommendations about 8 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Ellis left this review about The Lion

The new ownership have really definitely rescued the Lion from the ashes. Same great quality of beers as they used to have in the good old days 3-4 years ago, plus a good wine list and incredible French food in the restaurant. Really high quality cooking for a local restaurant. Fantastique!

On 15th September 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


David John left this review about The Lion

Glad to say the Lion is now reopened under the management of the mainly French team who run the Carpenters Arms near Ascot. The food is rustic/bistro French and extremely high quality. Doombar and London Pride in excellent condition. The Lion will be closed for 6-8 weeks for refurbishment - they don't know exactly when yet, but hope to be reopened for the summer. This neighbourhood pub should be supported.

On 31st March 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Braks Lover left this review about The Lion

Sad to report that this once excellent traditional style pub closed its doors just prior to Xmas. Regretably the landlord of some 3-4 years standing was unable to maintain the legacy of the previous owner who was able to win several CAMRA awards. Yes the beer was still good after he left, but something has definitely been missing in recent times. Let us hope that a buyer can be found to revive this very fine community pub. RIP - just for the time being I hope!

On 7th January 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 9 recommendations about 8 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Lion

This is another of those community backstreet pubs of which there were thousands in London thirty or so years ago, but now are becoming sufficiently rare to be worth seeking out. The Lion is a couple of hundred yards down a side street off the busy Kingston Rd. It’s larger than it seems from the outside, having been apparently extended at the rear on the left. This extension has a large skylight, making it a very bright place to sit. There’s an outside smoking and drinking area at the back. This is a clean and very comfortable pub; carpeted throughout and with normal tables and chairs plus a couple of sofas at the back. All the tables sported a small vase with a few carnations in them; this is not the sort of thing that impresses me overly, but is nonetheless a nice touch and is indicative of somewhere that is well cared for. There are numerous photographs and prints on the walls, including a number of Australia – I even spotted a photograph of a galah.
The real ales on were London Pride; Doom Bar; Twickenham Winter cheer; and Itchen Valley Godfather, plus a draught cider. Predictably I went for the Godfather, which was a 3.8% session beer, at £3.05 a pint. Monday would have been a good day to visit as they have something called a “Monday Club”, whereby all the ales are £2.50 a pint all day.
The inevitable Guinness sponsored St Patrick’s Day decorations were out in force, and they were also playing Irish music. But as I was in there actually on St Patrick’s Day I suppose that’s a fair cop, and I can put up with it for one day. Leaving aside the St Patrick’s Day shenanigans, I really like this pub and will definitely visit again at some time.

On 18th March 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Lion

Sat06, Pride, Doombar, BlackSheep, Twick Autumn Blaze. Busy carpet, plenty of seating, hadn't noticed pool table to right last visit. Landlord said they still have music, predominently continuing the bluesy preference of prev guv, with perhaps one group every 4th week, or so, diversifying away from that. This evening's offering was to be ‘Good Men in the Jungle', if that helps? Not cheap at £3ppint, but I think it was already that ~2yrs ago, & we paid more elsewehere on the day. Decent bus route along main road, Kingston-Teddington-Fulwell (& beyond!).

On 15th December 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Lion

A deceptively large pub, apparently under recently new management. Not a bad range, Abbot Ale, London Pride, but also Brakspear Oxford Gold-the guest-Sharp's Doom Bar, and the local Twickenham Sundowner. Pool table in a seperate area, pull down screen assumed for sports events. A large array of bottled ales on display behind the bar.

The beer was good, Blues bands are still advertised, bit foody; lets hope the new management maintain previous standards. No reason yet to suspect they won't.

On 1st February 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


elizabeth mcgraw left this review about The Lion

This is a pub that is definitely worth a visit and I am going to return and try their Sunday lunches. The landlord/landlady are very friendly and welcoming and definitely interested in serving up tip top condition ales (Twickenham "Sundancer" was one of 5 real ales available on my visit). There is a garden out the back that has BBQ's and has wheelchair access.Also has a pool/Snooker table in the side bar. 2 minutes walk from buses 281 and 285. A must for people who like a drink in comfort.ps check out his collection of beer bottles behind the bar

On 23rd January 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 252 recommendations about 249 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Lion

Very friendly traditional street corner local in a very desirable area. has won many local CAMRA awards.Up to 5 real ales on tap with a beer from Twickenham Ales always available.The Gov'nor is very proud of his beer bottle display behind the bar.This pub is very well worth a visit.

On 23rd January 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]