User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Train Company Special Offers and General Rail Travel Discussion with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

Baltic Fleet, Liverpool

33 Wapping
Liverpool
L1 8DQ
Phone: 01517093116

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about Baltic Fleet

This was my last pub of a day's pub crawling in Liverpool, initially taking in some of the city's superb heritage pubs, then catching up with some friends who were making their way towards the docks before finishing in the Mathew Street area, which - at Friday teatime - proved too busy and noisy for me. In retrospect I wish I had stayed for another beer or two here, because there were some interesting looking pump clips on the bar and the half of Tatton Best I'd had was very good. (See photos for full range of beers on hand pump.) Although it's been mucked about too much in the past to ever justify heritage status, this is nevertheless an interesting building, both externally where it fits nicely with the spectacular architecture of the docks area, and internally where it is characterful and slightly rough around the edges. I left resolving to spend more time in the Baltic Fleet on my next visit to Liverpool.

Date of visit: 4th October 2019

On 2nd December 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2456 recommendations about 2319 pubs]


Gill Smith left this review about Baltic Fleet

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good Beer Guide pub with its great selection of local ales. We chose Ad Hop Little robusta and Red Star Catch a Fire which were fine.. There were also beers from Melwood, Big Bog, Brimstage and Higsons breweries. Close to Albert Dock, and a lot of tables and chairs outside so must attract visitors from the various local attractions.

On 21st August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Jon B left this review about Baltic Fleet

Massively improved on my last visit. Then again it was also much quieter. Maybe avoid at busier times. good range of interesting ales in a range of styles, friendly barman and a nice place to relax next to the roaring fire (with truly gigantic logs). It lacked a little atmosphere on a Tuesday afternoon though there were a few Bayern Munich fans in - drinking Guinness of course. Your best in the immediate vicinity but still not sure I'd go out of my way for it again.

On 19th February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 656 recommendations about 645 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Baltic Fleet

final pub of our day in Liverpool.

Wonderful location, beautiful building and the monthly sea shanty singalong added to the experience.

Best pint of the night - perfect Brimstage Brewery Trappers Hat.

Loved this and the City.

Photos at my blog - http://bit.ly/2csv7Qs

On 5th September 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Baltic Fleet

A walk along the dock road from the Pier Head gets you here and while the place is a bit of a dump its the best of only a few in the immediate outward area (the Coburg and the Baltic Triangle pubs are a little bit further along). Worth the walk out.

On 28th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3374 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Baltic Fleet

Recently refurbished (and still being done by the looks of it) flat iron-shaped pub 5 mins from the Albert Docks, Museum et al but worth the round trip. The distinctive battleship-like exterior paintwork and red funnels look impressive from distance. Three interconnecting rooms within; enter to the long narrow main bar with access to the apex ‘ships bow’ room off left (with lovely curved windows, best seats in the house) and another long room behind the bar off to the right. Unashamedly basic alehouse in décor with simple furnishings plus plenty of Cunard line posters and memorabilia, although it does seem like a bit more could be done to make it feel less rattly and more homely. Upright piano spotted. Wood burning stove fired-up and pumping out much-needed heat. Pub also houses a microbrewery (Wapping) and three of their brews were available alongside a couple of guests. I tried two of their own beers (80/- and Summer) which were in good nick, and Marble Stout which was outstanding. Also two proper ciders available (Malvern?). Some basic food is served, including a bowl of scouse from a cauldron (with red cabbage and poor quality bread accompaniment) which was a pretty good snack for £3.50 though the barmaid took an age to bring it out despite the pub being fairly quiet. As seems the norm in Liverpool, the gents were execrable. As someone mentioned elsewhere, the pub “seems to be searching for a vaguely bohemian feel”. I quite liked it here and despite its remoteness from the hotbeds of other Liverpool alehouses, would be willing to make the effort to schlep out again. With a bit more TLC, it could be the best in the city.

On 17th January 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Baltic Fleet

The long slow revamping of the Baltic Fleet continues. The bar counter has moved through 90 degrees and now sits against the back wall of the front bar, and the main door has moved yet again, this time to where to counter used to be. There's also a posh seating area outside. There are 2 ciders among the 7 pumps including less beer from Wapping than previously. Latest news is that the brewery will remain downstairs.

On 8th July 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 1994 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Baltic Fleet

No significant changes since our last visit, the refurb seems to have ground to a halt. No matter the beer was excellent again. Very quiet on our Thursday afternoon visit, but that's only to be expected. We always visit the pub whenever we're in Liverpool.

04/04/2012
Refurbishment still going strong with the servery now being back in the front room but directly facing you as you enter rather than being on the right. Access to the rear room is now via the Bows as the curved bit at the end is called. 5 beers all from their own brewery on the bar when we called last Sunday. The Wapping Summer Ale was a very good pint.

On 6th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2759 recommendations about 2686 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Baltic Fleet

From a distance this wedged shaped building with chimneys painted as funnels,looks like an ocean going liner.The entrance now seems to be in the stern and leads directly to a tap room with bare floorboards,a banquette,circular tables,a fire door to the bow and a bar with seven handpumps serving on my trip four from the home Wapping brewery (Wapping,IPA,Stout and a very good Summer),a guest ale and a real cider.Between the front door and the bar there was a temporary entrance to the side lounge area and,carrying on to the bow area which looked the most interesting spot surrounded by elegant curved windows.
So the refurb continues,there was a wooden stable door where you could get served if drinking in the side lounge but I wonder if this pub is like a builders house,never quite finished.The exterior could also do with some sprucing up but the quality of the ale would always ensure that I would pay a visit here.It's proximity to The Albert Dock means you can get a decent pint if visiting this largest collection of Grade II listed buildings in the UK.

On 19th July 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2021 recommendations about 2021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Baltic Fleet

As below its difficult to rate this pub as half of it is under construction. Its near the albert Dock, but feels very isolated on the opposite side of the busy road with no complimentory buildings near by. Its quite basic but with potential.

The beer was ok

Best reviewed once the works are complete.

On 28th March 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]

Page: 1 2