User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Three Compasses, Hornsey, N8

62 High Street
N8
N8 7NX
Phone: 02083402729

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Three Compasses

Street corner pub ,but with the internal features ripped out and little to celebrate.The two large flatscreen had the racing on,there were few punters inside and the rear area by the kitchens was deserted apart from a couple on a sofa.The furniture in the rest of the pub was mixed,with more sofas at the front,an obligatory row of cinema seats as a supposed feature,and ranks of dining tables elsewhere.
On the real ale front Doom Bar and TT Landlord (past it's best) will be regulars with guests on my trip of London Pride,Wychwood Hobgoblin and a real cider.Make sure you inspect both ranks of 3 handpumps to see what's on offer.Pub grub available,mains and burgers £10-16.

Dull ale selection,dull pub and apart from the polite service I cant see a reason to return.

On 19th August 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Three Compasses

The Three Compasses is a large looking corner pub with a tower on its upper corner.
Once inside there is a decent sized single L shaped room with the bar facing,the room is bare boarded,the seating normal tables and chairs and leather settees.
There was a good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Bath Ales Summer Hare which went done very well,the other beers noted were Alchemy Five Sisters,Brains Reverand james,Taylor Landlord,Adnams Broadside and St Austell Tribute.
Food was being served and the background music was crap.
I thought this was a smart and decent pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 4/8/2016

On 25th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Three Compasses

Substantial two-bar pub, partly opened out to leave a 'L'-shaped layout. Airy feel in the front room, with high ceilings, large windows and a sensible mix of furniture. Darker in rear part, with pool table but more basic furniture and decor. Three handpumps in each bar, with the regular Redemption Pale (£3.50), Pride and Landlord on the back counter and Doom Bar and Marston's EPA as guests at the front. Real ales served in oversized lined pint glasses. You can see why it has been a local Camra award-winner, so worth a visit if in the area.

On 8th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Three Compasses

This is a big old Victorian pub, which claims to be Hornsey's oldest. It certainly looks as if it could be. The main bar area at the front has tall stools at ledges by the large plain glass windows, as well as at the bar of course. There are the inevitable sofas, but furnishings here are mainly normal tables and chairs. One of the walls is plastered with pub awards, including two from CAMRA for being (presumably N London branch) POTY finalists in 2010/11 and 2011/12. Around to the right and rear of the bar counter is another very lage room with a skylight in the centre of the roof, and which must surely have been a billiards room in years past. It now houses a pool table, a dartboard and more standard tables and chairs. Some pop music was being played, but thankfully not too loudly. A sign on one of the walls advises that wi-fi, newspapers, and board games (from behind the bar) are available. Live entertainment also seems to be available - an Elvis night was advertised.

As you enter, the main bar counter is facing you, and on my visit on Wednesday afternoon the three handpumps on it had on Keltek Lance, Cottage Brewing Christmas Porter, and Lancaster Mr Trotter's Chestnut Ale. I had a pint of the latter which was in top notch condition. A small notice propped up by these handpumps helpfully advises customers that there are three more ales available just around the corner in the back room. When I was in the other three pumps had on London Pride, Timothy Taylor Landlord and Redemption Pale Ale. Six ales on, not all from the ranks of the usual suspects, is good going. An important thing to note is that they use lined glasses here - my glass had so much empty space above the beerline that I suspected this to be case before asking for a top up. According to another notice on the wall, food seems to be available from Fri -Mon at various times. I didn't see a menu - presumably because they don't do food on Wednesdays.

Although it's been modernised and opened up to some extent, including gilt-framed mirrors as wall decor, and the provision of wine lists, this remains a pub well worth a visit. The ale selection alone sets it apart from the run-of-mill, but I liked it as a pub in any case. Not that I get up to Harringay very often, but if was up here again I would be delighted to pay this one a return visit.

On 10th January 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


an_ ecumenical_matter left this review about The Three Compasses

Not bad at all. Friendly barmaid,ale was TT Landlord,Redemption Pale,something from North Cotswold,Youngs ordinary and 1 other. £3.30 for the Redemption which was good quality. Food looked good and reasonably priced.

On 17th January 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 38 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Three Compasses

There was a good crowd in here doing the 8pm Monday night quiz during my visit.

The large front bar had four hand pumps, three of which were dispensing ales that I had never heard of and there was also a standard draught selection alongside Leffe, Staropramen, Hoegarden and Addlestones cider. The even bigger back bar also had Pride, Deuchars and Landlord available. There is also a pool table and a projector screen for the football on Sky. I spotted a sign on the wall advertising a two pint ‘takeaway hopper' which is always handy to know.

I thought that the staff were friendly enough and I felt that a real effort was being made to make this a great pub – Big thumbs up!

On 1st September 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3587 recommendations about 3566 pubs]