User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Autumn 2019 Shrewsbury Crawl Dates and Venues with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Caledonia, Liverpool

22 Caledonia Street
Liverpool
L7 7DX

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about The Caledonia

Included on a recent Liverpool crawl. Four hand pulls plus I think one for cider. Two of the ales were by Melrose. Quite a small place but quite busy on our Saturday evening visit. We did manage to get a seat though. No mad rush to go back, but another one off the list!

On 11th April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 420 recommendations about 389 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Caledonia

Handpumps are now down to 5 with 4 for real ale and a dedicated cider pump. EVERYTHING in here, food and drink wise is vegan. Can sometimes be overrun with dogs and, occasionally, the 'Meat Is Murder' mob. It's still a decent pub though.

21/10/15:
This is a really good friendly pub. Though the interior is a bit tatty the people who are running it are making a good fist of it. 6 handpumps dispense up to 5 real ales plus a cider. The beers frequently change and many are local beers. Bands are on most nights. Its only small and at the very top end of town but if you're by Peter Kavanaghs then pop in. Quiet of an afternoon.

On 18th September 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3356 recommendations about 3272 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jon B left this review about The Caledonia

basically one slightly scruffy room full of 'colourful' characters. extremely cliquey when I was in, but nonetheless I liked it and it does have a certain charm. food available is vegan beef burgers and hot dogs. yes, really.

On 18th September 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 624 recommendations about 616 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Caledonia

Smallish corner pub with two rooms opened out to form a single bar. One seating area up a single step (presumably the stage for the advertised live music). Basic furniture and decor. Student staff and clienetele. The number of handpumps has increased to six since my previous visit in 2011, with four local ales - including the local Burscough Claro (£2.80, but a bit 'end of the barrel') - and two ciders on offer.

On 16th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5735 recommendations about 5735 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Caledonia

This pub was on the verge of demolition last year, to be turned into apartments. The pub has gone from strength to strength and has built up a strong support from the local students and musicians. The pub had a good few drinkers in, on our early Wednesday eve visit. This pub hosts small groups of musicians turning up most evenings. A small group of musicians, playing Cuban music, were due to arrive later that evening. There were four hand pumps on this visit, with three of them turned back, two of which had only just gone that afternoon, so our only choice was Wychwood Pumpking, which was ok for one pint. The large painting of George Harrison is still for sale!.

On 1st November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2859 recommendations about 2859 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Caledonia

This is much improved from my last visit, although it's about the same in decor, a few portraits of musicians are now brightening the place up. Many hand pumps of small breweries products and it looks like there's live music here almost every night.

On 8th July 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2106 recommendations about 1957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Bean left this review about The Caledonia

Cracking pub in the Georgian quarter of Liverpool, with quality and regularly changing real ale selections. Its quite small but perfectly formed and particularly lively at weekends, especially alternate Sundays with brilliant bluegrass from locals 'Loose Moose String Band'. We also love the regular jazz nights & Downtown Dixieland Band (all the music in fact as this pub knows good music!) There are also occasional hand-picked out of town bands, I have to keep my eye on their facebook page to make sure I don't miss anything (like the fantastic bluegrass all the way from USA a few Wednesdays ago). Its a great little all-rounder pub, good for dancing but also great for cosy afternoon drinking and at weekends you can get good food scouse, burgers, pizza for just £5 (done really nice).... And now with the new mini beer yard-en there is never a week goes by I don't find myself back again!

On 14th August 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Caledonia

A street corner pub based in the Georgian area close to Liverpool University,with no students around the pub was quiet on my Sunday evening visit.The interior is open plan with a high ceiling and attractive banquettes near the front door as well as an upright piano.The wooden clad bar to one side had four handpumps with TT Golden Best a regular and guests Blakemere's Brown Ale,Milestone Fletchers and Black Sheep on my trip.
Towards the rear there is a raised section with seating to one side,including a couch,where bands play on Friday evenings and some Sundays while food is served on Saturday and Sunday 12-6pm with dishes including a traditional scouse.
There are interesting drapes on the windows but with these at half mast the interior felt dark.It was probably unwise then to persist with a tape of ,admittedly excellent,blues numbers when the pub was so quiet,it felt a little funerial.
However a decent ale selection would tempt me back if on a crawl around this attractive corner of the City,hopefully at a more vibrant time.

On 19th July 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1994 recommendations about 1994 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Caledonia

Quite a trek from the city centre, but only a relatively short detour if you have made it out as far as the Philharmonic, the Caledonia is a spacious single room pub and live music venue. Dark wood floors and half panelled walls give the place something of a cosy feel, but the loss of any partitioning in favour of clean sight lines to the stage at the rear of the room, mean that it can feel a bit cavernous if you visit, as I did, when there are very few other customers. The servery is along the left hand side of the room and there are some very smart and comfortable banquettes opposite with additional low stools. Elsewhere it’s mainly standard table and chair seating, including around the fireplace which is on a slightly raised platform towards the rear. There is a blackboard hung here which lists a simple pub grub menu at reasonable prices. There wasn’t a great deal to suggest the pub was a live music venue, except perhaps for an upright piano in one corner and a large amount of flyers and listings magazines behind the banquettes. A Merseybeat/ 60’s soundtrack played quietly in the background throughout my stay.
There are four hand pumps at the bar, but only two were on when I arrived, offering Peerless Fuggle Hop and Red Rocks. The other two both had turned clips, one of which was for Timothy Taylor Golden Best. I tried the Fuggle Hop and was pleased to find it was a very well kept drop of beer.
This is a fairly solid pub doing the simple things well and I was glad that I bothered to walk all the way out here from town in order to check it out. I wouldn’t mind making a return, perhaps when there’s some music on so I can see it with a bit more atmosphere.

On 31st March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2323 recommendations about 2323 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Caledonia Public House

An interesting old exterior which is not reflected on the inside. Two rooms have been knocked into one with a slight attempt at designer style. A basic drinking den near the university, normal range of kegs, unused handpump and bottles. Bench seating round the sides of the front area and tables and chairs in the rear. A very big screen showing a music channel takes up a lot of the back wall. There is a raised area at the back possibly used for live music, there were posters for Free Rock & Roll on the wall. Probably very studenty in term time but just a few chavs and an Harold Ramp type in when I was there. I also interupted the barman’s teatime kebab.

==Autumn 2010 Update==
Under new management, redecorated and much improved by all accounts. Has four handpulls with Taylors Golden Best plus three guests.

On 3rd October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2106 recommendations about 1957 pubs]