User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How was it for you? with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Bulls Head, Manchester

84 London Road
Manchester
M1 2PN
Phone: 01612361724

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Leased (Marstons)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Bulls Head

Attractive Marston's (ex-Burtonwood) corner pub opposite the south entrance to Piccadilly Station; been meaning to visit for years, but finally managed to stop by while waiting for a train. The traditional wedge-shaped, and slightly split-level, interior must have been remodelled and refurbished at some stage but it still retains some character. Five of the eight handpumps were in operation, dispensing Pedigree, Jennings Cumberland, Lancaster Bomber and two Banks's beers - Sunbeam and Mild. I went for the last of these, only to be told "we don't do mild" (despite standing directly in front of the pump clip) so I probably got overcharged for my cheek when I pointed this out and got my perfectly good pint of the stuff!

On 28th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Bulls Head

A very nice pub by the Fairfield Street exit of Piccadilly station. A single room from what I saw with a curved bar dispensing real ales/cider from 8 handpumps. A very traditional style interior. I liked it.

On 12th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Bulls Head

Yes all ways worth a visit a good few hand pumps on good customers all the beer looked spot on on my last visit and the pub is clean

On 7th December 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andrew Stephens left this review about The Bulls Head

Not much else to add to previous comments,the pub was neat and tidy,the beer was in good condition. One to visit again for sure !

On 22nd November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 41 recommendations about 37 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Bulls Head

This Marston’s pub has an enviable location opposite the rear entrance to Piccadilly station. The smart and clean interior has wooden floors, cream and green painted walls and a red ceiling, which looks much better than it reads on the page. A nice curved bar counter serves a flat U shape room with a mix of seating including a lot of nice pews, a few high tables and some comfy chairs at the far back of the room. Benches along the right hand wall are on a slightly raised platform and there is a proper raised seating area to the left, although this space had been boarded up on my visit due to the fact that a double decker bus recently crashed into this corner of the pub, causing a fair bit of damage. All of the windows have nice lamps positioned on their windowsills and the room is decorated with numerous old black and white photos of local scenes.
Five hand pumps offered beers from the Marston’s range, although a pump clip collection behind the bar suggests that non Marston’s guests feature regularly. The choice on my visit was from Jennings Cumberland and Tizzie Wizzie, Marston’s Pedigree and Galaxy Single Hop (£3.30) and Ringwood Boondoggle. I was served a pint of the Galaxy by one of the smartly attired and friendly barmen and thought it was in very good shape – a point backed up by CAMRA who awarded it their South Manchester and North Cheshire pub of the Year award.
This felt like a nice local’s pub as opposed to the sort of transient station bar that its location might suggest it would be. I enjoyed a quick pint in here and wouldn’t think twice about popping in again the next time I’m waiting for a train.

On 26th February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Bulls Head

When visiting Manchester this pub has to go on anyone's to do list. Close to Picc station, and offers a very good selection of ales. Manager and staff very friendly, You can also sample a trad Manchester cheese and onion pie, chips and peas. The bar is fabulously decorated and well lit up. Toilets are a bit of a climb up stairs after a few thirst quenchers. Will call again.

On 10th March 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about The Bulls Head

Fine old, one-roomed, Victorian watering hole, dating from 1894. Being on a street corner, the interior has a noticeable wedge shape, but this only adds interest to the comfortable, traditional layout. On entering, you are faced by the attractive curved bar, lit by fishermen’s lamps. To the immediate left there is a cosy raised corner area, featuring an attractive old range. To the right, raised benches and a tiled fireplace line the walls, with a scattering of wing-backed chairs alongside. Walls are dotted with prints, pictures and maps, representing old Manchester.

The bar features five hand pumps, with four in use during our visit. On offer were Cumberland Ale, Pedigree, Jennings ‘Soggy Bottom’ and Ringwood Porter. Trying the latter two, they were both well kept, with the porter in particular being a lovely pint. An ‘old school’ landlord made us feel very welcome, chatting away whilst he served us.

Definitely my sort of pub, I’d be more than happy to return, when in Manchester again. However, as others have noted, it’s probably best avoided during the rush hour. Has a GBG 2011 entry and deservedly so.

On 27th January 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 368 recommendations about 352 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Bulls Head

Conveniently placed opposite the taxi ranks at Piccadilly station as you may imagine this smallish pub can get extremely busy at the end of the business day. The nice Victorian exterior is reflected in some remaining features inside although it's not preserved in aspic. Only one room with raised areas down one side and by the front door. The counter is at the back of the room and is equipped with four handpulls serving the Marstons range plus guests according to the 2011 Good Beer Guide, only Pedigree and a couple of well kept beers from Ringwood and Jennings on my mid week visit. Its former ownership by Burtonwood is commemorated in the windows.

On 24th January 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Bulls Head

Nicely done pub, with lots of dark wood and glass. Very close to Piccadilly station, so it's full of commuters in the early evening. Now a Marstons pub so quite a few ales available from their extended range. I had a pint of Jennings Cocker Hoop which was in good nick. It's a good pub which is listed in the GBG 2011.

On 2nd December 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Bulls Head

A very busy traditional pub at the back of Piccadilly Station. It was very busy when I visited, but is an excellent place to wait for a train! Some nice features inside, including the curved bar.

A Marstons house, the beer quality was ok

On 31st August 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]

Page: 1 2