User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Quinno on the Pub Forum

The Roebuck, Hampton

72 Hampton Road
Hampton
TW12 1JN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Roebuck

This pub has been a long term target, but its location, which is slightly isolated from main transport thoroughfares, has thus far prevented me from making a visit. However, after an enjoyable morning strolling round nearby Bushey Park, I made the short detour here to find an outstanding street corner, local's pub bursting with character. The pub essentially has a single room layout, but a series of pillars and partitioning sections help divide the space into a few small seating areas. There is carpeting throughout with blue half panelled walls and a dark wood counter to the right, partly hidden on entry by a large central pillar. Standard chair and fixed bench seating runs around the perimeter of the room, with a band of locals propped on stools along the bar. The pub is full of the most incredible and eclectic range of items imaginable, presumably collected over the many years the pub has been run by the current landlord. Standard pub bits such as horse brasses, beer bottles, enamel adverts, tankards, paintings, photos of old pub outings and tobacco tin collections are all present and correct, but they are lost somewhat between the larger and more eccentric items. These include some huge ship's wheels, a ceiling covered in fishing rods, a table shaped like the prow of a boat, a model car, train, motorbike and submarine, hunting horns, displays of armed forces stripes and pips, oars, old radios, a Roland Rat doll, collections of caps, soda dispensers and bank notes plus a fine cigar store Indian. This is just a small selection of what you might find and half the fun is spotting something else insane when you look up from your pint. Most tables have clear perspex tops under which you will find newspaper clippings, coin collections and the like. A fireplace to the right has some beer engines mounted on the mantelpiece and blackboards list the mid-week food options, which seem to be homemade typical pub fayre.
All this is good and well, but you need some quality beer if you intend to try and take it all in, and thankfully the ale range on this visit was Jurassic Vanilla and Bourbon Portland Porter (£3.60), Youngs Ordinary, St Austell Tribute, Sambrooks Junction and Triple fff Alton's Pride. Keg options included Dortmunder Union Pils, Budvar and Erdinger. My pint of the Porter was outstanding and the barmaid and punters alike made me feel very welcome.
This I exactly the sort of pub I love, with loads of things to keep you interested and wanting to come back, but not at the expense of a warm and comfortable environment. The beer was excellent as well and I was tempted to stay longer, but instead decided to ensure I return some time soon to see what other surprises this place has in store.

On 6th April 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2620 recommendations about 2620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Roebuck

Only a fleeting visit early doors but that was enough to convince me this is an excellent pub. Two rooms enjoined by an open doorway, both have a very cosy traditional feel,there are loads of eclectic bric-a-brack curios scattered around the place, from antique cameras and fishing rods to carved woodwork Red Indians and beyond.Five handpumps are normally available ,unfortunately on my visit two had a notice on explaining and apologizing for the fact that they were broken. Of the three remaining available beers were Youngs Bitter,Truemans Swift and St Austell Proper Job, the latter was exactly that and very much enjoyed. This is a top pub and would suggest its worthy of destination pub status, I will be back for a longer stay next time.

On 30th June 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1436 recommendations about 1420 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Roebuck

Update –January 2013

Beer quality remains high at this CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular. My most recent visit saw the 3 regular beers – Youngs, Tribute and Sambrooks Junction – being supplemented by Vale Brewery Best and Slaters Blitzen, described as a dark ruby beer.

Pub is as described below – this time I noted an old Harley Davidson bike made from wicker baskets suspended from the ceiling and a framed autograph glove of Henry Cooper.

It’s still very much a locals pub and – in marked contrast to some other pubs of this ilk – passing beer enthusiasts and visitors appear to be tolerated rather than positively welcomed, but it’s still worth seeking out. Still closes between 4-7 pm on Sundays.

Original review – December 2009

Smallish traditional real ale pub on the main road out of Teddington just outside of Hampton Hill. It's a single L shaped bar with a small outside patio at the back.

It's a well decorated locals pub with a fine collection of bric a brac and assorted artefacts decorating the walls and ceiling. Note in particular the fishing rods hanging from the ceiling and the carved wooden Red Indian statue watching over drinkers from a corner of the pub. Tables have glass tops under which are old wartime newspaper pages. There's also a couple of large ships wheels and some old fruit machines. Note also the brewery memorabilia - a few old Watneys beer trays and an Isleworth Brewery mirror. Every time I come here - which admitttedly isn't very often - I see often that I've not noticed before. This time it was an H25 request Bus Stop sign.

On my visit last Sunday lunchtime, 5 real ales were on - Youngs Ordinary, Hopback Red Amber and Elf n' Happiness and Sharps Doom Bar and Special. The Red Amber was an excellent pint. The pub has been a GBG regular in recent years and several framed certificates are displayed - see if you can find them on the wall.

There's no TV's and background music is unobtrusive. Nibbles on the bar - guarded carefully by the locals - are a welcoming touch, increasingly rarely seen nowadays.

Several niggles to report, I'm afraid. Locals occupying bar stools appear to guard their space possessively and seem disgruntled when customers approach the bar, trying to see what beers are on the pumps. Also, several customers, including myself, were later asked to move and the seating repositioned to accommodate a darts game. I don't mind moving, but why put seating there in the first place ?

In conclusion, despite the niggles, the pub is well worth seeking out - it's on the R68 bus route from Richmond and Twickenham. Finally, note that, despite being open all day during weekdays, rather unusually it closes between 4pm and 7pm on Sundays.

On 21st January 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Roebuck Public House

A striking reddish exterior marks the pub out from a distance, once inside, the single space is partially divided by small screens and half height partitions. Carpeted and comfortable, there was a real fire going giving a homely welcome. As stated below the main talking point here is the huge collection of weird and wonderful artifacts that cover every surface. I don't intend to list everything, and even if I tried I'd miss stuff. My highlights included the fascinating old newspapers on the table tops protected by glass, especially those relating to the loss of the Titanic. Another table has old 1d coins on the top, with table feet made from a ship's propeller. Additionally, the old street signs, railway signal, parking meter, bus stop, 50's fruit machines. The fishing rods on the ceiling are really quite bizarre.
There appears to be a dartboard in a case but certainly unusable behind tables and chairs. Food from "Terry's Kitchen" looks to be very good value, but I didn't sample.
Five handpumps, Sharps Doom Bar and Special, Hammerpot Red Hunter, Twickenham Sundancer and Young's Ordinary. The fonts included more unusually Budvar Light and Dark and Paulener Weissbier.
A destination pub in my view on several counts, not least the good beer.
Oh, and hidden among the artifacts is a small postcard, featuring a small dog with a steak in it's mouth running away from a thrown boot. It is entitled "Running Dog". One of our correspondents might like to put an offer in!

On 7th March 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1690 recommendations about 1664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Roebuck Public House

What a rather good pub this is. I’ve been meaning to get here for some while, and it was worth the effort. The decor is what you might call “busy”. Every available space is occupied by some form of bric-a-brac – there are fishing rods on the ceilings; ships’ wheels; even a cigar store Indian; and the tables are glass topped in order to display old newspapers, coins and banknotes. The seating is very comfortable, with banquette seating and normal tables and chairs. There is a fireplace that had a fire on the go on Monday lunchtime, which must be a great feature on a cold day, but unfortunately not really needed on a warm day in late October. Still, it looked good.
There were five ales on – Twickenham Autumn Blaze; Young’s Bitter; Sharp’s Doom Bar; Courage Director’s; and Brain’s SA. I had the local ale - Autumn Blaze, which was superb. Most of the ales were just under £3 a pint, but the Autumn Blaze came in at exactly £3 – a reasonable price nonetheless. I found the service to be friendly enough. The lady who served me did so efficiently and with a smile – that’ll do for me. This struck me as a homely and welcoming pub. Just the sort of place I like. Highly recommended.

On 26th October 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2588 recommendations about 2503 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Roebuck

I can't explain my strange suspicion of Roebuck as a pub name, but I'm glad I put any qualms aside and headed for this place. Enter to a visually busy, almost cluttered, décor but become immediately drawn into a warm & welcoming atmosphere, ably abetted by the small real fire glowing happily & providing pleasant respite from ystdy's light squall. Reach the bar to find 5 handpumps, ystdy offering Wayland's Martian (light)Mild, Doombar, Alton's Pride, Sharp's Special(5.2%), Youngs Ord. There's way too much wall & ceiling décor to record here, but it includes golf clubs, fishing rods, ship's wheel, life-size wicker Harley, 4 antique fruit machines (I was told, but could only see3, incl 1 behind bar), glass-topped tables with old newspapers sealed in, pub is carpetted throughout. To the rear a paved, part planted, beer garden with picnic sets & a covered pagoda for smokers, also access to an extra ‘garage' room, nicely furnished with pew seating and home to that 4th fruity. It was closed and is presumably used primarily in better weather, but thanks to the very friendly barmaid for switching on the lights for me to have a gander. It was quiet at 15:30 but a handful of regulars were drifting in before I had to leave and provided a local, comfortable, chatty backdrop, & sharing the craic with the staff. A chalkboard mentioned Paulaner Weissbier, and I spotted a Paulaner tap, also Spitfire smooth (wtf?). Richmond&Hounslow poty, well done. Most enjoyable visit & worth the easy 1m walk from my prev stop in Hampton. Definitely ‘on-map' next time I'm over this way.

On 14th November 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]