User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with oldboots on the Pub Forum

Newington Temple, Liverpool Central, Liverpool

8 Newington
Liverpool
L1 4ED

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jon B left this review about Newington Temple

I started a pub crawl here yesterday but remember very little about it, except the three real ales on the bar. it's not very good really, a very bland modern room. better than some options nearby but not particularly worth a visit.

On 2nd September 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 591 recommendations about 581 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Newington Temple

Only two UBU ales on today. The pale ale was OK but I think more could be done with this place.

On 14th October 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1423 recommendations about 1421 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Bier

Now called The Newington Temple. The bar has been slightly extended and there are only 2 handpumps now. The place is still laid out the same but the wall that had local bands scribbled on it is now bare. It wasn't particularly good before and its gone down a notch now.

15/9/15
There are usually only 3 cask ales available. Can be infested with wasps in the summer for some reason. Sparsely decorated there is a wall with the names of local bands scribbled on it.

On 4th June 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3348 recommendations about 3264 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Bier

I have had a nose in here on several occasions and nothing ale wise on handpump tends to interest me. On my last look in, out of the three handpumps, one was turned back, one had an Old Rosie cider and the other had Liverpool Organic. The pub is clean and nicely decorated, but always seems to lack atmosphere during the week.

On 18th August 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Bier

Trendy grey paintwork, white rectangular wall tiles and empty bottle decor. Add to this 6 pulls (1 with Old Rosie) 7 or 8 reasonable of the better euro kegs and it should be good but Brains, Moorhouses and Hobgoblin in fairly mediocre condition doesn't quite cut the mustard in this market. Their default cask beer glass is a handle which combined with a short measure and a "pour it and run away" didn't appeal. Toilet cleaner smell at times during my visit, still all much better than when it was the Old Ropewalk. There is another Bier in Liverpool so this one is sometimes referred to as Bier Newington.

On 8th July 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2070 recommendations about 1926 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Bier

Formerly known as The Old Ropewalk and before that, The Newington, this is now a modern bar complete with wooden floor, dull grey walls and white tiles with drinks offers scrawled in marker pen on them. It’s hard to know what this place is trying to achieve, as it has the look of the sort of fashionable but drab bars you might find in the capital, but rather than specialising in cocktails or wine, it has an excellent bottled beer menu. Belgian, German and American beers in particular are well stocked and everything is certainly well priced if compared to, for example, the ‘craft’ beer bars in London. But this place doesn’t really sit alongside those places either, as the keg range doesn’t really stand out and there are only the five cask ales available – Ringwood Boondoggle, Greene King Abbot Ale, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Moorhouse Pride of Pendle and Roosters Yankee on our visit – a decent selection in isolation, but not the stuff to get the beer geeks out in force. None of this seems to bother the punters though, as it was packed on a Friday evening with a mostly young crowd. For the record, my pint of Yankee was excellent, so they know how to keep the beer properly. It’s not a foodie place either, just a Pie Minister menu and that’s about your lot.
Seating is fairly limited, with a few standard wooden chairs around the raised seating area to the front and some padded benches where the room opens out slightly at the rear. Music was playing quite loudly from a laptop behind the bar, but it wasn’t so bad that you couldn’t still enjoy a conversation. I think there were a few TV screens dotted around as well, but they weren’t on during our stay.
Liverpool is blessed with loads of great traditional pubs which boast handsome rows of hand pumps to satisfy the ale drinker for days on end, but should you fancy something a bit different, a bit more contemporary, perhaps even a bit more lively, you could do a lot worse than give this place a go. With a clearer sense of purpose, this could be a worthy addition to any crawl.

On 29th March 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2307 recommendations about 2307 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Old Ropewalk

Almost everytime I have walked past this pub the shutters have been down but at last I found it with the doors open. The interior is a single square room with the bar and some vertical drinking space to one side as you enter, the rest of the room is a raised area with a balustrade, leather upholstered bench seats, round tables and chairs. To one side steps lead down to the toilets. At the wall end of this area are large speakers and there are spot lights fixed to the ceiling - karaoke is put on Thursdays to Mondays. Décor is flashy wallpaper with boxing pictures and some drinks advertising signs. A few nice victorian touches still remain but otherwise a fairly bland modern interior. There is a standard range of keg beers on sale although Tetleys dark mild is amongst them. Early evening when I visited so I was the only customer but the staff, who outnumbered me, were friendly enough.

On 10th February 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2070 recommendations about 1926 pubs]