User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Rose & Monkey Hotel, Manchester

31 Swan Street
Manchester
M4 5JZ
Phone: 01618343455

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about The Rose & Monkey Hotel

I never made it in the Burton Arms so was looking forward to giving it a go under its new name and new management. Unfortunately last night it was closed for a tickets only music event. Perhaps worth checking before you make a special trip.

On 6th September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 420 recommendations about 389 pubs]


Ian Mapp left this review about The Rose & Monkey Hotel

Repeat visit - and I didn't recognise the place from last time. It was formerly the barton arms - as per the photo here. Its now got a new name - I'd need to check my on line banking but I think its the Monkey and Rose.

Bartons Arms still displayed in the porch area.

Smart bar - with fools gold by bootleg brewery.

Very nice outside patio area - complete with TVs showing Glastonbury.

At last, we've found a place with a beer garden in the city that isnt mobbed.

On 30th June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 581 recommendations about 576 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Burton Arms Hotel

Now has 6 handpumps on the bar but only 3 were in use on this visit. According to the blurb displayed on the front the pub reopened on 7/9/16 after a refurb. Its pretty much the same though Mr Camras sweary barman was not in on this visit.

4/11/15
A very nice, well kept, friendly little pub. Very brown inside and perfectly sociable, but then again it was not busy on this visit. 4 handpumps with only 3 on including Sharps Atlantic, which is a billion times more drinkable than that Doom Bore crap. Though you may disagree.

On 13th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3361 recommendations about 3276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Burton Arms Hotel

A nice enough looking pub with bare brick walls and lots of B & W pictures and a very large old map of Manchester. There are some interesting leaning seats in the back room along with a large wagon wheel and a pool table. There was an advert up for karaoke, so it may not always be as peaceful as on my visit. So peaceful that the only thing you could hear was the loud, sweary barman. Four handpumps on the bar, all clipped with national blands. I had a half of Sharps Atlantic for £1.25 which was on the verge of being undrinkable. I didn't really take to this one at all.

On 8th April 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2734 recommendations about 2662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Burton Arms Hotel

The Burton Arms Hotel has the feel of a traditional pub with seating at the front and a bar in the middle on the right hand wall. There is also a pool room at the rear with seating that comes out of the wall at 45 degrees. I suppose the room is too small for a pool table and some proper seating.
The bar is stocked with standard draught and the four hand pumps were drawing Thwaites original, Joseph Holt’s Bitter, Timothy Taylor’s Landlord and Marston’s EPA. I didn’t notice any food being advertised.
There is a quiz every Tuesday and live entertainment is advertised for every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. At the rear is a paved beer garden full of picnic tables and I noted that accommodation is available.

So all good then…. Erm… no!
I have to report that the bloke behind the bar who I took to be the manager was extremely rude and inhospitable. He was visibly annoyed that he had to drag himself away from watching the Professionals to serve me. I clearly asked for a half and was given a pint. It took him nearly two minutes to give my change back when I was the only customer. He was rude to a gentleman who walked in five minutes after me. He sat with his back to the bar as he continued to watch Bodie and Doyle. To top it all off the Landlord must have been the first of the day as it wasn’t right. I didn’t bother getting it changed as the hassle wouldn’t have been worth it.

So all in all this is a decent traditional pub that was ruined by an unwelcoming sod. I’ll not be giving this man my money again.

On 21st August 2013 - rating: 2
[User has posted 3524 recommendations about 3503 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Burton Arms Hotel

This well kept pub was worth a look in. The pub has a traditional style bar and nicely finished woodwork, plenty of etched mirrors. The barman was friendly and chatty. Three ales on handpump one from lees, a Holts and I went for a Robinsons Unicorn.

On 14th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2860 recommendations about 2860 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Burton Arms Hotel

Traditional unmodernised local close to the Northern Quarter that offers accomodation.Called in one wet Tuesday afternoon to an absence of clientele,but found the landlady friendly enough,and was impressed by the spotless toilets.

On 28th January 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2080 recommendations about 2043 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Burton Arms Hotel

Dropped in at the Burton Arms Hotel out of curiosity and had a pint of Holts Bitter. Nice looking bar with a pool table and TV but it was strangely quiet with more staff than customers.

On 28th March 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 737 recommendations about 676 pubs]