User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 24th October 2021) with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

O'Neill's, Enfield

The Town
Enfield
EN2 6LU
Phone: 02083633508

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Oak Tree (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The George

A large and quite impressive exterior,sadly not matched by a very corporate interior in the'spoons mode.The front part is dominated by an large open plan seating area,and there are flatscreen dotted about ,although sensibly on mute.The bar is to the left which the rear of the pub has a lower ceiling,a few balustraded sections and a lot of seating booths,which make this the area to sit and drink in peace.
The bar is dominated by keg taps but there are 5 handpumps,offering on my trip Doom Bar,Shepherd Neame Rudolphs Reward and Everards Sly Fox 9 (in decent nick ,£3) with two pumps unclipped.The food menu was classic pub grub,with some 2 for 1 deals.
Cheap,not too cheerful but functional for a pint of real ale.

On 28th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2175 recommendations about 2175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The George

This was the last pub on our Enfield perambulation as we returned to the bright lights of Enfield Town. This is a Mitchell & Butler pub, but I didn't see any obvious branding. It looked a bit like a 'spoons, or perhaps more like a Stonegate pub with its dark varnished sticky tables , glossy menus on all the tables with the usual sort of meal deals. I noted that the Steak & Guinness pie was £7.29.

But the ale selection wasn't bad, with Roosters's California Common, Purity Mad Goose, and Orkney Dark Island all on. The Dark Island was on good form, and although for some reason I failed to note the prices, I recall that they weren't excessive.

This is an ordinary or common or garden high street pub with little of interest about it. But it serves an important function in providing sustenance for needy Enfield shoppers. This is not a pub for an extended session, but it served its purpose in providing my chums and I with a decent last pint before catching our train back to London.

On 22nd July 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2583 recommendations about 2499 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The George

OK for a town centre pub although nothing special in the way of atmosphere. Had a couple of pints - both of which were in very good condition. The menu is fairly extensive (for a chain), reasonably priced and the quality was quite good - I had gammon, MrsOs had scampi. All in all, a fairly good experience and we'll probably return next time we're in Enfield.

On 10th July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The George

Big pub - aping the Wetherspoons format in terms of layout and reasonably-priced food and drinks - run by an outfit called Welcome Freehouses. Very busy on a Friday evening, with a wide variety of customers. Five real ales on, but only Brains SA being something a bit different from the usual suspects. (NB - Review dates from March 2009.)

On 14th February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6546 recommendations about 6546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The George

The George is a big imposing building opposite Enfield Town Market square which was originally built in the mid 1800’s with the coming of the railway to Enfield Town. It was a solid two bar pub in my youth but a few years ago was bought by a PubCo which knocked it through to be a one large bar place largely void of any character and whose target demographic was youngsters drinking alcopops. It has gone through a few changes in ownership /management in recent years and the current owners have improved the beer choice and quality, and it’s OK for a lunchtime pint when shopping in the Town. But it still turns into a crèche without any responsible adults in the evening.

On 8th February 2010 - rating: 2
[User has posted 1747 recommendations about 1693 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The George

I visited here on Saturday night and it was very busy with a mainly young crowd who seemed to be dressed for clubbing so maybe this is the place to meet up before moving on. There were a couple of bouncers on the door and I think that there is a late license, but I couldn’t say until when.

I counted four ales available and there was a standard draught selection from which the very friendly barmaid poured me a decent pint of Guinness.

I cannot envisage a time when I would want to return here.

On 1st October 2009 - rating: 3
[User has posted 3592 recommendations about 3572 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The George

Large town centre pub selling up to 5 real ales,3 regular and 2 guests.Good value food.

On 2nd September 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]