User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Salisbury Arms, Cambridge

76 Tenison Road
Cambridge
CB1 2DW
Phone: 01223576363

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


E TA left this review about The Salisbury Arms

A busy local with decent beer and good, cheap food, well described by others, below. On this occasion the food choice was pizzas or ‘pots’ - basically pre-prepared dishes of various sorts. I opted for the pizza, which was excellent value, served with a smile by a pleasant young waitress. On ‘Fat Tuesdays’ (Mardis Grases?) they offer free puddings, though looking at the size of some of the customers, they don’t really need it. Ales on were Charlie Wells’s IPA, Out Out IPA and Directors, all in very good condition. Well worth a revisit and a definite for a crawl.

On 6th February 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2532 recommendations about 2510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Salisbury Arms

Old locals' pub with typically updated interior featuring much distressed wood and assorted old tat. There is a pizza oven occupying the rear and a separate room at the back. A courtyard garden is floored with artificial grass for some reason. Beers from Youngs/Wells with odd guests seemed to be well-kept though.

On 6th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2194 recommendations about 2145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Salisbury Arms

I agree with BF, in spite of this being a Charles Wells badged pub, we found a couple of decent guest beers on this visit. So went for the Butcombe McEwans IPA which was in excellent shape and full of flavour, even after a days crawl.
The pub looked to have been refurbished recently and the main theme was lots of reclaimed timber cladding throughout. Another new feature was the domed pizza oven at the rear of the pub. The pub was comfortable and I could have easily stayed a bit longer.

On 12th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Salisbury Arms

Don't be put off by the Charles Wells insignia on the pubsign,there is a wide range of real ale from eight handpumps which besides CW Bombardier,London Gold and Eagle IPA,included Jennings Cumberland,St Austell Tribute,Black Sheep Bitter and Adnam's Broadside as guests on my visit along with a single handpumped cider.Although the guests are generally nationally available brands,my Tribute was in top nick.
I particularly liked the faux balcony in the vaulted rear area,together with a rowing boat suspended from the ceiling.There is also a small rear room with a good collection of old tobacco adverts.
Worth including on any real ale crawl,and convenient for the station.

On 14th September 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Salisbury Arms

As noted already, full of bits and bobs inside. You enter the pub into a long room, much larger than you'd expect as seen from the street. Outside, there's an almost fully enclosed smoking area.

While this a Wells pub, there's also a decent range of guest ales including Tribute & Cumberland. The Eagle IPA was in excellent nick and set me up nicely for an afternoon pub crawl around the city's excellent pubs. This one's well worth including, especially given it's location not so far from the station.

On 14th September 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 286 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Salisbury Arms

Very good two roomed pub close to the station and I would also recommend adding this one to your list when on the way to visit the three close-by pubs that make up the Holy Trinity.
Decent traditional interior with bar area in two sections and then an additional room beyond. Some interesting stuff on the walls and hanging from the ceiling , including the aforementioned bike.
Yes , it is a Charles Wells house as mentioned , but there are usually eight ales on and for my visit the Eagle and Bombadier were complemented by Adnams Broadside, St Austell’s Tribute, Oakhams JHB and Golden Sheep.
Also some interesting bottled stuff including the Wells Banana beer, which I have got a recent penchant for, so tried one if these.
Also a decent home cooked food menu including good looking Sunday lunches, but we didn’t eat here.
A good back street pub and worthy of being included alongside the other very good ale pubs in this part of Cambridge.

On 2nd June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Salisbury Arms

Excellent Cheese Burger and chips and a mighty fine pint of Oakham, what more does a man need?

On 21st December 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Salisbury Arms

A long narrow pub on a street corner, brick floor to the front area then down a couple of steps to the wooden floor bar area. The ceiling here is very high and vaulted, leading me to wonder as to a previous use, perhaps a grain store. A dummy on a bicycle is suspended from the ceiling, watched by his comrade sat alone at a small table on the faux balcony on the back wall.A couple of large sacks hang from the ceiling also.
A seperate rear room has a variety of random nic-nacs on shelves.
This part of Cambridge is rich in pubs and a good selection on here also. Oakham Inferno...very good....St Austell Tribute, Woodforde Wherry, Brains Top Notch were the guests plus house beers Wells Bombardier, IPA, Youngs Winter Warmer....alternates out of season with other Youngs brews I'm told, plus Adnams Broadside.
Probably the nearest good ale pub to the station, around 7 mins brisk walk.

On 4th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Salisbury Arms

Popped in here on the way back to the station after an epic afternoon’s crawling but still appreciated this one. Situated on a street corner this is a Wells/Youngs tied outlet that nonetheless carries a four decent guests alongside Eagle, Bombardier and a Youngs brew. The high ceiling towards the end of the long narrow bar has a suspended cyclist hanging from it, god knows why.

On 10th October 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Salisbury Arms

Wells IPA, Bombardier, Waggledance, Adnams Explorer & Broadside, Woodforde Wherry, Tribute. Narrow front entrance via now-defunct, bar (although you can still sit here) to stone- then wood-floored rear with very high ceiling, featuring a suspended cyclist. Breweriana dots the upper walls and a spot-lit internal balcony (with no obvious access) forms the rear of bar area & overlooks some large central tables. Left to smaller, quieter, almost snug-like rear room with banquette seating surrounding regular wood tables and, opposite, some rather misplaced ‘tall tables'. Outside was a pretty awful courtyard where my notes read ‘braying hoorahs', although I was flagging, somewhat, by this point.

On 5th May 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]

Page: 1 2