User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon), Turnpike Lane, N8

26-30 Turnpike Lane
N8
N8 0PS
Phone: 02088899085

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

Cobbled together from a couple of buildings,this 'spoons conversion does have some charm,with lots of wood panelling and two skylights at the rear which makes the area open and inviting.There is also a darts board to one side,elsewhere the furniture is standard issue with a few high tables opposite the bar and infront of a small library.Outside at the front there is a paved terrace,and the overall affect gives this branch a proper pub atmosphere.
There are three ranks of handpumps,with the 5 nearest the entrance serving Doom Bar,GK IPA and Abbott with 2 real ciders.The next three repeat the trio of doom,while the 6 at the far end of the bar carry the guest ales.I was impressed that there were no available soon signs and the choice on my trip was Burton Bridge Festival Ale,Prescott Hill Climb,Sambrooks Session,Truman Runner,Portobello Carnival Pale and a very decent Saltaire Cascadian Black.
One of the better 'spoons and just about the only place in Turnpike Lane where you will get a decent pint.

On 10th September 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

The Toll Gate looks like a typical early Wetherspoons but looks quite nice outside with lots of flowers in hanging baskets and the like.
Once inside there is a single room with the bar on the right side,the seating is tall tables and chairs to the front and normal tables and chairs to the rear where the room is wider than the front area.
There was a decent choice of guest beers on the bar,i had a drink of Dark Star Hop Head which went down well,the other beers noted were Redemption Hotspur,Windsor & Eton Conquerer,Salopian Oracol,By the Horns Mayor of Garrat,DBC Yatchmans and the usual Spoons regulars Doom Bar,GK IPA and Abbot.
Dont be put of by the beer selection on the front set of pumps,there is a much better selection to the rear.
Sadly it was almost empty on my Thursday dinner visit with only 8 customers in and 5 staff on.
I quite liked this Spoons.

Pub visited 4/8/2016

On 25th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alesonly . left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

We have been going in here now a few times over the past few months for our regular staff drink ups as most our staff now prefer this one to the crown at southgate which has gone down hill badly. Its a nice old style spoons as its not too foodie like some are now. Yes its a bit worn around the edges but nice with it. We tried a few of festival Ales all were in good condition as was a pint of Abbot. I like the central bar as there's plenty of space to get served around it. We had no getting served or problems with service staff were very quick & polite not like in some spoons where you don't even get a please or thank you. Might try to visit this one more until they open the one at Muswell Hill.

On 28th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 132 recommendations about 105 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

Very large Wetherspoons with a central bar, good selection of real ales and a roadside seating area, usual Wethergrub. 5 Minutes fron Turnpike lane station. Since my last visit it looks very grubby and could do with a spruce up. Having said that there was a very good selection of real ales on.

On 12th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

Visit 05th July 2013

I came here today as part of the Compass Points Spoons Festival and had a pint of London Field's Shoreditch Triangle. When I tried this in the Drum a few months ago it was absolutely superb. Today it was cloudy and tasted like some horrible sort of cough mixture. My rating goees down to 1 as a result. Whoever is running this place nowadays is totally clueless.






Visit 22nd June 2013

I used to make a point of coming here when the Spoons festivals were on as it invariably sold the beers in top condition. After a couple of disappointing visits a few years ago I knocked it on the head.

It must be one of the oldest surviving Spoons going back to December 1988 with an older style interior.

Today I had a Dark Star Hophead (£2.30) and a Redemption Hopspur (£2.15). the Dark Star was very good but the Hopspur was well below par, so this place has still to redeem itself in my eyes.

On 5th July 2013 - rating: 1
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


David dpv left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

I am still a fan of the Tollgate, but in the past couple of months it seems as if the level of service has slipped substantially. It seems understaffed (at least in early evening hours), with staff having trouble keeping track of service (although they are good-natured about it). I've seen a number of regulars ordering two at a time due to the long waits. Still worth a visit as a good local pub, and the beer quality remains good.

On 15th April 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

One of the more pub-like 'spoons - it even has a proper pub sign and quite a lot of seating out front. Inside, it is larger than you might expect, with an island bar and a wide range of seating (including some booths). 14 handpumps, with a pretty good selection from the real ale fesival, and the beer keenly priced at £1.85. Helpful and happy staff - rather different to the awful Spouter's Corner up the road at Wood Green.

On 14th April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alesonly . left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

When in here last night on my way home from Southgate. Its not a bad Wetherspoons and is Much better than the other one near Wood Green Station in my opinion. They had a reasonable selection of guest Ales on of which I tried Three all were in good condition and the service was prompt and quick. Place was reasonably clean and Tables cleared of old food which makes a change going by previous reviews. Mind it was Monday evening.

On 23rd March 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 132 recommendations about 105 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a typical ‘Spoons, and I have to say not one of the best ones that I've been in. But, the pint of Loddon Brewery's Razzle Dazzle was excellent. It wasn't very busy on a Saturday afternoon with a number of free tables when I visited, nevertheless table clearing apparently didn't seem to be a priority. This is just like many other ‘Spoons I've been in, but I was able to get a decent pint and a cheap (if not very good) baguette to eat, which is more than I can say for two of the previous pubs I had been in during the day.

On 12th December 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

This place is pretty much what you'd expect from a Spoons, massive pub with cheap booze. It has more than its fair share of crazies and it's impossible to get comfortable. A guy on the table next to me was fast asleep and snoring, but a staff member just breezed past him.

I spotted 4 real ales and there is plenty of lager. There was one member of staff on and I had to wait for the manager to appear before I was served. He was polite enough though.

There are 2 plasma screens and a designated no children area, which I thought was a good touch. There is also some seating outside, but it is next to the main road.

On 29th October 2008 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]