User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 2nd August 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Famous Royal Oak, Muswell Hill, N10

73 St. James Lane
N10
N10 3QY
Phone: 02084442504

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rex Rattus left this review about The Famous Royal Oak

There was only one ale on in here - predictably Doom Bar, with a further three handpumps unclipped. I saw no sign of food on a Monday evening, but there again I wasn't looking for any.

This is a relatively new build pub (by pub standards anyway) built in 1965 to replace a really old wooden pub on the site. It does have some character about it. You enter into a fairly low-ceilinged area facing the servery; on the left is a fairly small area with a high vaulted ceiling and a green marble fireplace; on the right it opens out into a much larger room also with a vaulted and wood-panelled ceiling complete with beams, and clerestory windows below ceiling level. There's maritime themed decor all over the place, including many model ships, and a pool table in the centre of the room. The windows to the outside world are also attractive features in their own right, with oak tree designs etched into them.

I found this to be a comfortable community based pub, away from the main thoroughfares of Muswell Hill. It's certainly not worth the effort of travelling a great distance to Muswell Hill just to visit this pub, but worth a punt if you're in the area. A better real ale would be a big plus in my opinion, but I realise that not everybody cares about that sort of thing.

On 10th November 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Famous Royal Oak

The exterior appearance is unpromising,but internally it's much better and has the vibe of an authentic suburban boozer.The bar runs along a rear wall,with a seating area in front with some red leather bench seating.To the right side is a comfortable banquette also in red leather and then a dedicated area for a pool table.What marks out the interior is the vast amount of ephemera which these days has disappeared from the pub scene;model ships,small library of books,a vast collection of minatures,photos of the area from ages past .It's all very old school as are the bar stools with wooden backs which prove popular with the more elderly regulars.If the juke box isn't fed a random song will play,and there are 4 flatscreen dotted about sensibly on mute awaiting World Cup soccer.
There are 3 handpumps offering just two ales on my trip in Doom Bar and Adnams Ghost Ship (£4,beyond it's best).Comfortable and one of only three proper pubs in central Muswell Hill so it does serve a purpose.

On 23rd June 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2057 recommendations about 2057 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Johnny Laten left this review about The Famous Royal Oak

Lovely family run pub, friendly Irish Landlord and a proper pub!
I moved into the area recently and stumbled across this pub, and had a thoroughly great afternoon.
Great beer and best pint of Guiness I've had in years. Kids and dogs welcome. Lovely atmosphere and great patio area with outside screens.
Highly recommended!

On 10th October 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Famous Royal Oak

A recent return found a lively crowd watching Arsenal's annual departure from the Champions League, interspersed with loud interruptions from the jukebox, which had evidently been primed to play a random track if not fed pennies for ten minutes. All the eccentric models and pictures are still very much in evidence, but I suspect there may have been a change of management here, or the beer quality has declined for other reasons. The cask beer offering still consisted of London Pride and Bombardier, as on my previous visits, but the latter had clearly been on the bar for a long time and was well past its best.

On 30th March 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Famous Royal Oak

The pub's unpromising exterior conceals an interior of eccentricity and interest. The bar looks like it may have been salvaged from elsewhere, with three hand pumps serving just London Pride and Bombardier. Several walls have bookcases, and where there are no books there are collections of ornaments and pictures everywhere. These vary from simple nicknacks to model sailing ships, sculptures of Indian warriors and birds, golfers and display cases of miniature cricket bats, plus photos of local scenes including the nearby and now disused railway line and station. It's hard to tell how much of this has just accumulated over the years and how much is a conscious effort to make something interesting out of what could otherwise have been a very so-so pub. Definitely worth a return visit.

On 9th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Famous Royal Oak

A quick update on my review three and a half years ago – Nothing much has changed and the barman was still the friendly chap I encountered then and every time I have been in since. Pride and Greene King IPA, which is available at £2.50 a pint, were the two ale options on my last visit a couple of weeks ago and the usual draught suspects are all also available. Three screens for showing all the sports are up on the walls in amongst the various clocks that chime or cuckoo on the hour and the pool table with not much queuing space is still heavily used. Not mentioned before is the large raised paved area out the front that has plenty of seating and a jumbrella for inclement days. There is an hour extension until midnight on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays and I’m glad to report that the staff still come round and inform people that the bar is about to close rather than just ringing the bell. There is no food served, but all of the locals would rather have a bar snack and eat when they get home.

This isn’t the most attractive pub, but after midday a decent pint in friendly surroundings can be had by all.

On 31st October 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alesonly . left this review about The Famous Royal Oak

This is a good old school traditional Pub its now about the only decent Pub left in Muswell hill that has not been wreaked by the foodie brigade. I would always recommend anyone a walk down to here if your in Muswell Hill area Rather than going in any of the Restaurant/Pubs around the Broadway

On 24th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 132 recommendations about 105 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Famous Royal Oak

I thought this place was great with the friendly locals sitting around the bar and the juke box set at the perfect volume that you could hear it, but didn't have to talk over it. There was a pool table around the back under a large TV screen and at the other end of the pub were people sitting reading in a surrounding of old books and such paraphernalia.

They closed at midnight on the Friday I was in there and before the bar shut the staff came around and personally told people that the bar was about to close and to order another drink if one was required… Fantastic!!!

There were a couple of ales available along with a standard draught selection and it felt great not to be rushed at closing time so I will be back to this pub.

On 28th February 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]