User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Cafe Rouge with Delboy20 on the Pub Forum

Ship & Mitre, Liverpool

133 Dale Street
Liverpool
L2 2JH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about Ship & Mitre

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good Beer Guide pub, and were able to get a beer from their own Flagship brewery, Silhouette. Also enjoyed Navigation New Dawn and Tyton Morepork. A great pub to wander round when not busy.

On 21st August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Ship & Mitre

I had been in the Ship & Mitre in 2016 but it was the last pub before the dash for the train home so my memories of it were a little vague, other than it being quite busy and took a while to get served. So on a recent trip to Liverpool I decided it was worth another visit, this time at the start of the crawl, in order to refresh my memory.

It looks grand and smart from the outside but is a little more "homely" and traditional on the inside. There are, if I remember rightly, 12 hand pulls including a couple of ciders, with four of these hidden round the back side of the bar and offering a different selection to those on the front. There were also a few keggy options that I didn't pay much attention to.

It was fairly busy but we managed to find a couple of seats in the raised area towards the back of the pub. There was a sign up saying that the upstairs area was booked for a private function so everyone else was to stay downstairs; had it not been for the sign I don't think I would have noticed there was an upstairs area.

A very good start to the crawl and, indeed, if not on a crawl you could easily spend some time in here working your way through the many different real ales.

On 11th April 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 515 recommendations about 470 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Ship & Mitre

still a good place with the best beer selection in Liverpool, which I can't see changing any time soon. That said, with each visit I find myself less and less enamored with the atmosphere and general layout of the place. feels like the bar of a permanent beer festival rather than a pub at times.

On 3rd June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 736 recommendations about 717 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Ship & Mitre

The striking Art Deco exterior is visible from a distance and acts as a magnet. Tricky to walk to from Lime Street due to the tunnel and various road crossings but it certainly is well worth it. Inside there is effectively a large island bar with several distinct areas off it. Some are slightly raised, the front has an open boarded ceiling whereas the large rear room has a glazed skylight. A couple of dartboards, one with bookshelves surrounding it, shelves of model sailing ships, a mitre hat, a ball made from bottle tops, glasses and jugs. To the front right is a food servery hatch, proper old school nosh here, scouse with beetroot and a toasted barmcake £7, chip butties for £2. Thursday nights have "scouse on the house", a mini portion free with each pint until it's gone.
The name is a collaboration of two previous pubs, The Flagship and The Mitre. Nowadays the pub has an offshoot bottle shop, called The Ship in a Bottle. There is apparently an upstairs but I didn't see it.
Loads of beers, handpulled, keykeg and bottled, on the pumps were Marston's EPA, Briggs Rock n Roll #2, Rooster's Wild Mule, Mallinson's CM, Peerless Crystal Maze, Cheshire Brothers Best Bitter and Earl's Eye Amber, Peerless Red Rocks, Titanic Cappuccino Stout Coastal Brewery St Pirans, Deva Equinox, Cross Bay Zenith, 4T's IPA, Salopian Lemon Dream and Copper Dragon Golden Pippin. Now that is one line up.
As a testimony to the beer range the upper walls are continuously lined with beer mats. The service was fast and efficient, the barman asking orders two at a time and remembering too. This is right up there as regards pubs and was justifiably quite busy on Thursday afternoon. I'd recommend this as being the first stop off the train at Lime Street however you may find it hard to leave.

On 13th March 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Ship & Mitre

Impressive Art Deco styled frontage housing a large ale-led pub served by an island bar. Thirteen (I think) ales spread around the bar, my halves of Cheshire Brewing Roodee Dark and Osset Treacle Stout were in excellent nick, though the Blackmere Jewel was a little under-par. Also lots of bottles (bottled beer menu available), cider, perry and craft keg to choose from. Swift service despite the throng and no sign of the ‘serves regulars before you’ complaints I’d read about elsewhere. Numerous beer festivals advertised. Absolutely rammed on Saturday evening though it’s a very male-oriented place, I think Mrs Quinno’s presence helped put the lady count up by 25% but it was a great atmosphere nonetheless. So busy it was hard to pick out stuff beyond the galleon stylings, though we enjoyed the old Belgian boxed beer crates finding use as condiment holders on the tables and the nice rear skylight. Downsides were the state of some of the furnishings (shot to pieces) and the gents toilets (a low-grade, cramped piss-swamp). Would be near the top of the revisit list next time I’m in town though.

On 16th January 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Ship & Mitre

Yes agree with signman it s well worth a visit

On 8th August 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Ship & Mitre

We've called in several times since my last review and nothing much has changed. All 13 handpumps on the go on our Wednesday afternoon visit and as usual the beer was spot on. We always call in here whenever we're in Liverpool, it's a fine pub.

22/06/2009
This pub has a huge island bar and had loads of staff on (at least 8) on Friday night at about 7 p.m. It was so busy it was difficult to see much of the pub décor, but the staff were so efficient that we were served in no time. There was a German Beer Festival alongside an English Cider Festival on at the time. Thirteen handpumps on with a fantastic range of styles. I had a Salamander Serpentine (Dark) and a Westerham Grasshopper (Light). The other half had a red wine which she also though was good. It's a top pub, I think we'll try and visit when it's quieter next time though.

On 26th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2854 recommendations about 2775 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Ship & Mitre

Nothing more can be added to Pub Signman's review.Called in Saturday lunchtime- place was packed but got served quickly. As usual there was a vast range of beers on offer and in good condition. A must visit pub when in Liverpool,

On 28th October 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Ship & Mitre

This is an excellent ale house inside a lovely art-deco building near the entrance to the Mersey Tunnel. Entering the pub, you pass a ship’s wheel before emerging into a room that is styled, to a degree, like a ship. This room is quite a pleasant spot for a drink, with wooden flooring and a raised, triangular seating area. You can pass the servery on either side to gain access to the carpeted lounge bar at the rear of the pub. This room features some nice leather banquette seating, two dartboards and a large stained glass skylight feature. The centrepiece of the room is, of all things, a life-size Worzel Gummidge dummy which has been relocated to the rear of the pub after having gone walkabout a few too many times when originally positioned near the front door. There is another bar upstairs in a wonderful art-deco style room with an impressive brass bar back and lots of retro advertisements on the walls – well worth a quick peek on your way out.
Hand pumps are split between the front and rear bars and offered a great range of ales on our visit in the shape of Big Bog Bog Standard, Rat Dirty Rat Mild, Oakham JHB, Burton Bridge Fly By Night, Elland Yorkshire Lager, Milestone Black Pearl, Mr Grundy 1914 and Cottage Jack the Whippet. An extensive array of foreign beer is available on draught and there are various cider and perry options too. Fridges full of the pub’s bottled beer range line one wall and there are numerous pump clips on display as well as several magnetic boards that list the extensive range of beer available. Another board listed all the upcoming events for 2012, which included at least one beer festival every month, plus brewery trips, meet the brewer nights and so forth.
With so much going on, there is a sense that the pub really does offer something for everyone. It is certainly the sort of place that the beer drinker could spend many an hour in and of all the pubs I visited in Liverpool, this would be the one I’d head back to first.

On 19th March 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2470 recommendations about 2470 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Ship & Mitre

ORIGINAL REVIEW Feb 2010

Wonderful wide selection of ales ,changing rapidly through the evening.Very helpful beer menu on the wall by the entrance with a note of ABV and beer style (dark,amber,bitter etc) and kept strictly up to date helped us make drinking decisions at a time when the pub was far too busy to give out samples.The bar staff are very efficient and although the place was rammed ,no long wait at the bar.Managed to get a seat,but in fine weater a lot of punters spill out into the quiet side street.Lively atmosphere and all ales were on top form.It was like being at a beer festival ,this is a scouse drinking institution not too far from Lime Street station.The food looked OK and the totty even better after a few rounds .Top marks.
UPDATE

Pleased to see that The Ship and Mitre has maintained it's excellent standard,with very reasonable prices.My Dirty Rat Mild at £2.50 was spot on.I also liked the wooden ceiling shaped like the underside of a ships deck.There are a couple of darts boards with a nearby fridge full of exotic beers towards the back of the pub which opens out to a large seating area.A must visit pub when in Liverpool.

On 3rd March 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]

Page: 1 2