User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Thomas Rigby's, Liverpool

25 Dale Street
Liverpool
L2 2EZ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about Thomas Rigby's

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good Beer Guide pub with it's Okells beers. We chose interesting guest beers though, Rock the Boat brewery Here comes the Sun, and Red Star Pogue Mahone both of which were fine. Lovely courtyard shared with sister pub, Lady of Mann.

On 21st August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Jon B left this review about Thomas Rigby's

update - The beer choice in here is now getting boring with the exact same ones on regularly. No dark beers and Dizzy Blonde a very dull choice of guest. Rating reduced as the ale is one of the main attractions of this pub.

still really like this pub and it remains a must-visit in the city. 2 from Okells on today along with 4 obscure guests. I had Mobberley Taking The Pith which was rather nice. the courtyard remains a great place to read the newspaper in peace over a fish butty. I don't rate the other Okells pubs in Liverpool but this has retained its character nicely.

On 6th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 647 recommendations about 637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Thomas Rigby's

Just a note on Mr Rattus's review, the courtyard is shared with the Lady Of Man and not The Hole In The Wall as there is no access. Has just reopened after a couple of weeks closure for a slight refurb. Its the same layout as before but the cask ale choice has diminished. 3 Okells plus 3 guests. There was, prior to the refurb, at least a couple more. Please give Bobby a big hug if she's there too.

On 19th November 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3374 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Thomas Rigby's

This is an Okell's pub, which had four of their ales on. Pub grub seems to be available, with burgers and similar stuff around £7.50. This is still a multi room pub; as you enter the vestibule, fingers point either to the right to the public bar, which is apparently now reserved for diners, or to the parlour on the left. I didn't visit the dining room.

The parlour is a nice old room, traditionally furnished, with a small raised area at the back on the right, and with an opened up area on the left. There were football memorabilia around, mainly above the bar counter and mainly Everton themed as I recall. There's a garden at the back with a fair number of benches, and which looks to be shared with neighbouring pubs such as Ye Olde Hole in the Wall.

This pub can be a bit touristy (I know, I was such a tourist) being so prominent and near to the Cavern quarter, but it's a decent enough place. My Okell's Bitter was in good shape as well.

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2551 recommendations about 2469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Thomas Rigby's

A more traditional Okells pub compared to the Fly. Three rooms inside (I think – it was heaving with well-behaved Everton fans post-match). Ended up in the rear room which had a fairly basic alehouse feel; some stained glass, stripped floor and wood panelling. Noted the wall-mounted ‘in’/’out’ board for the beers, nice touch. Weather too bad to go exploring the rear garden that gets so many mentions here and elsewhere. At the bar were three Okells plus Purple Moose Glaslyn, Tiny Rebel Billabong and Jennings Dark Mild. I tried a half of each of the latter two and found them to be in very good shape. Also a good number of foreign bottles and higher-end kegs. Felt like a good unpretentious drinkers pub in here and I’d like to try it again when it’s a bit quieter and can have a proper look round.

On 16th January 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Thomas Rigby's

called in this very nice pub full to the brim beer spot on form will call again next time in Liverpool

On 5th July 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 91 recommendations about 82 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Thomas Rigby's

yes always worth a visit when in that area

On 8th August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Thomas Rigby's

Called in for a couple of beers again on another Dale Street crawl. We ended up sitting in the room at the rear for a pleasant hour or so. This pub has also made the CAMRA GBG2013 and quite rightly as the cask ale was in excellent nick. It's a very good pub.

06/04/2012
Called in twice last Monday, once at lunchtime and again for one in the evening on our way back to the hotel. We had considered eating here, but they stop serving food at 6:45 which is very early. A good selection of ales as always and my pints of Lancaster Straw & North Yorkshire Flying Herbert were both in top condition. A pub well deserving of its entry in the GBG2012. We'll be back again soon.

23/06/2009
This is an Okells pub, so it's a sister pub to the excellent Fly In The Loaf. This pub is also very good in its own special way. There are three rooms, the one to the left is where the main bar is situated, this was packed on out visit at about 6 on Friday. Good selection of ale with Okells bitter and IPA being offered alongside 4 guest ales. Some tables and chairs in this room, but it seems to be aimed more at the stand up drinkers. The room at the back is small and comfortable and filled with dining tables and chairs. The room to the right is also aimed at dining but we managed to find a seat and were told that they were happy for us to sit in here as long as they didn't run out of spaces for diners. This room is table service even for your drinks and has some good looking wooden panelling and some stained glass. I tried a pint of Holdens Thigh Bones and a Wooden Hand Cribben Ale. Both were excellent. I wish Okells ran more pubs on the mainland judging by the quality of the ones I know. It's a really good pub.

On 29th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2759 recommendations about 2686 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about Thomas Rigby's

Strange that a CAMRA GBG pub refused to let us sample their beers before buying.The barman said he wasnt allowed to do this.A fairly basic pub with a good selection of beers.

On 28th October 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Thomas Rigby's

This is a nice multiple room pub on Dale Street, which was taken over by the Okell’s Brewery in 2003. The main bar has the servery running down the right hand side of a bare boarded room filled with scrubbed tables and bench and standard chair seating. The walls, which are half panelled and half exposed brickwork, have shelves full of old books and clocks and a couple of TV screens mounted on them. Framed jockey silks are on display in the raised seating area to the rear which also has some nice stained glass features, and the servery has a foreign bank note collection and a lot of football scarves on show. The pub’s best asset is probably the nice courtyard it shares with another Okell’s pub, the Lady of Mann, which has plenty of seating and can be a bit of a suntrap.
There was a good range of beers available including Okell’s Bitter and IPA, Salopian Oracle, Cains Raisin Beer, Lees John Willies, Moorhouse Black Cat and Bakehouse Cupcake, plus Thatcher’s Cheddar Valley Cider. An interesting keg and bottle range was detailed on a board with sliders which are positioned to show whether that beer is ‘In’ or ‘Out’. I tried a pint of the Oracle which was in good shape and as tasty as ever.
I thought this was a solid, if unspectacular place and would certainly include it on future crawls thanks to the good selection of beer on offer, but it wasn’t the most memorable pub of the day.

On 26th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2362 recommendations about 2362 pubs]

Page: 1 2