User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Ye Cracke, Liverpool

13 Rice Street
Liverpool
L1 9BB

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about Ye Cracke

still an unchanged, slightly tatty backstreet pub with a lot of character though limited comfort. Last time I was in here there was hardly any real ale available but this time round it was better, though there are far superior beer pubs in the city. Friendly and multiple rooms make it very characterful. Popular with student types.

On 23rd December 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 736 recommendations about 717 pubs]


Will Larter left this review about Ye Cracke

My sixth heritage pub of the day, after a bit of a scare when it wasn't open at opening time. Returning half an hour later I found the landlady and three other customers, one of them at least clearly a regular. I suppose a pub whose name is The Cracke has got to have good "craic", and so it proved. The beer was in very good condition, though in my case it was only Marstons Saddle Tank, or Burton Bitter as it used to be called. Others were Beartown Creme Bearlee, Phoenix Arizona and a seasonal for the RU world cup. Reading my notes after two months I was initially puzzled as to what PdR could mean - and then I remembered: pièce de résistance. It's the panelled snug in the middle of the pub, cryptically labelled "War Office" (see photos), a tiny room with a mirror along one wall to make it seem larger and lighter than it really is. Anyone who's not been to the Cracke before should definitely come and see the War Office.

Date of visit: 4th October 2019

On 20th December 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2625 recommendations about 2475 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Ye Cracke

A very traditional looking back street boozer which was surprisingly busy for its location. It looked a bit daunting from the outside, the kind of place that may be a locals' pub and everyone falls into silence and stares at you when you walk in, but I'm pleased to report that was far from the case. On entering there is a small room to the left, backing on to the rear of the bar, which was empty, then you walk through and round to the front of the bar where there are a couple of different semi opened out rooms. There is also an outdoor area though not investigated and was in the process of being locked up - perhaps they are only allowed to use it until a certain time because it's a fairly residential area.

Four hand pulls at the bar including two from Big Bog at the time of my visit.

It's a proper old school boozer but without feeling exclusively locally. Well worth a visit.

On 11th April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 515 recommendations about 470 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Ye Cracke

definitely worth a visit to an unchanged back street boozer.

Interesting Cottage Brewing Co Air Supremacy on - all the way from Somerset.

Listen to the constant sounds of the Beatles on the Jukebox.

Photos at my blog - http://bit.ly/2csv7Qs

On 5th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Ye Cracke

John Lennon's old watering hole and I'm not sure what it was like in his time but this pub hasn't changed for years. A nice feature is the 'Guest Ales' blackboard at the side of the bar which very rarely is in unison with what is actually on.

On 8th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3383 recommendations about 3300 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Ye Cracke

This is another Liverpool pub on CAMRA's Regional Inventory of pubs with historic interiors. Although this pub has been much changed, and expanded, over the years it does retain some original features. You enter into a very small room that was the original public bar. Around to the back of the servery is a much larger room, which is where I found the landlady and the pub's only other customer. Leading off the corridor that to some extent dissects this room is a very small snug, known as the War Room, and which certainly dates from the Victorian era. As you would expect, there's some Beatles stuff around the place, but I guess you could say that about most Liverpool pubs.

There were four ales on. For some reason I didn't note them all, but I did note that I had a decent drop of Salopian Blond. I did have a conversation with the landlady on the merits, or otherwise, of the use of sparklers and she said that whenever she's in a London pub she asks for a sparkler to be used. Best of luck with that; or do London pubs keep a sparkler handy just in case someone from somewhere up north drops in? I'd be surprised if many London bar staff would know what you were talking about.

Anyway, this seems to be even more of a locals' boozer than the other Liverpool pubs I had visited. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

On 19th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Ye Cracke

Not immediately obvious or enticing, set-off down a small (and quite dark at night) side street. However persevere as inside it’s a characterful, multi-roomed, old school boozer. Plays on its Lennon connection (the Dissenters mirror in the far room is very nice). Also in this room is a modernist wall mural depicting a Georgian battle of some sort. Impressive jukebox with plenty of old school Indie and 60’s classics that was being pumped with cash. Décor is sparse and a bit knocked-about in places, though as a popular student haunt (nearby Art School) perhaps that’s to be expected. A decent ale selection - five in all - and my Preston Oyster Stout was fine. Also Old Rosie cider (at least). A nice buzzing atmosphere in here and it was voted Mrs Quinno’s favourite of the entire Liverpool trip.

On 15th January 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Ye Cracke

Located down an unlikely backstreet off Hope Street, this is an impressive and attractive multi-roomed pub. The exterior boasts some nice old tiling with signs for Bass and Boddingtons giving it a retro feel. Entering through the front door you find yourself in a very small and basic snug with a short stretch of bar and a TV in the corner showing football, which makes entering a bit awkward if the place is busy. Better then to arrive through the side door which takes you into a drinking corridor with access to several other rooms and a small serving hatch on the left hand side. The first room to the right is a fairly basic affair with pew seating and walls decorated with some dubious Beatles artwork from a local artist on the walls. A decent sized walled garden can be seen from here, although it was closed on my visit. The next room along the corridor is called the War Office, as this is supposedly where the locals would congregate to discuss the Boer War back in the day. It’s a smart little space, made to feel bigger by the large mirrors on the walls.
The corridor eventually opens out into the main bar where there is a limited amount of seating in the space opposite the servery. There are some nice stained glass panels here as well as a framed ‘Don’t buy The Sun’ t-shirt from the Hillsborough Justice Campaign. At the far end of the pub is the biggest room, which has comfortable banquette seating lined along opposite sides and some interesting pieces of art on the walls. A TV screen was showing the afternoon’s Liverpool game to a mixed crowd and the atmosphere was a lot more civil than in some of the other pub’s I’d been in during the match. A large circular mirror has text and pictures on it relating to John Lennon’s first band, The Dissenters, who used to drink in the pub. This tribute was presented to the pub by the two surviving members of the band, Bill Harry and Rod Murray. Other items of note include a large decorative ‘Welcome to Ye Cracke’ sign and the obligatory pump clip display, this time along a high shelf running around the room. The whole pub is of the dark wood floors and panels variety and has a very welcoming feel to it which made me want to return again a few days later.
The ale choice was from Slater’s Bitter, Liverpool Craft Evensong, Phoenix Hopsack and Mordue Five Bridges, with the last three all replaced on my return visit when I tried Phoenix Porter. The beer was in good shape and the staff were a friendly bunch, with one barman joining in our discussion about the must-visit pubs of Liverpool.
I really liked the feel of this place and was glad they didn’t overplay their Lennon connection too much – something that some of the Matthew Street bars could learn from. An enjoyable couple of visits and a pub I’d be keen to return to.

On 19th March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2471 recommendations about 2471 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Ye Cracke

cracking little pub this good beer good banter with frendly locals took some finding though i had 2 pints of iron man very nice will come again cheers

On 23rd October 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 94 recommendations about 84 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Ye Cracke

A cracking back street pub not a stones from the Phil. Small and welcoming, on handpump four regs Cains, Marstons Ped, Phoenix and Wobbley Bob + two guest. Will call again, oh yeah, John Lennon use to have the odd one there. Should have stayed, haven't seen Yoko around.

On 30th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]

Page: 1 2