User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubco. mergers. with hondo on the Pub Forum

The Allotment, Manchester Central, Manchester

24 Dale Street
Manchester
M1 1FY
Phone: 01612220580

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Allotment

Rather non-descript from outside, inside is a totally ball game, It's very quirky with a rustic, yet modern feel, the theme is that of a horticultural garden shed type thing,a multi area-ed room the furniture is of robust plain wood,there are trellis archways through an open garden gate leading to a couple seating areas, adourned with ivy and wisteria,other greenery and flowers are randomly scattered about the place, plastic but convincing,exposed brick walls and some distressed paintwork add to the overall feel.The fairy lit bar frontage is clad in corrugated iron roofing. Three pumps on the bar itself,Nightjar Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds, Blackjack The Pokies were keeping strange company with Greene King IPA, two out of three ain't bad. The music played at decent level was eclectic , from the 70's, 80's and 90's but to my general taste. A different but really good pub.

On 15th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1293 recommendations about 1281 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Allotment

Have been to the Allotment a few times now and on my most recent visit I'm sure there was even more faux greenery than on previous occasions. The central bar is quite small and the hand pulls offered two ales by Thornbridge, Jennings Cumberland and Greene King IPA. There has been a house ale previously but I didn't notice it this time. I had the Brock by Thornbridge, which was OK but a bit on the thin side for a stout really. I can't remember what the other Thornbridge ale on offer at the time was. I'm sure I will be back again at some point.

On 13th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 431 recommendations about 400 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Allotment

A very gardenish theme with plenty of Herby, flowery plants dotted around. No cauliflower, cabbages, onions, beetroot kinda things that most allotments have but hey ho. 4 handpumps dispense 4 different ales that no allotments have so that's a bonus. All in all a pretty nice place.

On 12th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3367 recommendations about 3282 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Allotment

Very strange bar, definitely different. As Peter says, the pub floor is partially covered with synthetic grass and it's full of items that would be more associated with a garden centre rather than a pub. A good atmosphere though on our Sunday early evening visit with lots of people eating food. 4 handpumps on the bar with 3 on, serving Moorhouses Blonde Witch & Premier alongside Prospect Silver Tally. The Silver Tally and the Premier were both in good nick. Worth a look in for the decor alone nevermind the well kept ale. We'll call in again to see how it's doing once the inital rush has calmed down.

On 25th August 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2745 recommendations about 2673 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Allotment Bar

A piece of the English countryside is brought to the heart of Manchester as the allotment is now open and unrecognisable from it's former incarnation Nickleby's.This is a fun plot for drinkers and diners with the owners stating they aimed to create something quintessentially British with a vibrant atmosphere.
You enter on a bed of grass and instantly notice the centrally located island bar made from corrugated iron.The pub has it's own herb garden and there is potted vegetation lining the walls with a living wall of plants plus lots of trowels,spades and watering cans ect.
There were 4 hand pumps on the bar although only 3 seemed to be functioning on my late afternoon visit.For any gin drinkers the pub has an excellent collection.The pub opens at 12noon daily and meals are available until 8-30

On 14th August 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2084 recommendations about 2047 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Nicklebys

Now open again and called The Allotment Bar

On 8th August 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2084 recommendations about 2047 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Nicklebys

CLOSED NOW A SHOP (10/07/07)

On 13th July 2007 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2037 recommendations about 2018 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Nicklebys

Nicklebys was a smallish corner pub that was situated just off newton street.
Once inside the pub had been opened out into one room that still had different drinking areas,the seating was mainy normal tables and chairs.
There was one real ale on the bar which was Tetley bitter and this was a decent enough drink.
This was a decent enough pub and it is a shame that it has now closed down.

Pub visited 8/5/1993

On 8th May 1993 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]