User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Peter Kavanaghs, Liverpool

6 Egerton Street
Toxteth
Postal town: Liverpool
L8 7LY

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Peter Kavanaghs

Situated in the Georgian Quarter,this pub has a wonderful interior worthy of close inspection.Named after a longstanding landlord who died in 1950,it's quirky to boot.There is lots of wood panelling and has a central corridor with the bar,while the front snug to the right of the entrance has a curved banquette,wall murals depicting some humourous scenes and a collection of musical instruments hanging from the ceiling.The tables here all have inlaid ashtrays ,not usable these days but a design feature.There is a door to the bar but no counter.On the other side of the serving bar is a back lounge ,descrete but being used by the publican as a quiet seating for his elderly female relative,with some shopping recently delivered.
Opposite the bar there is a two level lounge with some impressive banquettes and chandeliers.Live music is a feature here,although with it's modest interior maybe this will be small scale.There are no flatscreens,muzak or machines so a very authentic feel.
There were 5 handpumps working on my trip serving GK Abbott,Lees Big Bad Wolf,Wadworth Dirty Rucker,Tall Ships Waterloo Sunset and Rock the Boat (NBSS 2.5,it failed to rock my boat).This wasn't a great line up with several undistinguished brewers wares on display which was a fly in the ointment.Worth a one pint stop to see the interior and very genuine boozer atmosphere.

On 9th February 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2227 recommendations about 2227 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Peter Kavanaghs

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good Beer Guide pub with it's rooms that are so full of all sorts from radios to bikes and chamber pots. Decent beer choice and we selected Peerless Down Under and Big Bog Hinky Pink, both of which were fine. Other beers were Flying Monk Mighty Monk and Big Bog WPA.

On 21st August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Peter Kavanaghs

the beer choice is as good as it needs to be, the joy here is in the multiple room classic interior, a destination drinkers pub par excellence. I tried twice to find it without a map and failed spectacularly, nice to finally drink a pint here although it was pretty dead on a Wednesday afternoon.

On 25th July 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 853 recommendations about 828 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Peter Kavanaghs

Just in case you didn't know, this pub is named after Peter Kavanagh, who was licensee for over 50 years until his death in 1950. It is on CAMRA's National Inventory of pubs with historic interiors. This pub is thankfully unchanged since Pubsignman's visit a few years ago; in fact I don't think that it's changed much since Peter Kavanagh's day. The extravagant murals in the two separate rooms on the right are especially interesting. The original pub has been extended into adjoining properties over the years, creating the carpeted lounge and raised area on the left.

The mass of bric a brac is still there, which I always think makes a pub more interesting. The most unusual for me was the crocodile skin; or maybe the penny farthing bicycle. There were five real ales, and when one went off it was swiftly replaced by another one, which is a good management practice in my book.

Although this pub is somewhat off the beaten track, it really is worth the effort of seeking out. It's a top pub.

On 13th July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2593 recommendations about 2507 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about Peter Kavanaghs

The view of the rich dark, eccentrically decorated interior shown on "View Inside" of Peter Kavanaghs has tempted me to travel there and see it very soon.

On 12th January 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 686 recommendations about 633 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Peter Kavanaghs

Now reopened after a short period of closure for a spruce up. Exactly the same as before but its now had 100 years of dust removed and its all polished and shiny.

On 30th October 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3436 recommendations about 3346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Peter Kavanaghs

This is a rather eccentric Victorian pub tucked away down a quiet backstreet in Liverpool’s Georgian quarter. The entrance leads into a corridor which widens slightly past a snug on the right hand side to incorporate the servery. The bar back sets the tone for the rest of the pub, inasmuch as it is covered with all sorts of bric-a-brac, far too numerous to list here although the gas mask collection was particularly notable. The front snug has a limited amount of seating and a nice fireplace as well as all manner of musical instruments suspended from the ceiling. This room is mirrored by a second snug beyond the bar, although I didn’t have the chance to properly explore this room. Opposite the bar is a doorway to the largest room which is carpeted with some lovely, long curved high back leather banquettes. This room is decorated with loads of nice old pictures and photos, as well as a number of bicycles and an impressive collection of transistor radios which hang from the ceiling. There was also a child-sized Pinocchio-style puppet which, in the muted lighting, looked pretty sinister. A raised area at the far end of the room led to what looked like a dining area, but this space was closed on my visit. The toilets had some admirable graffiti ranging from an ongoing debate about toilet graffiti as art-form to numerous death threats to Tony Blair.
Five handpulls were offering Off Beat Kooky Gold and Quirky Kiwi (£3.10), Tatton Gold, Greene King Abbot Ale and Ossett Snow Drop. I tried the Quirky Kiwi (my choice perhaps subliminally influenced by the quirky surroundings) and thought it was a nice tasting beer in good condition.
As others have mentioned, this place is a bit out on a limb if you’re coming from the city centre, but I would say it is well worth making that bit of extra effort to seek out a pub like no other you will find in town.

On 8th March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2684 recommendations about 2684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Peter Kavanaghs

Slightly out of the city centre, but well worth the walk to experience the famously eccentric decor (and, occasionally, clientele too). Various different seating areas, but most customers congregate around the bar. Five real ales on handpump, with guest beers such as Northern One-De-Ful Wheat in good form but quite expensive for the area at £2.95. (NB - Review dates from August 2011.)

On 4th February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6670 recommendations about 6670 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Peter Kavanaghs

Ye well worth a look in, it's very quirky. Both regulars and staff friendly and chatty. An early doors visit this one, as it's good to take a look round. Enjoyed the George Wright Drunken Duck and the Northern Lights.

On 31st July 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3036 recommendations about 3036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Peter Kavanaghs

What a find this was. Hadn't been before on previous visits to Liverpool, but worth seeking out. We were glad it was quiet as we spent some time wandering round looking at the artifacts around the walls and suspended from the ceilings. One ceiling full of suspended radios, another with chamberpots and another with musical instruments. The beers we tried were great too. Cambrinus Herald and Cambrinus Endurance. No food though. Monday appears to be a bad day to eat around here. Will come back next time in Liverpool though.

On 16th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]

Page: 1 2