User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Halifax Crawl - 21 June 2024 with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

The Toll Gate, Turnpike Lane, N8

26-30 Turnpike Lane
N8
N8 0PS
Phone: 02088899085

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Toll Gate

A former JDW (closed March 2023) which still 100% looks like one from the outside. Stupidly decided to alight my peasant wagon and give it a go. Inside is literally as was left by Timbo, down to the carpet, wood panelling and Spoons info boards – with almost no other customers it was like drinking in Spoons version of the Mary Celeste especially given it was a 1988 opener so felt the inside of a ship. Three ales on, Doom Bar, Tribute and TT Landlord. The Tribute didn't clear, the Landlord was vile (NBSS 1) and to top it off the grot was rung through as Stella because "we don't have ale on the till". Yeah right. What a sad state of affairs.

On 11th June 2024 - rating: 2
[User has posted 5239 recommendations about 5222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a slightly smaller, older-style branch of Wetherspoons, located a short distance from Turnpike Lane station. You enter into a broad seating area with loads of high tables and stools across the front part of the pub. The servery is positioned along the right-hand side of the room and has a dark wood counter and typical ‘Spoons bar back. Lots more high stool seating can be found opposite, but this then gives way to a nicer rear area, which is fairly open plan but benefits from the now ubiquitous covid screens, which nicely break the space up so that it feels a little cosier. The space also benefits from some nice carpet, dark panelled walls and an attractive fireplace on the rear wall with a large plain mirror above. There are mostly standard tables and chairs back here, but also some hard backed benches along the side walls. Rear left space is beneath a modern skylight ceiling which makes it a little brighter than it might otherwise have been, and the walls are decorated with plenty of old black and white local interest photos. There appeared to be some sort of garden area to the front of the pub, which was screened from the pavement by bamboo panels. A family sat at the table next to and quickly found a set of dominoes from somewhere, which they then played enthusiastically.
The handpulls were dispensing the three regular ‘Spoons ales plus an impressive five guests, from which I opted for the Redemption Kazbek, which was in pretty good shape. The bar staff seemed very friendly and there was a modest crowd in attendance given that it was a Saturday evening.
I thought this was a pretty good Wetherspoons and certainly a step up compared to a lot of the chain’s older branches around North London. I found the rear part of the pub to be a nice place to spend a bit of time with a decent pint and could also imagine settling down here for a longer session and working through their guest ale range.

On 3rd July 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3154 recommendations about 3154 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

Absolutely an indentikit wetherspoons. There was nothing at all to make it stand out from any other in the country.

Excellent beer - at £1.99. I am not going to knock it!

On 3rd July 2022 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1368 recommendations about 1353 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

Cobbled together from a couple of buildings,this 'spoons conversion does have some charm,with lots of wood panelling and two skylights at the rear which makes the area open and inviting.There is also a darts board to one side,elsewhere the furniture is standard issue with a few high tables opposite the bar and infront of a small library.Outside at the front there is a paved terrace,and the overall affect gives this branch a proper pub atmosphere.
There are three ranks of handpumps,with the 5 nearest the entrance serving Doom Bar,GK IPA and Abbott with 2 real ciders.The next three repeat the trio of doom,while the 6 at the far end of the bar carry the guest ales.I was impressed that there were no available soon signs and the choice on my trip was Burton Bridge Festival Ale,Prescott Hill Climb,Sambrooks Session,Truman Runner,Portobello Carnival Pale and a very decent Saltaire Cascadian Black.
One of the better 'spoons and just about the only place in Turnpike Lane where you will get a decent pint.

On 10th September 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2775 recommendations about 2775 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

The Toll Gate looks like a typical early Wetherspoons but looks quite nice outside with lots of flowers in hanging baskets and the like.
Once inside there is a single room with the bar on the right side,the seating is tall tables and chairs to the front and normal tables and chairs to the rear where the room is wider than the front area.
There was a decent choice of guest beers on the bar,i had a drink of Dark Star Hop Head which went down well,the other beers noted were Redemption Hotspur,Windsor & Eton Conquerer,Salopian Oracol,By the Horns Mayor of Garrat,DBC Yatchmans and the usual Spoons regulars Doom Bar,GK IPA and Abbot.
Dont be put of by the beer selection on the front set of pumps,there is a much better selection to the rear.
Sadly it was almost empty on my Thursday dinner visit with only 8 customers in and 5 staff on.
I quite liked this Spoons.

Pub visited 4/8/2016

On 25th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alesonly . left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

We have been going in here now a few times over the past few months for our regular staff drink ups as most our staff now prefer this one to the crown at southgate which has gone down hill badly. Its a nice old style spoons as its not too foodie like some are now. Yes its a bit worn around the edges but nice with it. We tried a few of festival Ales all were in good condition as was a pint of Abbot. I like the central bar as there's plenty of space to get served around it. We had no getting served or problems with service staff were very quick & polite not like in some spoons where you don't even get a please or thank you. Might try to visit this one more until they open the one at Muswell Hill.

On 28th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 132 recommendations about 105 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

Very large Wetherspoons with a central bar, good selection of real ales and a roadside seating area, usual Wethergrub. 5 Minutes fron Turnpike lane station. Since my last visit it looks very grubby and could do with a spruce up. Having said that there was a very good selection of real ales on.

On 12th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

Visit 05th July 2013

I came here today as part of the Compass Points Spoons Festival and had a pint of London Field's Shoreditch Triangle. When I tried this in the Drum a few months ago it was absolutely superb. Today it was cloudy and tasted like some horrible sort of cough mixture. My rating goees down to 1 as a result. Whoever is running this place nowadays is totally clueless.






Visit 22nd June 2013

I used to make a point of coming here when the Spoons festivals were on as it invariably sold the beers in top condition. After a couple of disappointing visits a few years ago I knocked it on the head.

It must be one of the oldest surviving Spoons going back to December 1988 with an older style interior.

Today I had a Dark Star Hophead (£2.30) and a Redemption Hopspur (£2.15). the Dark Star was very good but the Hopspur was well below par, so this place has still to redeem itself in my eyes.

On 5th July 2013 - rating: 1
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


David dpv left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

I am still a fan of the Tollgate, but in the past couple of months it seems as if the level of service has slipped substantially. It seems understaffed (at least in early evening hours), with staff having trouble keeping track of service (although they are good-natured about it). I've seen a number of regulars ordering two at a time due to the long waits. Still worth a visit as a good local pub, and the beer quality remains good.

On 15th April 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Toll Gate (JD Wetherspoon)

One of the more pub-like 'spoons - it even has a proper pub sign and quite a lot of seating out front. Inside, it is larger than you might expect, with an island bar and a wide range of seating (including some booths). 14 handpumps, with a pretty good selection from the real ale fesival, and the beer keenly priced at £1.85. Helpful and happy staff - rather different to the awful Spouter's Corner up the road at Wood Green.

On 14th April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 8164 recommendations about 8164 pubs]

Page: 1 2