User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Is the Coronavirus affecting pub trade? with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

Lion Tavern, Liverpool

67 Moorfields
Liverpool
L2 2BP

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about Lion Tavern

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good beer Guide pub where we chose Red Star brewery The Lion which was fine. Most of the beers available were standard beers that are easily found, but the pub itself is amazing to wander round. Plenty of stained and etched glass have given it grade II listed status.

On 21st August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Lion Tavern

Earlier reviews have summed this up better than I can so i'll just summarise that it's a classic two-sided boozer with one side much bigger and more comfortable though less atmospheric than the other. A good range of beer including local options. well worth a visit along with the Railway next door which is now back open, thank god.

On 23rd December 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 735 recommendations about 717 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Lion Tavern

This is an excellent well preserved street corner pub, close to the old and now closed Exchange Station, the larger and main room is The Bar which has an old Falstaff's Brewery window, beyond through doorways are two lovely connecting rooms, the "News Room" being particularly appealing and contains the old bell pushes in the banquettes. The island bar is a sight to behold, curved etched glass, lower patterned tiling and dark stained upper woodwork, ornate ceiling cornices. The tiling extends to the walls in The Bar, the ceiling has elaborate cornices and copper hooded fireplaces look to get use in the colder months. Leather button backed bench seats, small chairs at Britannia type tables, lots of interesting B&W photos of the Mersey Tunnel in the early years including during construction. The bar area has some splendid floor tiling while the back rooms are carpeted.The handpumps are all in the bar but there are boards listing the beers, this visit had Red Star Lakata plus Lion IPA, Moorhouse Pride of Pendle, Titanic Plum Porter, Charnwood Liska and Rock the Boat Dazzle, two not on. Lunchtime/afternoon food seemed to comprise of pork pies.
A lovely pub, I did enjoy it but I found the service to be disinterested and almost objectionable, a request for a top up to a short pint was met with a "let it settle"....it didn't and eventually I got a token top up plus the landlady had a habit of half pulling a pint then disappearing to chat to presumed regulars and needing a harrumph to finish the job, so down a mark. Despite this it is an essential Liverpool visit.

On 7th August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Lion Tavern

After a short closure, this time for a redecoration and spruce up, it is now all sparkley and clean with freshly polished floors, a lick of paint and reupholstered seats.

16/11/16
Reopened. Its exactly as it was when it shut. There were a couple of Camra police in and they seemed happy enough so I guess it passes.

22/6/16
This pub is currently closed. As of 15/6/16 a dispute between owners and landlord has resulted in the closure of the pub. How long it lasts is to be seen but dont bother coming here at the mo if you're in Liverpool.

On 7th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Lion Tavern

A fascinating pub, full of Edwardian splendour whose unusual façade gives only a hint of what lies within. Full of decorative tiling, carved wood panelling, engraved glazing and the famous domed ceiling. The main bar is interesting enough, but make sure you also go through to the two rooms behind which are connected by serving hatches (as is the side corridor), with the 'News Room' being a particularly good spot for a pint. As always, a fine choice of real ales, with most from local or regional breweries, and my pint of Peerless Stout was in fine form. The service on a very busy Saturday night - even with the extra trade of the Camra AGM / conference weekend - was pretty efficient. One of Liverpool's 'must visit' pubs.

On 16th April 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Lion Tavern

This is yet another magnificent mid-Victorian pub that is both Grade II listed and on CAMRA's National Inventory of pubs with historic interiors. As if this isn't enough, there were eight ales on when I visited a week or so ago. One of the ales on was Young's Bitter, but I wasn't yet so homesick for this apparently rarely seen ale in Liverpool, and went instead for the George Wright Brewery Marynka. Other notable ales on were Salopian Polygraph, a 7.4% monster, or Salopian Boomerang, at a mere 6.9%. I saw a couple of pasties in a container, but otherwise no sign of food.

This is still a multi room pub, and if visiting you should have a good look round all the rooms. The tiling on the rear of the servery is really exceptional, and rarely seen bell pushes remain in the back room. This is another pub that's well worth a visit, both for the decor and ambience and for the ale selection.

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Lion Tavern

Very expensive. Which is a shame because its a really nice pub. An 8 for the pub itself but minus points for the prices.

On 6th January 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Lion Tavern

Called in Wednesday 16th of April 8 hand pulls on the bar very nice old world pub but it needs some T.L C. was a bit grubby not dirty just needs love well worth a visit beer was very good

On 18th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Lion Tavern

We've called in a couple of time since my original review and sadly the revolving artwork has gone. However this place has improved even more by being allowed a couple of more inventive guest beers on the bar. There's always a good atmosphere in here and it's often busy. The ale was in great nick again and I'll increase the score by a point for the increased range of beers.

15/10/2009
Fine old street corner local. 3 rooms with some excellent tiling and snob screens etc. Has a decent range of beers but not that inventive. Having said that the pint I had was in great condition. Close to the impressive artwork of a revolving section of the old Yates's building facing Moorfields Station. Have a look at the artwork and then pop in here to contemplate.

On 30th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2846 recommendations about 2768 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about Lion Tavern

A good old fashioned pub with some original features.Very pleasant and helpful barmaid who knew about the beers and offered samples to taste.Although it was fairly full there was a relaxed atmosphere. Great pork pies too!

On 28th October 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]

Page: 1 2