User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Mitre, Cambridge

17 Bridge Street
Cambridge
CB2 1UF
Phone: 01223358403

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Nicholsons (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Mitre

A slick Nicholson's pub with lots of polished wood and a fairly upmarket feel. It extends back to a dining area at the rear. Several guest ales are on offer alongside the usual regulars and condition was very good (Cask Marque accredited).

On 11th February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2265 recommendations about 2213 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Mitre

A Nicholson's pub, which initially I was not that bothered about trying, but I was passing by so thought I would give it a go. Eight beers on cask. Can't remember what the full selection was, or indeed the pricing, but I am pretty sure the Nicholson's Pale Ale featured and a few nationals. I had a Goldfinch by Black Isle Brewery, which was pretty decent. This pub was fairly quiet at the time of my visit and there were a lot of people in the pub next door where some kind of sporting event was being shown. Nice enough place and I would be happy to go back.

On 17th May 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 540 recommendations about 481 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Mitre

Nicholson's pub with a larger than you initially think split level interior.

On 23rd September 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2706 recommendations about 2649 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Mitre

This is a Nicholson's chain corner pub and eatery, although the upper floors, in Georgian style brick with sash windows, adjoin the pub next door across the passage way. The pub has a black painted pilastered frontage with a corner entrance and is deceptively large to the rear. The interior is technically open plan and irregular in shape, but as Roger says, the front is well lit bar and the rear is the dining area. Yellow, along with stripey, gold and black embossed wallpapers go with a wood floor, coffee cornice and cream ceiling - a little on the garish side. Cartoons and old photos are on the walls, as well as a TV with silent news. The music was general and at a decent level. The service was fine and the place busy with a very mixed clientele. Beer; usual tap stuff with several handpulls - and I noted Cameron's Milk Stout, Broughton Outmeal Stout, Southwold Bitter, Dent Aviator and a very nice ateman's Black & White MILD - there were two others too. Sadly, not being well (but having to hang around for my eldest) I simply had a half and a sit down - but i really wanted to try some of the other beers. A little fake inside, but the choice was very good and i would return.

On 10th April 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Mitre Tavern

Established in 1754 according to the exterior signage, what is now the Mitre was originally 2 pubs, the Blackmoor's Head and The Cock and Magpie although the former had closed by 1874, a vicitim of downtrade following the decline of the local river traffic in favour of the railways. The passage way between the Mitre and the Baron of Beef next door still bears the Blackmoor name.

Today the Mitre is part of the Nicholson’s chain and is fairly representative of the company albeit internally the place does feel a little chain pubby rather than having any real intrinsic character or identity. The interior is divided into a light and bright front bar with pastel yellows and pine floors, drape curtains and simple furnishings. To the rear is a larger carpeted bar with a slightly sunken section designated as the dning area. The décor contains several pictrues of the various colleges and historic buildings. There are a couple of TVs and some background piped music.

As one expects from Nicholsons, there was a good selection across the 8 hand pumps (4 in each bar) with 2 Adnams (Bitter and Broadside), St Austells Nicholsons Pale, Thwaites Wainwright, Everards Sunchaser, Roosters Yankee, Caledonian Golden Sun and Old Rosie Cider. The Nicholsons Pale was £3 which is pretty good value for what is a bit of a City Centre tourist hot spot just a few yards down from Punt Central. Food was competitive with main courses around £7-£10 with a few more specialized meat dishes up to £18. Service was prompt and friendly and the customer base largely derived from the tourist trade.

It won’t compete with some of the more specialized beer houses than can be found in the city but it does what it is there for and given that it panders to the tourist trade still has enough to offer the more discerning drinker and pub enthusiast.

On 30th August 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Mitre Tavern

As mentioned below now a Nicholson’s pub from some time in 2010 I believe.
As other Nicholson’s establishments go this one is decidedly average, in that although it's apparently quite historic, being on the site of two former 18th Century Inns, the Blackmoor's Head and The Cock and Magpie, there’s not much of that history visible in the modern, but at least still traditional one room interior.
But as traditional real ale pub (e.g. not a ‘spoon’s or student bar), providing a bit of Ale choice for central Cambridge, it stands out as a beacon of light amongst the dominance of Green King outlets in the City Centre. 8 hand pumps in two banks of four on either bar section and, although there was a bit of focus on Adnams Ales, there was plenty others from the current Nicholson’s list to be of interest and my pint of Brains Reverend James was in good condition.

On 30th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1704 recommendations about 1653 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Mitre Tavern

Nicholsons pub our favorite on our short visit to Cambridge , basically one large room on two levels with the split bar to the right , keg taps slightly more upmarket than usual with Peroni etc and four handpulls on each side of the bar , beers were from Adnams , three mills , rooster , robinsons and pontypridd all the ones tried were in exellent nick .
The pub was very busy on both visits but the atmosphere was good and a special mention must go to the exellent bar staff who despite it being two deep at the bar at times made sure you did not wait long for service .
Really liked it here , well worth a visit

On 6th May 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 779 recommendations about 668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Mitre Tavern

A comfortable pub that has two bars,one at the front and one at the back.Sells up to 8 real ales.

On 17th February 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Mitre Tavern

Bland and unremarkable, save the labels of recently-shoplifted goods that had been discarded in the gents. Caledonian IPA on offer which was fair - other beers I believe were Adnams and Greene King (great). Oddly, given the size of the place, there were two quiz machines which gave us 20 minutes worth of entertainment.

[EDIT - since this review it looks like Nicholsons have purchased the place made forward strides, review based on previous incarnation]

On 31st May 2008 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Mitre Tavern

Nice pub, sells real ale and food all day. Friendly staff. Comfortable seating worth a visit.

On 26th February 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]