User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
2020 Spring crawl: Preston on Friday, 17th April with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The London Apprentice, Isleworth

62 Church Street
Isleworth
TW7 6BG
Phone: 02085601915

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The London Apprentice

Large riverside Taylor Walker pub feels more original than most TW pubs. 6 real ales and food served.

On 18th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2802 recommendations about 2744 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The London Apprentice

Update - August 2015

Pub as described below. I've been to this Taylor Walker pub a few times in recent months - beer usually in good nick and in my view the pub well deserves its CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2015 listing. I suppose it was inevitably going to happen at some stage following the GK/Spirit Group takeover, but yesterday saw the first sighting of Greene King IPA on the pump here and I suspect it will now be a regular feature. Yesterday I went for the offputtingly named Sheep Dip from Plain Ales which was pretty good. I do hope that GK don't tamper with this pub or adversely alter the beer range too much, but, at this moment in time, it's still worth seeking out.

ORIGINAL REVIEW - JUNE 2010

The London Apprentice is a well known attractively situated pub on the river in the old part of Isleworth. The pub is named after apprentices from the City livery companies who used to row up here on their days off and partake of liquid refreshments. The pub also has - perhaps inevitably - a number of historical connections, among them being Henry VIII, Nell Gwynne and Cromwell.

An attractive Georgian frontage leads into a low ceilinged pub with a number of different areas. A recent refurbishment has created something of a rather chain pub style interior, although some original features remain - most notably some etched Isleworth Ales windows and double doors on the Church Street side, indicative of a former multi-room layout and a former off- sales facility. It's now in the Punch Taverns portfolio and, on my recent visit, staff were wearing the usual black corporate shirts.

In one corner of the pub are a few rugby related pictures / photos and there's also some interesting old photos of the area. An attractive outside verandah affords fine views of the river and Isleworth Ait opposite. An elegant and impressive upstairs function room - "The Riverview Room " - has some attractive original decorative plaster moulding on the ceiling which is worth a look.

The pub has that typically transient tourist pub feel to it and, on my occasional visits here, I've never detected anything of a local or community pub atmosphere. Food now appears to play a more dominant part in proceedings.

On my most recent visit last week, beers on were mainly the usual suspects - Deuchars IPA, London Pride, Doom Bar, Youngs London Gold, Hop Back Summer Lightening plus, notably, Purity Mad Goose. The Summer Lightening - at a pricey £ 3.37p - was reasonable. The London Gold - £ 2.95p - wasn't desperately good. Pleasingly, and in contrast to pubs across the river in Richmond, plastic glasses are not required for outside drinking.

If you haven't been here before, it's worth popping in if you're in the area, particularly on a pleasant summer's afternoon.

On 6th August 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The London Apprentice

Walked past this pub whilst doing the capital ring a few years ago but didnt have time to go in. Vowed to come back and it took me about 3 years! Popped in for a quick half whilst walking the Thames Path from Hampton to Kew. Superb location - great views from the nice patio. Inside, you can feel the history oozing out the walls.

I will come back for a further explore of Isleworth, which looks lovely in itself.

Walk blogged at http://mappiman.blogspot.co.uk/2015/03/280315-river-runs-through-it-part-1.html

On 3rd April 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about London Apprentice

Historic riverside pub, as described below, which can get quite busy but still be tolerable. Well-managed in Taylor Walker style, so signs about topping up beer if head too large, happy to offer tasters etc. Nice range of beers, including a couple of guests - plus cider and even perry - seemed to be in good condition (Cask Marque accredited). Food a bit corporate, and not over-generous portions, but quite adequate. Wouldn't mind going back, and might even do so.

On 16th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2465 recommendations about 2410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about London Apprentice

There were a number of real ales on, including London Pride, Doom Bar, Broadside, plus a couple of guests in Lancaster Amber and something from Harviestoun Brewery. This is a pretty good selection of ales. I had the Lancaster Amber, which tasted fine. It’s a Punch pub, having that sort of pubco feel about it – perhaps it’s the faux chalkboards that give it away. But it’s one of the better Punch Group pubs that I’ve been in, with its superb riverside setting. The windows proclaim it to have been an “Isleworth Ales” pub, plus there is an unused door with the glass in advertising entrance to the Public Bar. It’s now a one-room pub of course, but it’s nice that they retain at least some of these original features – at least they looked original to me. There is a fairly large main bar as you enter the pub, with a separate lounge facing the river, which seemed be used as a dining room during my midweek lunchtime visit. I think that this is a fairly good pub, but if I had to improve it I would bin the out of place games machine and the cash dispenser. I’ve no doubt that these are now necessary evils, but they do detract from the character of the pub. Definitely worth a visit to sit outside (weather permitting) on the riverside terrace and enjoy the view.

On 1st February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2590 recommendations about 2504 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Stewart left this review about London Apprentice

The back cover picture from the Strawbs third album,"Just a Collection of Antiques and Curious"was taken inside this pub.

On 17th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 13 recommendations about 13 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about London Apprentice

The pub is located in an attractive (and probably lucrative) riverside location with a comfortable terrace outside overlooking the Thames and some creek entering it. Inside, the main bar has wooden floors with black and white tiles to the front of the long bar down one side of the room. Seating areas are seperated by opaque glazed screens but these are fairly recent I guess. Two adjacent entrance doors give a clue to the original layout. A few old Isleworth Brewery etched windows have been retained. The music playing was a touch too loud certainly for the afternoon.
Another room to the rear is quieter, carpeted and with fairly old good quality wooden tables worthy of a fairly grand dining room.
The outdoor terrace was really rather pleasant on a sunny March afternoon although I reckon space and tranquillity would be at a premium on a sunny summer weekend. An adjacent slipway gives access to the river and its "beach".
Beers were Doombar, Adnams Broadside, GK IPA and Flankers Tackle and Gales (Fullers) Swing Low. The Doombar was clear and smelled ok but tasted a bit flat, as if past its best.
An enjoyable spot nevertheless, and one I'd aim for if on a river walk.

On 21st March 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1690 recommendations about 1664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about London Apprentice

I had a pleasant weekday lunchtime in here recently. 6 real ales were available along with a variety of premium and bog standard lagers. Granted it wasn't very busy, but the barmaid was very friendly and service was instantaneous. I was on the Pride and found it to be top notch.

The pub itself is lovely looking with lots of room around the bar and a separate room at the rear with conservatory attached. The back of the pub opens up onto a fantastic terrace area with great views of the river.

I didn't eat the food whilst I was there, but the beer was great and that is why I went in the first place.

Recommended!

On 30th September 2008 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3599 recommendations about 3579 pubs]