User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

Thomas Rigby's, Liverpool

25 Dale Street
Liverpool
L2 2EZ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Thomas Rigby's

A very different pub from my last visit many moons ago. Okells from the Isle of Man, have really turned this Establishment round, So all in all I was quite impressed Enjoyed the Salopian Oracle and the Okells Original.

On 4th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2899 recommendations about 2899 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Thomas Rigby's

An Okells pub with three very distinctive rooms.From Dale Street the righthand room is designed mainly for dining and has an intruiging "Justice Clerks Offices " sign although it's significance escaped me.The maintap room is where the bar is situated with 6 handpumps offering some Okell and guest ales,my IPA was in good form.The third room,a wood pannelled back room ,was charming and looked the most relaxing spot to pay an extended visit .The large courtyard is shared with The Lady of Mann, has a lot of wooden benches,and is overlooked by some flats converted from offices.I would return but on balance I would say it's sister pub The Fly in the Loaf just won on points.

On 4th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2015 recommendations about 2015 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Thomas Rigby's

Three-room Okells pub with fairly rustic furniture and decor. Further seating outside in the shared courtyard. Reasonable choice from six handpumps, but opted for the Bakehouse Brewery's Cupcake (£1.50, half) just to see whether the beer was better than the vile pink clip (and, thankfully, it was...). One to return to when I have more time.

On 2nd March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Smith left this review about Thomas Rigby's

Beer is good with lots to choose from. Food is very nice but i do have to say as others have said it is very run down and is in need of a full refurbishment. Come on Okells pull your finger out this pub has been in my heart for 40years do some special magic with it or find someone who can !

On 25th October 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Wainnock ....... left this review about Thomas Rigby's

Good quality beer, friendly staff and punters.

On 25th September 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 23 recommendations about 23 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Aintree left this review about Thomas Rigby's

Over the years Rigbys has been a great pub. In the old days it had lovely copper tables inside until Okells come along and ripped them out. Now it is a very expensive run down city centre boozer. It's a man's pub and not the kind of place you want to take your other half or your family for a drink. The place has a rough feel to it, it reminds me of one of those saloon bars you see in old western films.Its a place that's in need of new life and new direction.

On 8th September 2011 - rating: 1
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Cherry picker left this review about Thomas Rigby's

Thomas Rigby's has to be Liverpool's must expensive run down pub.The place is just a complete dump.The paint on the outside of the building is peeling off,the floor on the inside is dirty,the tables have writing on,the staff have no uniforms and look like they should be selling the Big Issue outside.The toilets smell,the beer glasses are dirty.The beer is not kept well and is cloudy.This place has to be the worst real ale pub in town.

On 25th October 2010 - rating: 1
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Thomas Rigby's

One of my favourite pubs in Liverpool and always my first or second call when enjoying the Dale Street crawl. Rigbys is a multi room pub, smaller than the outside would suggest. To the right when entering is a panelled dining room with the tap room proper to the left. The bar counter runs down one side and there is a more secluded room with a vaguely nautical / Nelsonian theme at the back, a raised alcove like area to the back left and a large courtyard which is shared with the Lady of Mann. As this is Liverpool there are the inevitable sports screens of various sizes. Unusual wood and leaded glass bar and pretty grape mouldings over the front leaded windows. Good quality Okells bitter and IPA always on sale plus up to six changing guests from regional and micro breweries. As with the larger Fly there is a wide range of European bottled and keg beers, and of course the UK keg drinker is also catered for. Although like the Fly it is run by Okells there is a definite difference in style between the two pubs, Rigbys being a little rougher in every way to the well polished Fly, here the punters are a bit older and sometimes include obnoxious suits, the staff are a little less on the ball, but definitely still a classic.

On 8th November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2127 recommendations about 1974 pubs]

Page: 1 2