User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Your plans in upcoming weeks with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Pumphouse, Liverpool

Albert Dock
Liverpool
L3 4AN
Phone: 01517092367

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Greene King

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Pumphouse

An original part of Albert Docks,this building would have been used to pump water into the docks after a lockage to maintain water levels.It's a Greene King tied house on three levels,the main room has a low ceiling.The lower lounge has a flagstone floor,while the upper section does give decent views over the docks.In the tap room the two wall dumb waiters are a feature but the furniture is a mix of modern high tables by the bar and fitted benches elsewhere,with little natural light it feels a bit cramped.
There are 9 handpumps but many were unused ,leaving a choice of Black Sheep Bitter,GK Old Speckled Hen,a house brew (no doubt GK rebadged) Alberts Dock Finest and Castle Rock Harvest Gold (NBSS 2.5).A low ABV selection of little merit,the corporate vibe also means there is really no good reason to visit here despite the good location.

On 9th February 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2070 recommendations about 2070 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Pumphouse

chances are if you visit Liverpool you'll end up at the Albert Dock at some point - be aware this is the only place really resembling a pub in the immediate area. it's your typical Greene King McPub in converted harbour building in tourist trap location, you should already know what to expect. it's much better than it used to be with 10 handpumps serving a decent range these days. good luck getting served though especially if you're stuck behind people trying to order food. ('we don't serve from that menu until 11' - it was 10.55). i'm very surprised that Wetherspoons haven't opened up on the dock (yet) - they would make a killing here.

On 3rd November 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Pumphouse

Something of a landmark, in an historic building with its tall chimney, this is also something of a tourist trap. A large and bustling pub on a couple of levels, with a heavy food trade and a very good and large range of beers (and Cask Marque accreditation). My only real complaint was that the music inside was far too loud and unnecessary, however escaping to the outside tables overlooking the dock was very pleasant indeed on a sunny afternoon. If you must go to Albert Dock, the place to aim for.

On 17th July 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2259 recommendations about 2207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about The Pump House

My visit last Wednesday found the Pumphouse to have expanded its ale range considerably since previous reviews: it was sporting ten hand pulls, fully populated with only four or five of them being Greene King offerings and the rest guest ales from local and not-so-local breweries. I sampled a couple at £3.50/pint (one a Liverpool Organic offering but I failed to note what the other was) and found both well kept and tasty.
The atmosphere seemed healthy and trade good, with most of the tables occupied by groups chatting, although this is clearly more of a pub to visit with friends rather than a local to visit on your own. Nevertheless the bar staff were welcoming and, as I was starting a pub crawl in an unfamiliar city without having prepared it, helped me plot a route.

On 22nd March 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 271 recommendations about 270 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Pump House

By far the best in the Albert Dock. Though that doesn't mean its anything special. Its is however a nice place to have a drink.

On 1st March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3388 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Pump House

A very busy tourist destination pub as you might expect. My recent visit brought back memories of trying to squeeze past people around the place, so nothing changed there. The pub is well kept and had 4 ales on, the usual GK suspects and a Liverpool Organic Cascade. An early doors visit recommended here.

On 19th April 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Pump House

OK its pricy but you expect that on albert dock the Manageress did a great Job with about 30 Japanese that could not talk english asked about every thing they were ordering to eat all paying on cards separately. But like all chains with cut back on staff its false economy But they know better

On 8th August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Pump House

This is a Greene King pub on the Albert Dock, housed in a distinctive building that I spotted from various parts of the docks and beyond thanks to its tall chimney that hints at its former use. The building was constructed in 1870 to provide high pressure water for the operation of various hydraulic appliances around the dock such as the dock gates, bridges, cranes and lifts. However, this past isn’t reflected in the modern style pub that Greene King have created. Split over three levels with plenty of exposed brickwork and new wooden floorboards, the pub has a rather bland appearance that belies its location. There’s a good amount of seating throughout the pub including some high tables and chairs opposite the bar and smart leather banquettes on the lower level. Decor is at a minimum and I didn’t even see any old pictures of the pump house in action. Loud music played during our visit and most people who were there seemed to be eating from the standard Greene King menu.
Perhaps the main draw for this pub is that, as far as I can tell, it is the only place on the Albert Dock that serves real ale, albeit three mainstream Greene King regulars in the shape of IPA, Abbot Ale and Old Speckled Hen. The Abbot went off on my visit so I ended up with the IPA instead which was in reasonable condition.
I had relatively high hopes for this place when judging it from outside, but it turned out to be a rather disappointing modern bar that is trying to fit in with the other bars around the dock rather than making use of the wonderful building it’s housed in.

On 25th February 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2496 recommendations about 2496 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Pump House

Old Boots was right about the service,i think i must have been on when the service was like a Spoons on an average day.Anyway i gave it about 10 mins then called it a day and went to the Revolution further down.

On 11th October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2112 recommendations about 2076 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Pump House

Housed in a magnificent Victorian building still retaining its distinctive tall chimney from its previous use as a pump house for the Canning and Albert dock complex. It has views of the Three Graces although now hidden a bit by the new buildings going up on Mann Island; it sits on the dockside by the main road into Albert Dock opposite Liverpool One and near the new arena. Inside the building is broken up into numerous small spaces on different floor levels leading off a central bar area, some space is for sitting but most is given over to eating. The bar area is a modern light wood and tall dark wood furniture affair with a long counter down one side, there are a few tall tables and stools but vertical drinking is its main function. Ranged along the wood and chrome bar counter are a lot of single keg founts, all fairly standard lagers, smooths, cider and Guinness, a couple of jokers here from Hoegaarden, Leffe and Staropramen. Greene King provide the cask ales, St Edmunds Ale, IPA and Old Speckled Hen on 3 out of the four pulls, the GK badged ones are on their whizzy stainless steel pumps with the adjustable sparkler. Service was a little like ‘spoons on a good day, the pub not being overly busy early evening mid-week, just a few tourists and locals after work/shopping plus a couple of families with kids.

On 4th June 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2277 recommendations about 2108 pubs]