User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with london calling on the Pub Forum

Ye Hole in Ye Wall, Liverpool

4 Hackins Hey
Liverpool
L2 2AW
Phone: 01512273809

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about Ye Hole in Ye Wall

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good Beer Guide pub. Both staff and customers were friendly and we enjoyed our beers from Big Bog and Hafod breweries.

On 21st August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Ye Hole in Ye Wall

this is gradually becoming my favourite pub in this area. it’s very old and cosy inside with a great atmosphere (and often more women than men these days!). no pretence, just a proper pub. They have leaflets explaining the history of the pub but take the Hitler stories with a large pinch of salt. last night my pint of Cumberland was in poor condition but replaced it with something much nicer so who cares?

On 9th February 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 708 recommendations about 690 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Ye Hole In Ye Wall

This pub is on CAMRA's Regional Inventory of pubs with historic interiors. Most of the work in here is inter-war, although there are one or two post-war embellishments. The layout is unchanged from that described by previous reviewers, with the pub effectively divided up into separate areas by glazed paneling. The telephone booth is still there - I saw two of these in Liverpool, having not seen one in London. One should take the trouble to open the door to this one, as most unusually contains the skeleton of a man and his dog. I do recall the days when an operator had to put your call through, sometimes resulting in a bit of a wait, but I think that this poor chap and his dog were particularly unlucky.

There were six real ales on in here; on my first visit here I had the excellent 5% Heavy Industry Collaborator which was in excellent condition. A second visit the following day with several chums saw most of the ales on offer being sampled, and all were said to be in good condition. Hopefully the problems mentioned by previous reviewers have been resolved. This has all the look of being a traditional locals' pub, which is something I wouldn't have expected in the centre of Liverpool. It's definitely worth a visit.

On 13th July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2573 recommendations about 2491 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Ye Hole In Ye Wall

Situated down the evocatively named Hackins Hey, a narrow side lane, this pub has claims to be the oldest pub in the city. Inside there are a series of cubby hole seating areas with the bar along the front wall in what is the main area. Carpeted, wood panelled walls, stained glass leaded windows and copper panels to the bar front. There was a proper roaring fire on the go in a hearth with a copper hood over which featured a Liver Bird. The overall ambience was of a warm, comfortable and cosy feel.
Old signs warn of press gangs, there are jugs and tankards dangling from hooks over the bar and the walls are liberally covered with old B&W photos of Liverpool.
It's a friendly spot, a chap sitting on a bar stool saw me perusing the pumps and then ran through the beers describing the styles, the extremely chirpy barmaid was good fun and nice with it, she left her post briefly to help some old boy outside to his taxi.
Two banks of three handpumps, Red Star Lakota plus Havana Moon, Peerless Bunny Hop, Rock the Boat Dazzle and Cottage Golden Arrow. I'm unsure if meals are served but there are signs advertising Jones' pork pies.
This was a men only pub until relatively recently resulting in the hastily added ladies toilet being accessible only by passing through the bar. Unusually also the cellar is upstairs as the pub is apparently built on the site of an old burial ground.
This is the sort of cosy pub you could easily sit in for a session, I liked it a great deal.

On 14th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Ye Hole In Ye Wall

The last few months the beer in here has been undrinkable. Which is a shame. No matter which ale you choose, at anytime, it all has a horrible...erm, musty kinda taste. Whoever is in charge of the cellar needs either sacking or re-educated. Oh, and Adolf Hitler drank here. According to the blurb anyway.

On 9th November 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3380 recommendations about 3297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Ye Hole In Ye Wall

very busy with it being gay pride weekend well worth a second look

On 8th August 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Ye Hole In Ye Wall

Another visit for a quiet pint on our Dale Street crawl. The pub was quite busy with an older clientele on a Wednesday evening. Only 4 ales available on our latest visit but my pint of Off Beat Oddball Red was in good nick.

16/05/2012
I can't really add to PSM's description below. There were also 5 ales available on my visit, all different from when PSM visited, although some of the breweries were the same. My pint of Off Beat Out Of Step IPA was in good nick and the other half like her half of Titanic Iceberg. It's a really nice pub and we often visit during the afternoon. Be aware though, there is karaoke some nights, although it could be a cat strangling contest we heard whilst in the courtyard of Thomas Rigbys round the corner later that night.

On 29th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2807 recommendations about 2730 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Ye Hole In Ye Wall

The Hole in the Wall claims to be Liverpool’s oldest pub and the date of 1726 which is displayed on the outside of the building lends this claim some credibility. Entering the pub through a tiled corridor along the left hand side, you first pass a small recess which houses a dartboard before reaching the servery. The room is carpeted with wood panelled walls which have a lot of old local photographs hung on them. Stained glass partitions screen a fine seating area with long curved banquettes and low stool seating. Perhaps the centrepiece of the pub is a lovely fireplace with brass surrounds and liver bird adornments, which was lit, providing the place with a cosy feel. A TV screen was on showing muted coverage of a tennis match, which seemed a little out of place. The pub was one of the last in the city to admit women, as late as 1977, and as such they have had to improvise the location of the ladies toilets so you have to pass through the bar hatch to reach them via the staircase.
Beer used to be dispensed by gravity from the first floor cellar which was located upstairs due to the pub’s positioning on an old burial site, but nowadays the more conventional hand pump system is used. I noted five beers on during our visit – Off Beat Odd Ball, Tetley’s Trust Porter, Cain’s IPA, Titanic Steerage and Brain’s Bread of Heaven – a decent, varied line-up and my pint of Steerage was certainly on good form.
I agree with Ray that the place feels more like a rural pub than something you expect to find in the city and it struck me as somewhere I’d be happy to while away a few hours over my paper or chatting at the bar.

On 27th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2402 recommendations about 2402 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Ye Hole In Ye Wall

This 1726 Coaching house has more of a traditional country pub ambiance about it rather than a city tavern. Consists of a low bar, wood panelling, stained glass and fabulous brass work. Friendly staff and regulars. On handpump I went for the Titanic Steerage and Brains Bread of Heaven, both well kept ales. Will call again.

On 4th March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2957 recommendations about 2957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Ye Hole In Ye Wall

A very fine and traditional interior with two rooms with fitted bench seating,wood panelled corridors and a section devoted to a darts board with it's own bar access.There was an ornate brass surround above a coal affect gas fire but almost all other features were original and authentic.There were 6 handpumps with some microbrewery offerings ,my Odd Ball Red from the Offbeat Brewery was interesting.Worth listening to the light volume taped music,any pub playing Chicory Tip gets my vote !

On 4th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2049 recommendations about 2049 pubs]

Page: 1 2