User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 20th September 2020) with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Live & Let Live, Cambridge

40 Mawson Road
Cambridge
CB1 2EA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


E TA left this review about Live & Let Live

An absolutely first-class pub, the best I’ve found in Cambridge to date. Well described by others, below, this is a venue in its own right, though it doesn’t open in the afternoon so be aware. Ales on were Green Devil and Citra from Oakham, Elgood’s Cambridge Bitter, Yeovil Night Train and Nethergate Umbel. The other handpumps were dispensing cider and perry from Simon’s Cider. There was an advert for a rum festival, which sadly wasn’t on during my limited visit to Cambridge, plus several adverts for other pubs’ forthcoming beer festivals. Definitely worth a visit and an essential crawl pub.

On 20th February 2020 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2570 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Live & Let Live

A wonderful and atmospheric street corner local with lots of ins, outs and corners. It has a proper bare wooden floor and is decorated with various bric-a-brac, but is generally free from distractions. A very good range of excellent beers, and a specialism in rum. Definitely one for the serious drinker.

On 6th August 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2259 recommendations about 2207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Live & Let Live

Please note the pub opens at 5pm during the week. Well worth the wait as this is a cracking pub, serving great beer. The locals were also friendly and chatty. There was a choice of six ales on handpump and two ciders. We went for the Oakham Green Devil and Yubby beer from the Cotswolds.

On 11th March 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Live & Let Live

Sadly not open on a Thursday lunchtime despite being listed as such in the 2013 GBG.The exterior was looking a little tatty but peering in through the window revealed a good line up of real ales and a functional interior.

On 15th September 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2068 recommendations about 2068 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Live & Let Live

Probably my favourite of all the good ale pubs in this part of Cambridge and the best of the Trilogy for me on the day. It may not have as wide a beer choice as the nearby Kingston Arms and Cambridge Blue, but is the most traditional pub of the three. It has a no frills ale-house feel to it, with bare floor boards, wood panelling "butchers block" tables and a large solid oak bar frontage. A main L shaped central room around the main bar and then a smaller separate snug around the back.
As mentioned plenty of reading material provided in a magazine rack and lots of CAMRA local guides available on edge shelves. And plenty of posters for promotion events, including a Rum festival with over 30 different types of Rum that we had just missed.
Six of the eight pumps were going when we arrived, with the other two in the process of being cleaned.
But still a very good mix available, namely Oalham Asylum, York Brewery Legacy, Whitstable Oyster Stout, Nethergate Umbal Ale , Tring Bring me Sunshine, and Yarlington Mill Cider. The Oyster Stout and Umbal ale were in particular fine fettle.
Along with a friendly mix of eclectic locals, but less students than in other locations, who were more than happy for us to join in with their discussions. If it wasn’t for the fact that we still had the other pubs to visit I could have quite easily stayed all day here.
Top pub, a rare 10 from me.

On 2nd June 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1701 recommendations about 1650 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Live & Let Live

This is my second visit to this pub and I am not disappointed. Blindly selected a brew from the bewildering selection on the bar, only to find it was a mild. But a mighty fine mild it was. Not as bad as last time however when one of our party blindly selected "Fruit Bat" you will know what i mean if you have tried it. Great decor, scrub top tables and loads of reading matter. I'll be back.

On 21st December 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Live & Let Live

I've been here a couple of times before but on my latest visit it was disappointing that the only beers left on were of the "pale and hoppy" variety that is becoming the default bitter in a lot of real ale pubs nowadays. I have previously had some good darker beers here, but apparently I'd "just missed the stout".

On 24th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2641 recommendations about 2490 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Live & Let Live

Our first pub of a long day’s crawl and in my opinion the best. Made to wait an extra 10 minutes outside beyond the stated opening time but proved to be well-worth the wait as all the eight ales were pulled through and in top condition – I tried Brewdog Trashy Blonde, Oakley and Umbel Magna. A large collection Belgian bottles was also spotted but we were too besotted by the ale to try any. The extra 10 minutes outside allowed us to notice the unusual pub sign, which had a different illustration on both sides. The pub is located on a residential back street corner, just under 10 minutes stroll from the station. The interior is fairly basic, wood panelling along with wooden floor and furniture – no pretensions here! The atmosphere inside is very much centred around drinking and conversation; unashamedly old-fashioned. Plenty of things to read, including CAMRA mags from all round the UK. If it wasn’t for the fact we had other pubs to do, we would have stayed here for a good few hours.

All in all, a little cracker in a city well-served by traditional ale houses.

On 10th October 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tony Langley left this review about Live & Let Live

Good reputation for real ales. It had a really good landlord a number of years ago who sadly has now moved on.

On 1st November 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 38 recommendations about 38 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Live & Let Live

Another fine backstreet Cambridge pub with a worthy selection of ales, six yesterday plus a traditional cider. Adnams Bitter and Everards Tiger are the house beers, Nethergate Umbel Ale another regular plus three changing guests. All sampled yesterday were in fine condition. The clientele here is more mixed than other local pubs and older, less of an obvious student presence. A simply superb pub though, right up there with the best.

On 27th January 2008 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]