User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 21st April 2019) with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Great Northern Railway Tavern, Hornsey, N8

67 High Street
N8
N8 7QB
Phone: 02081276632

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Great Northern Railway Tavern

A fine looking building with a Fullers pubsign and lots of interest,although various external doors to the Jug Bar,Public Bar,and at the street corner no longer function.However there is lots of etched glass to admire,with large picture windows.Internally it's L shaped with glass inlaid deviders and a raised dining area to the front,and generous banquettes down one side.Through a doorway is an impressive room with a stain glass roof light,and a large ornate fireplace.The snooker scoring frame gives away the original use,these days there is an odd mixture of seating options.Out the back is a large beer garden.
Food looks a notch up from pub grub with mains £10-14 with lighter bite options ,and the muzak was in keeping with a hipsterish vibe.
There are 4 handpumps drawing on my visit London Pride ,Crate Rye with Magic Rock Hattrick and Inhaler (drinkable,cloudy ,ludicrous short measure and ludicrous £5.10 price).However the main emphasis here is from the 16 craft keg taps delivering all manner of styles from many leading craft brewer such as Siren Craft,Howling Hops,Beavertown,Magic Rock and so on.
I was initially excited to see Magic Rock real ale,but that subsided once I had invested in a pint.My guess is that craft keg is the draw here and there were adverts for a Beer Festival of sour brews at the end of August.Good luck with that,it could be pricey !

On 19th August 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1890 recommendations about 1890 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Great Northern Railway Tavern

Imposing former railway hotel, with an elaborate façade and some heritage features remaining (e.g. metalwork sign above main entrance). Less sure about the authenticity of the snob screens inside, though. Reverse 'J'-shaped bar, with notably large picture windows. Rear function room with a stage reached through a double door with a decorative copper-work motive above. Initially background jazz in bar, later replaced by live music helping to enhance the enjoyable Sunday afternoon atmosphere. Three of four handpumps in operation, with Brains IPA, Woodfordes Wherry and Butcombe Rare Breed (£3.50) available. Close to the station, as you would expect, so worth a stop if passing through.

On 8th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5354 recommendations about 5354 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Great Northern Railway Tavern

Now reopened under new management, with live gigs, in the function room at the back, listed on their website. The pub retains something of the original layout, but the door at the corner of the building and the door labelled "jug & bottle" are both non-functional - red leather benches provide seating where these former entrances once were. The bar has four hand pumps on the section facing the main room. There were three beers on at the time of my visit, which was on a Monday evening an hour before a music session was due to begin. I had Purity Mad Goose, the others were St Austell Tribute and Adnams IPA.

There are snob screens and other remnants of a former design, but whether they are original features of this pub or rescued from elsewhere is hard to say. The bar back has had some mirrored panels replaced by blackboards. The most impressive feature is a sort of bronze relief above the door to the rear room.

It was strange that there were piles of dirty glasses stacked on the bar in the section where I sat - perhaps the washing machine had broken down, because it wasn't at all busy. It was quite pleasant here and I'm glad I came, but I would hesitate to recommend it as a destination pub, unless there's some music on that you're keen to catch.

On 12th April 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2261 recommendations about 2153 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


an_ ecumenical_matter left this review about The Great Northern Railway Tavern

No rating. Looked as it may have re-opened further to the last review but was in total darkness with gates over doors at 1700 when passing by recently.

On 17th January 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 38 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alesonly . left this review about The Great Northern Railway Tavern

Pub closed at present for refurbishment outside was being painted as I passed by on Friday. There was no opening date displayed. It was a good old style Pub lets hope its done up in traditional style and has a few more decent Real Ales when it reopens. I will update this review once I visit on reopening.

On 27th February 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 132 recommendations about 105 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Kake Pugh left this review about The Great Northern Railway Tavern

They do have real ale now, but just the one - Greene King IPA.

On 24th August 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 4 recommendations about 4 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Great Northern Railway Tavern

This is a good looking pub with the bar area housing a pool table on a raised level and I counted four plasma screens that have the capability of showing Sky Sports. There is a larger room towards the rear of the pub which has a plasma screen on the wall behind a small stage area that I would imagine being used for live music nights. Past this room is a small conservatory that leads to a small sunken garden that is full of creepers and entertains a barbeque. There is also a Thai kitchen attached, but I did not try the food so I cannot comment.

There is no real ale and Staropramen is the only offering other than standard draught products. I thought that the barmaid was a little frosty, but the governor seemed polite enough.

I liked it in here and I would return again if in the area.

On 1st September 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3365 recommendations about 3345 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Great Northern Railway Tavern

No real ale on, nor any handpumps offering the possibility of something decent to drink on some future occasion. There are some original features in this Victorian ex-gin palace, but there are no other redeeming features as far as I can see. But, because I needed something to eat I decided to have a half of Stella and a Thai lunch. Got the Stella OK but there didn't seem to be a way to get something to eat other than trying to snag the chef as he hurtled to and from the kitchen with other people's meals. It seems the bar staff play absolutely no part in the food process – it's like having two businesses on the same premises. I suppose that's the way it is now, but losing business because a hungry punter can't get something to eat in a pretty empty pub can't be good for business. I won't be coming back.

On 29th March 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2467 recommendations about 2388 pubs]