User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Smithfield Market Tavern, Manchester

37 Swan Street
Manchester
M4 5JZ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Smithfield Market Tavern

Somehow this is my first visit, although it never looked that enticing in its previous incarnation before being refurbished and taken over by Blackjack. Anyway, it is now an excellent tap house than has quite an attractive appearance in the various seating areas (one of which features a bar billiards table), even if the furniture and decoration remains at the unfussy end of the range. Seven handpumps offering four of its own cask beers (including the Pub Ale ordinary bitter, £4.20), guests from Bowland and RedWillow and a cider. Also has four more of its own craft keg beers from a shiny fount on the counter plus five more (and an equal number of guests) from the ten more taps on the bar-back.

On 31st May 2023 - rating: 8
[User has posted 8086 recommendations about 8086 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Smithfield Market Tavern

Blackjack pub (as of around 2015). Fairly modern inside (2020 refurb), two areas with the servery to the left and a pleasant wood panelled area at the rear but it did feel a little sterile. Bar Billiards table mentioned elsewhere but I didn't spot it. Six cask and a cider, my Blackjack English Stout was really good and had clearly been pulled-through prior to opening (NBSS 4). I was the first customer in (and out) on Sunday afternoon so I didn’t catch it at its best but it seemed like a decent venue and the fact that the staff had the first beer ready to go to such a high standard is testament to a good ethos, so recommended for that.

On 16th May 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5072 recommendations about 5055 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Smithfield Market Tavern

Paid a visit to the Smithfield on Saturday evening. There is a table by the door where you have to wait to be seated and check in using the QR code or old fashioned pen and paper. There were no tables available but we were allowed to sit on the sofa and have a look at the beer menu. Once a table became free it was quickly cleaned and made available for us. There were four cask ales available including ones from Blackjack and RedWillow. Orders were taken efficiently at the table and drinks arrived quickly. We stayed for a couple of drinks and during that time somebody came over to swap our menu over as one beer had gone off and another come on to replace it - now that's what you call service. Staff were friendly and attentive and this made for a pleasant relaxed drinking experience. Definitely recommended.

On 24th May 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 750 recommendations about 598 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Smithfield Market Tavern

Visited last night after finding the Rose & Monkey next door to be shut for a tickets-only live music event. Not my first visit to the Smithfield and won't be my last. Always has a selection of Blackjack beers as well as guests on cask. I noticed some craft keg taps on the back wall but can't remember what was on offer. Pub games were being played including darts and something with a wooden block on the end of a string over a table that I have no idea what it was. Worth a visit.

On 6th September 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 750 recommendations about 598 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Smithfield Market Tavern

didn’t really do anything for me despite obviously trying its best. an ale emporium kind of place with a lot of choice but I found the beer on the expensive side and the pub modern and somewhat characterless. I wouldn’t want to put you off calling in but I just don’t think it’s that great.

On 6th January 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1058 recommendations about 1023 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Smithfield Market Tavern

I remember visiting this one a few years ago with the wife and walking straight out again as there is just so many “earthy” pubs she can stand being dragged into despite how good their beer may be.
But that wouldn’t be a problem nowadays as it certainly is a lot smarter that I remember it. Yes, I agree a bit of the pub feel has been removed and its now has more the feel of a modern Craft beer bar with its ten changing keg taps and six real ales and I certainly wouldn’t have a problem getting the wife into this one now.
I went for the Hawkshead Red from the list below and very good it was too.

On 23rd October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2110 recommendations about 1992 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Smithfield Market Tavern

A street corner pub , now modernised and opened out inside.Six ales were available and my Siren Suspended in Blanc was in good shape. Despite no longer being an old school traditional boozer, this pub had a good vibe about it.

On 21st October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1871 recommendations about 1844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Smithfield Market Tavern

Owned by Blackjack Brewery,who have tidied up the place but in the process have stripped it of pub atmosphere,it feels more like a street corner bar.Open plan ,with a small bar to the middle right and seating both at the front and back,the bar billiards table remains but is covered by a plank of wood,so maybe play is suspended when the pub is busy.An out of tune upright piano is housed in an alcove ,an attempt was made to play it which was at least memorable if not very tuneful.
Surprisingly only one Blackjack ale was offered from the 6 ale choice on my trip,their Black Forest Stout was very good.Other ales on were Hawkshead Red and Five Hop,Tiny Rebel By the Beard of Zeus,Almasty Shinook &Azacca and Siren Suspended in Blanc together with Hallets National Treasure cider.A very good range of styles and strengths which in itself deserves spending a while longer than my brief crawl visit.I will be back.

On 13th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2727 recommendations about 2727 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Smithfield Market Tavern

Another quality pub that gets the balance perfectly right between old school boozer and modern hipster bar.

Great beer and meat based snacks.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2InlthU

On 12th March 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1337 recommendations about 1323 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Smithfield Market Tavern

Called in many times since my last review. This is now the Blackjack brewery tap with usually 2 or 3 of their ales on the bar plus guests. Called in on Friday night and noticed that they now have a bar billiards table. It's a much improved pub since the takeover. A good pint of Black Edge Zinc as well.

14/10/2014
Reopened after a massive refurbishment by the new owners and has been extended into the building next door. It's now almost unrecognisable from the old Smithfield. Smart seating to the left as you enter, the old pool table is now raised between two supporting posts and is used as an ordinary table. There's a downstairs area, but we didn't visit. The toliets have been fully refurbished and you no longer need to hold your nose to visit them. The only area that looks similare is at the rear of the pub where the big screnn TV is situated and even this has had a spruce up. The only negative point is that the beer range is much reduced from the old days and isn't as inventive either. 2 beers from Wilson Potter and one from First Chop available on our visit and that was it, although it's early days yet and there were a couple of free handpumps. My pint was in good nick though. MS CAMRA quite liked the pub as well, so we can visit again now as she hated the old Smithy.

On 30th January 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3223 recommendations about 3134 pubs]

Page: 1 2