User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Hogs Back Taproom - not a pub? with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Gatehouse, Highgate, N6

1 North Hill
N6
N6 4BD
Phone: 02083408054

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Gatehouse

A large open plan pub, my last visit here was a the best part of ten years ago,then it was a spoons,the interior not having changed that much since then.Cask ales were Portobello Home Turf Pale,Reunion Opening Gambit,Truman's Swift, Northcote Blonde and a quite acceptable Dark Star APA.As Tris says worthy of inclusion on a crawl with a decent beer lineup.

On 6th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1344 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Gatehouse

This pub has a history dating all the way back to 1337 but its current incarnation dates from only 1900 and until last month, had been a Wetherspoon's outlet since 1993. I only came here once before and although one of their better operations, it was a Wetherspoon's none the less but is now under the aegis of Urban Pubs & Bars.

I doubt much has changed - the floor is bare boarded where once I'll bet it was carpeted and I suspect a more affluent clientele (this is one of London's richest areas) will be tempted in if the old geezers who stood smoking in the doorways have moved on, put off by a hike in prices and an indecipherable mid-priced Spanish menu.

This is a large pub with garden and wood abounds. The bar apron is tiled and there are some panels with etched mirrors; there's a large fireplace which I hope will be used. Ales: Windsor & Eton Brewery's Windsor Knot, Truman's Zephyr, Hackney Brewery's New Zealand Pale Ale and Golden Ale and Dark Star's Revelation at a very steep £2.40 a half - it was good, but so it should be at this price. My pint of the Zephyr was good and a reasonable £4.10.

Not a bad pub and you can't really miss it on a crawl, but it's not the best in the area.

On 7th April 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 980 recommendations about 965 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Gatehouse (JD Wetherspoon)

Imposing 'Brewer's Tudor' edifice, so much more 'pub-like' than most Wetherspoons (although the decor would give the game away). Partly-opened out inside to leave a large 'L'-shaped bar with some booths and a range of furniture elsewhere. Dining area beyond. Bespoke breakfast and all-day menus. 'Upstairs at the Gatehouse' theatre above. Even allowing for a few duplicates, there was a good selection from 12 handpumps e.g. Whale Ale Ruby Moby at £2.99. Board promoting a 'Suggest a Guest' scheme also noted. Worth a stop if in the area.

On 8th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Gatehouse (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a large landmark pub at the top of Highgate High Street, reputedly the oldest pub in Highgate, which was taken over by Wetherspoons back in 1993. The large building has a sprawling interior with a large carpeted front section with lattice windows, an L shaped servery to the rear and lots of standard table and chair seating filling up most of the space. Some semi partitioned booths run along the front wall, making them quite a cosy spot to nab, enhanced by the dark wood wall panels and old photos of the pub as well as the usual Wetherspoons info boards. The room extends to the right rear where some large pillars break the space up a bit and some more booths run along the side wall with nice mirror and tile strips adding a decorative touch. There is a tidy fireplace at the end of the bar which is quite an unusual original feature in a Wetherspoons, obviously inherited from the pub's previous guise. Further on, you drop down into the dining only area, with signs warning drinkers that they can only proceed if they intend to order food. Here, rows of standard seating run from front to back in a functional, but rather characterless space. The pub has a theatre upstairs and there are one or two nods to this around the pub itself, such as the mini stage curtains on the end of the bar counter.
There are plenty of handpulls here, but with three Spoons regulars doubled up and one pump out of action, there was room for just the three guest ales plus two real ciders. I opted for a pint of Elgoods Cambridge Bitter which was pretty poor. I also tried the food and had an unusually long wait for a reasonable plate of typical 'Spoons grub.
I was looking forward to visiting what I've often seen described as one of Wetherspoons best pubs, but I have to say I was distinctly underwhelmed. Whilst the building is certainly well worth exploring, I was let down by an average beer range and a poor pint. I found that Highgate has plenty of very good pubs and I would probably drop this on from any crawl in the future.

On 19th October 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Gatehouse (JD Wetherspoon)

Seemed to me one of the better Wetherspoon pubs.They had five guest beers on from the fest list. I have often walked past this pub as there is no signage its a Wetherspoon.Too downmarket for Highgate?.

On 16th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Gatehouse (JD Wetherspoon)

This is one of those relatively rare things a Spoons that has always been a pub.

My first ever visit here was some 40 years ago as a Watney's pub, when along with a few other very long haired students we were given a Peggy Mitchell aka "Get outta my pub, go on sling yer 'ook".

No such problem today, it's a fine pub in a superb location perched on the summit of Highgate Hill.

It's expensive for a Spoons, I was charged £2.69 for the Oakleaf May Bee mild (4.6%) but it was in excellent condition.
Having said it's expensive, I wonder what they are charging for a pint of ESB in the nearby flask nowadays.

On 14th June 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alesonly . left this review about The Gatehouse (JD Wetherspoon)

As Ive said before in previous reviews this is one of my favourite Wetherspoon Pubs. I find this is a very good run Wetherspoons as the tables are always cleaned almost as soon as customers are finished. Plus theres always a very good choice of Real Ales on tap that are always in excellent condition whenever Ive been in. The food service and Staff seem very good & fast as well and you cant fault the cost or value for money. I usually walk up here for a Large Mixed Grill & a Few pints when leaving Highgate tube station as theres no real Pubs near the tube station now except one and thats too much like restaurant with table service. So In my opinion this Place is much better more like a traditional Pub with good priced food and good service. I would have no problem recommending this Pub to others.

On 7th February 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 132 recommendations about 105 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Gatehouse (JD Wetherspoon)

A very stunning looking inn perched on the top of Highgate Hill. A welcoming site if you've walked up from the Archway. A comfortable place fully carpeted and good decor, I enjoyed the curry night washed down with some flavoursome Fullers. Might get the bus up next time.

On 24th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Gatehouse (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a Wetherspoons so the ale choice, food deals and availability are exactly what you would expect, although ale prices are (inevitably) higher than what I pay in my Raynes Park local ‘spoons. It’s clearly an original pub from before its JDW days, and although large by normal pub standards, it retains a lot of pub character that is often lacking in Wetherspoons pubs. Inside it’s quite comfortable. There’s plenty of wood panelling, but otherwise the type of decor (black white photos of the area) and furnishings are the JDW norm. A fire was ablaze, with the obligatory couple of armchairs in front of it. But what I particularly liked was the separate dining area, in a lower level, completely wood panelled room at the back. By ‘spoons standards, this was generally more attractive area in which to eat than is usually the case.
All in all this is a pretty decent ‘spoons. It does what it says on the tin, but overall I would say that this one is a lot better than most.

On 18th March 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alesonly . left this review about The Gatehouse (JD Wetherspoon)

This is one of my favourite Wetherspoon Pubs Its a very good run Wetherspoons The tables are always cleaned & cleared of clutter almost as soon as customers are finished. Plus theres a very good choice of Real Ales on tap that are always in excellent condition whenever Ive been in. The Service and Staff seem very good as well and you cant fault the cost or value for money I would have no problem recommending this Pub to others.

On 3rd April 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 132 recommendations about 105 pubs]

Page: 1 2