User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Reviewing milestone with Wittenden on the Pub Forum

Ship & Mitre, Liverpool

133 Dale Street
Liverpool
L2 2JH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about Ship & Mitre

I was a bit daunted by the beer offering here, the seventh pub of an undefined circuit. The six beers on the main bar were (in order) 3.9%, 4.6%, 4.8%, 4.0%, 5.0% and 5.2%. I went for the Black Rose porter (from White Rose brewery, of course) and the Brentwood Lumberjack on the far right. (There was also a very well maintained beer list on a pinboard, and a 3.4% beer was being pulled through during my visit.) The Rose was very good (NBSS 4) but the Lumberjack was feeling his age and had a bit of a back ache (NBSS 2). Never mind, a lovely friendly and impressive pub and defo one to return to. And wander round and have a look. Lovely pub.

On 20th May 2024 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3839 recommendations about 3562 pubs]


Moby Duck left this review about Ship & Mitre

Set in a building with a sturdy looking exterior, once inside the feel is almost one of drinking in a rambling American log cabin bar. Six handpumps and six beers which were Bragdy Conwry West Coast Pale, Black Lodge Out By The Lake, Chapter Blindfold Off and three from Roosters, Howl, London Thunder and a very good as well as interesting Creeper, a decent keg lineup and a good selection of bottles made for an excellent pub, one of the best on my Liverpool visit.

On 20th May 2024 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1919 recommendations about 1892 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Ship & Mitre

Definitely one to revisit - at the end of a six Good Beer Guide Crawl - I had eaten one pub too soon. This had a far better menu than the Excelsior - with Scouse and the intriguingly named but giving little away "Beef Dinner".

A great drinkers pub too - with a board of cask and a lot of German and Belgian bottles (which I spotted through the bar, from a different room). Ossett Silver King in great condition.

Not sure I have found such a concentration of Good Beer Guide Pubs together than Dale Street.

On 25th April 2023 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1363 recommendations about 1348 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Ship & Mitre

Ship themed to the extent of being on board inside, but light and airy and great choice of beers

On 11th February 2023 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1457 recommendations about 1435 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blue Scrumpy left this review about Ship & Mitre

Still the archetypal city centre ale house and for me one of the best 2 pubs in Liverpool. As usual, it was packed on a football matchday. But our group did manage to find a small table.

The pub's own brewery Flagship is usually represented in the ale range. Their Silhouette was on for my visit. Guests were Jennings Night Vision, Republic of Liverpool Dockers Ale, Carnival Carmen, Lister's Special Ale, Neptune Equinox, Team Toxix UN of Chinook & Ringwood Old Thumper. Real ciders were Abrahall's Ruby Tuesday & Weston's Old Rosie.

The area at the front of the pub and to the left-hand side feels the most traditional, with darker areas to the rear and right-hand side of the central island bar feeling less appealing.

Plenty of staff were on hand to keep the thirsty regulars' appetites sated, but they (the staff not the customers) never seem the friendliest. Nevertheless, you'll struggle to find a better ale range in Liverpool. So, the S & M is recommended.

On 5th October 2021 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2560 recommendations about 2559 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Ship & Mitre

I have warmed up to the Ship again lately, it remains a rock solid consistent ale house even throughout the craziness of the last year or so. Reliably good beer and the lack of distracting TV screens and music makes it ideal for a calm pint in a largely boisterous city.

On 25th July 2021 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1079 recommendations about 1044 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Ship & Mitre

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good Beer Guide pub, and were able to get a beer from their own Flagship brewery, Silhouette. Also enjoyed Navigation New Dawn and Tyton Morepork. A great pub to wander round when not busy.

On 21st August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1339 recommendations about 1222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Ship & Mitre

I had been in the Ship & Mitre in 2016 but it was the last pub before the dash for the train home so my memories of it were a little vague, other than it being quite busy and took a while to get served. So on a recent trip to Liverpool I decided it was worth another visit, this time at the start of the crawl, in order to refresh my memory.

It looks grand and smart from the outside but is a little more "homely" and traditional on the inside. There are, if I remember rightly, 12 hand pulls including a couple of ciders, with four of these hidden round the back side of the bar and offering a different selection to those on the front. There were also a few keggy options that I didn't pay much attention to.

It was fairly busy but we managed to find a couple of seats in the raised area towards the back of the pub. There was a sign up saying that the upstairs area was booked for a private function so everyone else was to stay downstairs; had it not been for the sign I don't think I would have noticed there was an upstairs area.

A very good start to the crawl and, indeed, if not on a crawl you could easily spend some time in here working your way through the many different real ales.

On 11th April 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 761 recommendations about 606 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Ship & Mitre

The striking Art Deco exterior is visible from a distance and acts as a magnet. Tricky to walk to from Lime Street due to the tunnel and various road crossings but it certainly is well worth it. Inside there is effectively a large island bar with several distinct areas off it. Some are slightly raised, the front has an open boarded ceiling whereas the large rear room has a glazed skylight. A couple of dartboards, one with bookshelves surrounding it, shelves of model sailing ships, a mitre hat, a ball made from bottle tops, glasses and jugs. To the front right is a food servery hatch, proper old school nosh here, scouse with beetroot and a toasted barmcake £7, chip butties for £2. Thursday nights have "scouse on the house", a mini portion free with each pint until it's gone.
The name is a collaboration of two previous pubs, The Flagship and The Mitre. Nowadays the pub has an offshoot bottle shop, called The Ship in a Bottle. There is apparently an upstairs but I didn't see it.
Loads of beers, handpulled, keykeg and bottled, on the pumps were Marston's EPA, Briggs Rock n Roll #2, Rooster's Wild Mule, Mallinson's CM, Peerless Crystal Maze, Cheshire Brothers Best Bitter and Earl's Eye Amber, Peerless Red Rocks, Titanic Cappuccino Stout Coastal Brewery St Pirans, Deva Equinox, Cross Bay Zenith, 4T's IPA, Salopian Lemon Dream and Copper Dragon Golden Pippin. Now that is one line up.
As a testimony to the beer range the upper walls are continuously lined with beer mats. The service was fast and efficient, the barman asking orders two at a time and remembering too. This is right up there as regards pubs and was justifiably quite busy on Thursday afternoon. I'd recommend this as being the first stop off the train at Lime Street however you may find it hard to leave.

On 13th March 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1708 recommendations about 1681 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Ship & Mitre

Impressive Art Deco styled frontage housing a large ale-led pub served by an island bar. Thirteen (I think) ales spread around the bar, my halves of Cheshire Brewing Roodee Dark and Osset Treacle Stout were in excellent nick, though the Blackmere Jewel was a little under-par. Also lots of bottles (bottled beer menu available), cider, perry and craft keg to choose from. Swift service despite the throng and no sign of the ‘serves regulars before you’ complaints I’d read about elsewhere. Numerous beer festivals advertised. Absolutely rammed on Saturday evening though it’s a very male-oriented place, I think Mrs Quinno’s presence helped put the lady count up by 25% but it was a great atmosphere nonetheless. So busy it was hard to pick out stuff beyond the galleon stylings, though we enjoyed the old Belgian boxed beer crates finding use as condiment holders on the tables and the nice rear skylight. Downsides were the state of some of the furnishings (shot to pieces) and the gents toilets (a low-grade, cramped piss-swamp). Would be near the top of the revisit list next time I’m in town though.

On 16th January 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5239 recommendations about 5222 pubs]

Page: 1 2