User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 18th October 2020) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Willow Grove (JD Wetherspoon), Southport

387-389 Lord Street
Southport
PR9 0AG

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about The Willow Grove (JD Wetherspoon)

Visited this lunch time. A bank of five hand pulls in the centre of the bar hosts the guest ales, priced at £2.15 a pint (£1.08 a half). There are two further banks of three pulls, one boasting the Spoons trio of Doom Bar, Ruddles and Abbot Ale, and the other bank of three offering Doom Bar, a turned round Wainwright clip (Wainwright was also on the bank of five) and one pump presumably unclipped as it was obscured by a poster.

This is a fairly middle of the road Spoons, not grim but not as upmarket as some. Toilets are upstairs, as is an additional (and quieter) seating area. So peaceful was this seating area that one patron was fast asleep at her (I think, hard to tell with head down) table with a half consumed pint of lager and a half consumed packet sandwich. Two entrances, one on Lord Street and one on a side street, with both offering some outdoor seating.

On 8th January 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 540 recommendations about 481 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Willow Grove (JD Wetherspoon)

a decent Spoons in the very centre of Southport, with a second bar set up for some kind of best beer competition on my visit. service better than average. atmosphere standard Spoons, ie. none at all

On 27th June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Willow Grove (JD Wetherspoon)

A fairly standard JDW conversion with a good range of cask ales. Nothing to report on feature wise, but all pretty clean and tidy. We called in for a couple on the way back to our hotel and both the pints I had were well kept and served quickly.

On 9th May 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2865 recommendations about 2785 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Willow Grove (JD Wetherspoon)

Although this one appears as a Lloyds in the JDW directory I could see no sign of it and What Pub says it is now a standard JDW. As noted below it's a huge L shaped room spread over a corner site. It has fairly typical fixtures and fittings, a few alcoves and was not that busy on a Wednesday morning but people soon started coming in. I didn't venture upstairs.
The bar has two sets of three hand pumps with an extra five in the middle. These had one available soon, the JDW Trio Of Doom, Parker Dark Spartan Stout, Peerless Full Whack, Thwaites / Marston Wainwright, Rudgate Ruby Mild, Lytham Blonde & IPA and Phoenix Wobbly Bob.
I went for the Peerless Full Whack (£2.29) which washed a breakfast down a treat. As with most seaside or holiday towns the breakfast was a bit more expensive than normal.
I thought this was a pretty good Spoons especially considering it started out as a Lloyds. It's GBG 2017 listed.

On 17th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Willow Grove (Lloyds No 1)

Large 'L'-shaped Lloyds No 1 Bar, with two main entrances from different streets. Unexceptional semi-modern furniture and decor throughout. Surprised to find a total of 11 handpumps, with a reasonable selection including the Saltaire Triple Chocoholic (£2.39). Also has another smaller seating area upstairs with its own bar (although not in use when I called in, but two handpumps with duplicate clips were noted).

On 9th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Willow Grove (Lloyds No1)

Southport's Wetherspoons part 2. Llyods bar thingy so you know the score. Not as good as the other one.

On 26th October 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Willow Grove (Lloyds No1)

We took the entrance from the side street, where on the right, we noticed a contemporary style gas brazier with artificial logs in the basket surrounded by glass screens for obvious safety measures. The left hand wall was made into a feature wall using lots of wooden disks. The front of the pub had some timber sheets with holes cut out of it, same sized holes as the discs on the back wall. The bar had 9 handpumps, so we went for the Moorhouses Cold Spell. More diners than drinkers on our visit.

On 21st February 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Willow Grove (Lloyds No1)

An L shaped, bland and rather featurless Wetherspoons on Southport's main thoroughfare with not much atmosphere about it,albeit they did have 9 cask beers on and is very handy for the bus.

On 5th March 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2113 recommendations about 2077 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Willow Grove (Lloyds No1)

Actually appears branded as a Wetherspoon rather than a Lloyds, it has a dark moody feel. There is a spacious downstairs bar that opens onto a wide busy road in the town, near the impressive war memorial, as well as having a side entrance. Its set out mainly for standing, and then with areas of usual Wetherspoons tables and chairs and also some booth seating.

The back wall could be a tribute to the Selfridges building in Birmingham with its disk shapes all over.

Nothing too impressive here and the curse of Wetherspoons striking again with the staffing, they appear very uninterested and not at all cusotmer focused. Its ok, and the 6 real ales are of good quality.

On 27th March 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]