User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Red Lion, Isleworth

94 Linkfield Road
Isleworth
TW7 6QJ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Moby Duck left this review about The Red Lion

Making an off the cuff visit to this pub it was a major disappointment. Only the public bar was open, very tatty inside , the walls just bare plaster with patches of filler here and there though it didn't look like any redecorating was in progress, the floor, roughly cut wooden board, the only thing pleasing to the eye was the red leather upholstered bench settees. The barman/landlord was disinterested to the point of ignorance as he tore himself away from his newspaper to serve me at the bar. I was expecting at least some interesting beer but no, just a choice of two , Hobgoblin and Bowland Spooky which turned out to be wishy washy rubbish.
Awful.

On 25th October 2020 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Red Lion

Can't really expand on John Bonser's and others reviews, other than to say that this pub is the best within walking distance of Twickenham that dosn't get rammed solid on match day. I have drunk here several times in the past couple of years and will continue to do so.

Called before the Tigers / Saints final on 25/5/13 and was a little dissappointed in the beer selection. Quite a lot of GK related brews. Personally nothing much against GK but others in our party struggled to find a non GK beer.

On 28th May 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Red Lion

This pub seems like a game of 2 halves.the lounge bar is comfortable but in a 70,s way and then the public bar is a rough and ready boozer.Even though i have visited this pub about 30 times just for a quick drink and the beer fests i feel treated like a stranger.Good selection of 6 cask beers usually but never seem to get a great beer in here.Still a great community pub and best in the area.

On 30th January 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Red Lion

Situated in a quietish residential Isleworth side street is The Red Lion, an enterprising and popular community local.

The pub dates back to 1846 and retains a two bar layout although the rooms are used for different purposes than the original etched glass in the door indicates. The former “ saloon and billiards” bar is now the lounge bar whereas the “bottle and jug” is now the public bar. Looking at the lay out of the interior, I suspect there was probably once more than two bars.

The lounge bar is comfortably furnished with some red letter settees and traditional circular bar stools and seating. At the back of this room is a smallish stage which is used for the frequent live music events which are held regularly throughout the week. At the side of the bar, an old iron sign tells us that this was a former Royal Brewery of Brentford pub. Numerous framed CAMRA certificates attest to the popularity and quality of the real ales that have been offered over the years. A small fish tank sits proudly on the side of the bar – not sure how long it’s been there, I’ve just never noticed it before.

An unmarked door leads through to the smaller public bar. Notably, there’s no real difference in the level of comfort and furnishings when compared to the lounge bar. The public bar is also cosy and carpeted and features red leather settees and bar stools. Towards the back of the bar is a billiards table, which seemed to be in continuous use during my recent Saturday visit. Decoration includes a stuffed deer’s head with antlers high up on the wall looking down on proceedings. There’s also a signed Harlequins rugby shirt. Note also the small photograph showing a band of customers outside the pub in 1887 celebrating Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee.
A pleasant garden at the rear of the pub features well tended and colourful flower beds, some old Courage Brewery lamps by the garden entrance ( and an old local CAMRA Beer Guide confirms that this was one a Courage pub ) , a Charringtons Toby Welsh lamp and, most notably, a striking mural depicting a damsel accompanied by a red lion. For some reason, which was not obvious, one of the tables on the grass had been painted a lurid pink colour. There’s also some seats outside at the front on the pavement edge.

An excellent and varied range of real ales is always on offer here – usually around 9 or 10 in total. Different beers are served in each bar, but each pump is double clipped, so you can see all the available beers without having to walk through from one bar to the other. On my visit, beers include Red Squirrel Summer Ale, Ascot Ales On The Rails ( a dark malty mild ) , Harviestoun Bitter and Twisted and Meantime Pale Ale. Prices were around the £ 3.30p / £ 3.40p mark. All beers tasted were in excellent form. The pub is a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular and holds a number of beer festivals during the year which are advertised in London Drinker.

There aren’t many pubs in this area of West London that are specifically worth going out of your way to visit – but this is undoubtedly one of them

On 12th July 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


JohnWarks 'tache left this review about The Red Lion

Bar does tend to get a bit crowded with regulars but I generally find them very amicable. Have noticed some bar staff seem slow to serve or ignore the part of bar without pool table, unless you are a local who can call out thier name. Can't get over how many dogs there always seems to be in here. Like to see a dog in a pub but bit like Battersea sometimes having to step over them. Good garden. Not a massive real ale drinker, but can see this is very much a pub for the real ale. Does seem to be live music on every night but can always go in other bar if not agreeable to you. Once saw a man play a banjo in here with a saucepan on his head which had a chipolata dangling from the handle. All in all, I like it

On 2nd July 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 20 recommendations about 20 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Red Lion

This is a very attractive, traditional two bar pub down a side street close to Isleworth train station. The lounge bar is on the left hand side of the pub and is itself split into two different areas with the front half providing a decent stretch of bar for the locals to sit along and some plush furnishings in the shape of red leather sofas and some smart looking bookcases (a book swap system is in place here). To the rear is the music room which has a lot of low stool seating and a small stage in one corner. A large, well kept garden can be accessed from here and I took the opportunity to enjoy a pint out in this peaceful spot before the evening drew in. There was an outdoor bar and BBQ area in the garden which suggests that it will really come into its own in the summer months.
The saloon bar is quite compact, with some low stools and sofas for seating. It was a lot livelier around this side when I paid my visit with customers playing darts and pool to a fairly loud soundtrack. The room is decorated with a lot of framed cigarette cards, various bits of brewerania and a signed and framed Harlequins rugby shirt.
My visit happily coincided with their May Bank Holiday Beer Festival, although despite being presented with a list of around 50 beers, only nine were to be on at any given time via the handpulls on the bar (4 in one bar, 5 in the other but helpfully double clipped to avoid having to enter both rooms to see what's on). I tried four different beers and found them all to be in good condition. There seemed to be a good cider and perry selection as well. Quite a few people were eating in the lounge bar and although I didn't try any food myself, I have to say that the plates that were brought out past me looked very tempting.
I thought this was a lively and well looked after pub with a lot to recommend. I wouldn't hesitate to call in here again should I find myself in the area and I would certainly consider making a trip out for another one of their beer festivals.

On 20th June 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Red Lion

I paid my first visit to this pub in over a year this week. Thankfully it remains unchanged, and still has an impressive range of ales. They normally do food from Tues to Sun, but it looks as if during the high summer they are also giving Tuesdays a miss as well. This time the weather was nice enough to visit the garden, which I found to be clean and well tended. The main feature is the “Red Lion” mural painted on one of the walls. This remains a top pub. The following is from Apr 09: No less than nine real ales on (Young’s Bitter; Gale’s Seafarer; Hyde’s Original; Hyde’s Special; GK St Edmund’s; Downton Apple Blossom; Hereford Original; Derventio Brewery Vesuvius; and Celtic Gold) plus three kegs of ciders on the bar dispensed by gravity. Obviously the ales will change regularly, but the above gives a flavour of the range of ales to expect. The pub itself is set in a quiet, essentially terrace housed backstreet. It is still a two-roomed pub; on the left the door proclaims it to be the saloon and billiards bar – although no billiards to be played now alas – and on the right it is advertised as the bottle and jug, leading to a largish room that has probably subsumed both the public bar as well as the off sales area. The dartboard and pool table are in the right hand bar. This pub retain its original pub atmosphere, and for this reason, as well as the superb range of ales, is definitely worth seeking out.

On 13th July 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Red Lion

An unusual and attractive side-street pub just over five minutes walk from Isleworth BR. I made an effort to pop in due to the praise heaped upon it and, unlike the other pub visited that day for the same reason (the Bricklayers in Putney) I think this one thoroughly showed why it has earned the plaudits. The large interior is a traditional two-roomed affair, public and lounge, with a number of old fittings (such as the mahogany-varnished bar and glass windows) still in situ. It’s perhaps a little worn (the unkind might say scruffy) in some parts but I’d rather take the well-worn over the bland refurb any day. Despite the cold grey day outside the pub was warm and already had a few punters in on my early afternoon visit. There were seven ales on featuring an interesting and eclectic mix, along with a few unusual ciders/perries and some Belgian stuff in the fridge. My three ales were all in good shape, the Ilkley especially so. The unexplored garden (too cold to think about going outside!) is apparently very good. A lot of community events seem to happen here, including a locally-renowned bawdy panto that takes place in early January and is always a sell-out (you have to buy tickets in advance). Live jazz music was advertised and two dart boards available.

An excellent backstreet pub that I really must get round to revisiting sooner rather than later.

On 29th November 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Red Lion

A very large side road pub with a traditional lounge and saloon bar set up, divided by the bar. The lounge is split into two distinct areas, the front is bright and airy with large windows facing the street. Seating is mainly red leather sofas, there are bookcases, flowers etc; the rear section has wood panelled walls, stained glass windows and a small stage to one end, bands and comedy are advertised. Sky Sports on showing the cricket with the volume down. A door leads to the rear garden.
The exterior has some fine green tiles, and a few benches to the frontage.
I didn't look in the saloon bar but it sounded fairly lively.
Friday nights are advertised as curry night, and being a Friday I could just smell the preperations in progress, good it smelled too.
There are four hand pumps in each bar, double clipped so the full range can be seen. Archers One Eyed Snake and Golden,Sambrooks Brewery Wandle, Downton Honey Blonde,Hogs Back Utopia, Pride, GK IPA and St Edmunds Ale. Various pump clips decorate the top of the bar.
Very impressive, I'll have to return for one of The Red Lion's beer festivals.

On 21st March 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Red Lion

There is a chalk board above the bar that says “REAL LOCAL PUB WITH REAL ALE”, I couldn't have said it better myself.

I found the barman to be very friendly and the couple of locals that I met were very nice. My Youngs was the first of the day so the barman pulled last nights beer through making my pint spot on (it's amazing how many bar staff will not do this). Along with the Youngs I spotted 3 other real ales and various lagers and maybe a couple of ciders.

There's plenty of outside seating and a pool table with plenty of elbow room. The drinking area is still separated into 2 bars so you can escape the live music and go to the other side of the pub.

You can tell as soon as you enter that this place is being looked after and has a great team. I wish I could pick up this pub and move it to N11 where I live!

On 8th October 2008 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]