User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 20th September 2020) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Brewery Tap, Brentford

47 Catherine Wheel Road
Brentford
TW8 4BD

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Brewery Tap

We visited on a Sunday afternoon where we found the pub moderately busy with a respectable bunch of drinkers. A couple of people in the back lounge were tucking into what looked to be a sizable roast dinner, with plenty of veg.
The pub has a traditional interior and has a rugged country feel about it, in spite of it being at the bottom of slightly industrial side street.

On 3rd November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Brewery Tap

A very nice and charming Fullers pub raised up to avoid flooding. A front bar is split into two by an open doorway, there is a seperate area to the rear and beyond this a small courtyard beer garden.Five pumps with four operating, Pride,HSB and Seafarers with a guest of Hydes Lowrey, there was a Fullers Summer ale clip reversed in the last hand pull.A really nice pub.

On 19th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1327 recommendations about 1313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Brewery Tap

A recent visit to this delightful off-the-beaten-track pub found it largely unchanged since my last visit. It remains easily the best Fuller’s pub in this neck of the woods (and there are quite a few around here). The main room as you enter up a few steps still has only a handful of normal tables and chairs, with a pool table in the room through an archway on the left. There’s a small room at the back behind the servery, with a bit of outside seating at the back for smokers.

I did have one new experience here. This pub is perhaps best avoided when an unusually high tide is predicted – which is when my chums and I visited, resulting in our having to leave the pub by a small service gate at the back as the River Brent had flooded the road at the front. Now the need for steps up to the front of the pub became apparent.

There were four Fuller’s ales on – London Pride, HSB, Gales’s Seafarers, Spring Sprinter, and with a Butcombe Bitter clip reversed. This remains a hidden gem, and long may it remain so.

On 22nd March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Brewery Tap

Lovely old fashioned boozer that has never changed in the 30 years i have known it.Mostly older clients but thats nice as few pubs seem to cater for them now.Music a couple of times a week and a good quiz night.3 well kept Fullers beers and 1 guest.

On 15th February 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Brewery Tap

I paid my long overdue return visit to this pub at the weekend and find it completely unchanged from my previous visit, which is a very good thing indeed! From April 2009: This is a small Fuller's pub tucked away down a side street off Brentford High St. It had the full range of Fuller's on (Pride, Discovery, ESB, Chiswick and Gale's Seafarer) when I was in during last week. I had the Chiswick, which was excellent and at a decent price of £2.60 a pint. It seemed solely a locals' pub mid afternoon on a Tuesday; it's hard to imagine that it would get much passing trade as it's somewhat off the beaten track. This is a simple backstreet boozer with apparently no aspirations to be anything else. I rather liked its quiet, music-free, laid back atmosphere. It helps if you like Fuller's ales of course. I'll definitely pay a return visit when I'm next in the area. In my view it's certainly worth the effort of finding.

On 27th February 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Brewery Tap

A small, comfortable and friendly Fullers house well reviewed below.
Beer: Fullers London Pride, Chiswick and Red Fox, Gales Seafarers and Lancaster Amber as a guest. All that we tried were in top condition and the Red Fox deserves a special mention for disappearing at a rapid rate without anyone really noticing.
An excellent community Fullers house with reliable ale.

On 26th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Brewery Tap

Once up the steep steps ,when you enter the pub there is an immediate community feel.Four handpumps dispensing Chiswick Bitter,London Pride,Red Fox and a guest of Lancaster Amber,surprised not to find any ESB but in retrospect a god send given how fast the Red Fox slipped down,great cellar skills are on display here.There is a small pool room to the left of the entrance,the main area features acoustic jazz and latin style music several evenings of the week and there is a back bar with a fireplace and a lot of brewers tudor making it a bit quirky.Throught the french windows into a garden with bench seating ,popular with smokers.Food is available but on our trip the locals came to drink and listen to music.Efficient ,friendly bar service this is yet another good drinking venue in Brentford.GBG entry full deserved.

On 25th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2068 recommendations about 2068 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Brewery Tap

Very pleasant two room pub set just off the main high street in Brentford. Has all your Fullers favourites on offer and having sampled the Pride, I can testify to the good quality. Service was prompt, despite it being packed in the run up to the football. The main room has a decent amount of seating, whilst the side room is dominated by a pool table, and has it's own little strech of bar and a couple of large screens.
However, if it's a cheap pint you're after, you'd be best off elsewhere.

On 28th March 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2491 recommendations about 2491 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Brewery Tap

Perfectly pleasant Fullers local down a side turn off the High St. At first it doesn't look too promising as you pass industrial units but don't be fooled. A good range of Fullers ales on offer, including the new Hock, a very drinkable dark mild. I didn't see any guest beer though.
You are very close to the river and Grand Union canal here, hence the series of steps up to the entrance as a precaution against flooding.
Posters on the wall inside indicate the pub is an occasional music venue.

On 21st March 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Brewery Tap

This is a pretty small pub with outside seating to the front and rear. It wasn't that busy inside, but I still had trouble finding a seat and ended up sitting next to the only diners. The food looks very mediocre, but I've never been one to go to a pub to eat so I can't really comment as it may taste fantastic.

Discovery, Pride and Chiswick were available alongside Fosters, Grolsch and Carling. Not the most inspiring range, but this pub does not pretend to be anything other than a proper boozer.

What this pub lacks in size the governor makes up for in hospitality. Cheerful, polite and generally pleasant, it's a shame all publicans aren't like him.

On 21st May 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]