User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Micropub Definitions with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Railway Tavern Ale House, N16

2 St Jude Street
N16
N16 8JT
Phone: 02000111195

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Railway Tavern Ale House

A corner pub not actually that close to the station. Smaller inside than the exterior suggests, it's an opened-out room, the end of which tapers in line with the building's footprint. Inevitable shabby chic inside with half a dozen spots of missing mortar, chipped mint green paint, white overpainted embossed wallpaper and over-loud ‘eclectic’ music - yeah, great. There's a fair amount of railway memorabilia and a load of old suitcases above the bar gathering dust, though a companion noted that many of the seat covers are covered in Undergraduate moquette which is an original touch. Cold and damp inside, as staff insisted on having the door wedged open on a grey and rainy day (I closed it anyway when they weren’t looking). The main draw was the pub’s GBG status and we found six pumps with four ales on - Adnams Mosaic, Dark Star Partridge, ELB Nightwatchman and Four Points Railway Porter, plus Lilleys Wild Summer cider. Kernel and Five Points also noted on keg. My pint of Porter was in good shape as and a subsequent pint of the Mosaic was even better. My round of two pints and a bottle of Fentimans clocked in at under a tenner which was a pleasant surprise as well. There’s some basics to improve here but the beer was good and that’s half the battle. I’d be tempted to pop back.

On 2nd October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3794 recommendations about 3782 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Railway Tavern Ale House

Unlike most self-proclaimed alehouses, this one has a relatively light, non-rustic interior with comfortable furniture and a variety of interesting decorative features. Decent selection of real ales from the six handpumps, including an excellent Maggs' Magnificent Mild from West Berkshire (£3.60). A fine place to end a perambulation from Clapton via Homerton and Hackney.

On 15th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5406 recommendations about 5406 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Railway Tavern Ale House

I too rather liked this pub, although it was rather busy on the the Saturday evening when I and my pair of tail end charlies companions finally made it to this pub on the recent PuG crawl. But we found a table tucked away in a small room, or drinking area, at the back on the left. There was a fireplace in this area, but with lit candles in place of a fire. Furnishings were traditional tables and chairs, and I spotted some board games for punters' use. I don't think I've ever seen anyone use a board game in a pub, but maybe I visit the wrong pubs at the wrong time.

I counted five real ales, plus a cider, on handpump. For some reason I forgot to note the name of the beer I had, but I do recall that it was in excellent nick. I liked this pub, and would be very happy to visit again.

On 13th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2477 recommendations about 2398 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Railway Tavern Ale House

Yep agree with the comment below that of the three pubs either side of the main A10 in Dalston that we visited on the PuG crawl, this was the pick of the bunch for me also. I liked the ambience of this place and a decent choice on the six ale pumps. Decent half of the Five Points Railway Porter was consumed.

On 11th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1577 recommendations about 1528 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Railway Tavern Ale House

A comfortable and interesting pub with it's various artefacts and a varied choice of ales across six handpumps. I hadn't drank a mild beer for a while, so it was interesting to try the West Berkshire Maggs Mild, after getting some good feedback from other members of the Pubs Galore crawl. I am glad I did, as it was a superb mild and would easy pass the three pint test.

On 1st April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2737 recommendations about 2737 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Railway Tavern Ale House

In 2011 this pub reverted back (almost) to its original name having spent time as Old Henry's Free House.
Situated in an increasingly gentrified area, this is a Victorian backstreet building which still displays some of its original Charrington's leaded lights. Clients are mixed, being hipsters, locals and a spirited more middle-aged bunch who turned up en masse.
As described below, my half of Five Points Railway Porter was fine. I can't recall the price, but it seemed reasonable.
This is worth seeking out if in the area, but isn't really a destination venue.

On 26th March 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 874 recommendations about 860 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Railway Tavern Ale House

Not much worth adding to MM's thorough review,this is a comfortable boozer in the modern style with 6 handpumps offering a Pear Russet,Maggs MILD,Thwaites Wainwright,Five Points Railway Porter,Dark Star Revelation and a very decent Adnams Mosaic.I liked the range of styles and strenghts and will certainly devote more time in here when next visiting.There are also 8 keg varieties.The best option of the 3 pubs visited by the PuG crawl in Dalston IMHO.

On 26th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1908 recommendations about 1908 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Railway Tavern Ale House

A long and narrow main area with the bar along the back wall and a squint ended bay to the far right where a fire burned in the grate, pleasing on a chilly day. There is a rear return area to the left end which is partially separated and has the feel of a snug. Fluted circular columns, a decent ceiling cornice despite a couple of areas suggesting water damage from above, boarded flooring, seating is reassuringly traditional and includes a number of leather upholstered benches. Much of the decor is transport related with things like an Underground map, photos of train platforms, suitcases above the bar gantry plus more over the fireplace sitting in a luggage rack mounted on the wall. Some leaded windows remain, a few have the green and amber banding indicating a previous life under the wing of Charrington's.
Seven pumps were active, ELB Nightwatchman good value at £3.70, Ringwood Boondoggle, two from Five Points, Brick Field Brown and Railway Porter, Adnam's Mosaic Pale ale plus a cider and a perry from Kentish Pip.
A pleasant pub indeed with friendly service, a good start to my afternoon around Dalston and environs.

On 12th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1677 recommendations about 1654 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Railway Tavern Ale House

The Railway Tavern is a smallish pub that is set in the back streets behind Kingsland high street.
Once inside there is a smallish oblong shaped room with the bar facing,the room is bare boarded and the seating pew seats and normal tables and chairs.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i ad a drink of ELB Foundation Ale which went down very well,the other beers were Adnams Mosaic,Siren Craft Sound Wave and Dr Hextors Healer.
I thought this was quite a nice pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 11/6/2016

On 30th July 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about Railway Tavern

Hadn't originally planned to visit here but was recommended to us by the barman in this pubs sister pub Tapping The Admiral in Kentish Town Earlier that day,I'm glad we took his advice as we found a very good pub boasting six pumps,three from Redemption, two I cant remember and my choice ,Five Points Railway Porter which was very good indeed.A fairly basic traditional interior with various seating options,the music playing was some sort of Jazz Funk, not my cup of tea but at a decent level and was unobtrusive.A good find this one and will look forward to a return visit someday soon.

On 31st May 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1186 recommendations about 1175 pubs]

Page: 1 2