User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Moon Under Water (Lloyds No. 1), Manchester

74 Deansgate
Manchester
M3 2FN
Phone: 01618345882

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Moon Under Water (Lloyds No. 1)

worth a visit at a quiet time to take in the grandeur of this pub. it’s vast and majestic though cavernous, a typical city centre Spoons barn but with good traditional decor and real ale. today all the more interesting beers were on the bar at the far side where it took a while for someone to come and serve. the selection as you walk in was pretty dismal in comparison and I didn’t bother to look upstairs. as a pub I just don’t like it, as somewhere to have your first drink and relax it’s fine.

On 6th January 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 735 recommendations about 717 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Moon Under Water (Lloyds No. 1)

Pretty sure this used to be a standard Spoons, but now seems to be operating under their Lloyds No 1 brand, which explains the extremely loud music, DJ and dancefloor towards the rear of the pub. The upstairs seating area with viewing gallery makes this ideal for the discerning gentleman to eye up the ladies on the dancefloor from a safe distance, before deciding whether one of the lucky ladies would make a worthy mate.

I seem to remember a few years ago the upstairs area being less busy than downstairs, but on my recent Saturday night visit a couple of weeks ago, it was just as rammed as downstairs. However in years gone by I also seem to remember it being three deep at the bar, and I am pleased to say it was not quite that bad.

Interestingly the real ale selection on the downstairs bar is different to upstairs, so may be worth checking both out if you have the time and inclination.

As with a lot of Wetherspoon pubs, some interesting history with the building but the place is far too busy to try and take any of it in!

On 16th March 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 514 recommendations about 469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Moon Under Water (Lloyds No. 1)

This cinema conversion looked more like another shop conversion when I arrived on a Friday afternoon. It's a typical long narrow room which was packed so I didn't get to note all the beers. Further back up some steps is a second bar which was much quieter. I didn't investigate the third bar upstairs. Most of the seating in the lowest bar is tall tables and chairs with some alcoves. The upper bar had a major problem in that nearly all the lagers had gone or were going off and there was nobody who could change them! The rear bar also houses the Lloyds Disaster Area with idiot booth, speakers but no lights or glitter ball that I could see.
I managed to get to see the first set of hand pumps in the main bar and they had the two GK beers, Peerless Langton Spin and Seven Brothers IPA. The rear upper bar had the two GK beers, Upham Gold, an International beer from Caledonian, Oakham Bishops Farewell and Jennings Hop Commotion. I went for the Seven Brothers (£2.75) and Bishops Farewell (£2.89) before moving on to the better value Oakham Green Devil bottles (£2.99).
This is one of the better central Manchester Spoons but that's a very low comparison point. Like most major cities, there are vastly better outlets in the suburbs.

On 24th July 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Moon Under Water (Lloyds No. 1)

A deceptively large Wetherspoons. It has numerous handpumps along the bar which stretches around the back. An upper level is also to be found. Its a good Wetherspoons to be honest.

On 16th October 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Moon Under Water (Lloyds No. 1)

Called in last night for the first time in a while. The service was pretty good last night which has been a major problem in the past which is why we hadn't bothered visiting for a bit. A reasonable range of beer on the bar and my pint of Bateman's Hooker was in good nick. If last night was the norm now then we'll call in again soon.

On 27th March 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2848 recommendations about 2769 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Moon Under Water (Lloyds No. 1)

Called in on the 23rd of Feb I agree with Rex i call in them every now and them you love them or hate them but if you all are taking notice the prices are not much cheaper now in a lot of them 3.40 for a pint of Carling i can get it cheaper

On 24th February 2012 - rating: 3
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Moon Under Water (Lloyds No. 1)

Apparently this Wetherspoons is a cinema convertion – and it looks it. It occupies an enormous space. The front area is essentially a drinking barn with the usual ‘spoons’ furnishings, including a row of booths on the left. There’s another seating area right at the back up a few steps, as well as (I’m told) another large area upstairs although I didn’t venture up there. Concealed green light on the the ceiling in the front area gave it an eerie look. The usual ‘spoons’ menu and ale choice are available, at typical prices.
This is a typical ‘spoons’ drinking barn. Fair enough if that’s what you like, but it really doesn’t have any pub character. Having said that, it does what it says on the tin – provide standard pub grub and decent ale at reasonable prices.

On 23rd September 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Moon Under Water (Lloyds No. 1)

This is another Wetherspoons conversion of an old building into a pub, this one being the former Deansgate Picture House. As mentioned below it’s a fairly unimposing frontage, but has the full Tardis effect going on inside.
However you could completely miss this if you were not aware, as the front bar is fairly plain and uninspiring, although it does have some nice booths on the wall opposite the main bar, but the rest of it is a fairly uninteresting space and the hand pumps were only dispensing the usual ‘Spoons house ales.
But take the few steps up to the second bar area , which is better and has another six hand pumps, all with guest ales. And then take the large staircase up to the third bar area which in my opinion was the best of the lot, again with six hand pumps dispensing the same guest beers that were in the second area.
No problem getting a seat in the top room on the early Sunday evening I visited and the Roosters Wild Mule was a well kept pint.

On 12th February 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

Doesn't look much from the street, with a relatively narrow frontage and just a few outside tables. However, once inside, you see a large bar with eight handpumps which extends back some distance. Nothing unusual in that, but once you realise that there is more than a few extra seats up the four steps and explore further you will find the larger back bar with another six handpumps in use. Again, that's not all, because if you look up you see a substantial balcony area which includes a third bar (with a further six handpumps available). Another notable feature is a rather grand full-height stained glass window at one end of the back bar. Considering that it is branded as a Lloyds No.1 bar, the beer selection is excellent with guest ales (e.g. Ninja Beer from Summerskills Brewery) well priced at £1.99. Overall, pretty impressive for a large chain establishment.

On 18th November 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Arwkrite left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

No problem with wheelchair access at this place it is massive everysense of the word. Not certain about access to the upper floor though.
Staff are on the ball and it is only when the place is packed out that standards start to drop, but it really does take one hell of a crowd to fill this place.Usual good range of beer and standard menu available.
Due to the accoustics of the place if you stand on the top floor and look over ,the the place sounds if it is filled with birdsong like the inside of an avairy.
At the end of the week the place fills up quickly with young ladies working upto Manchesters famous clubbing scene. Very nice to but at this time my Mrs drags me back to the hotel before hypertension sets in. Spoilsport.

On 4th October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 197 recommendations about 185 pubs]

Page: 1 2