User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How was it for you? with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Brewhouse & Kitchen, Highbury Corner, N5

Corsica Street
N5
N5 1JJ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

A good example of the own-brew chain, in an interesting old building with plenty of space. The main room of the pub is tabled suitable for dining, but widely used by drinkers also. Lots of woodwork, copper fittings and sundry trimmings give a good feel to the place. At the back is the brewing equipment, with a bar down one side offering 4 of their own beers on handpump, plus a fair selection of keg craft. There is a further bar and function room upstairs and a fair-sized outdoor area at the front.

On 4th December 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2199 recommendations about 2149 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Having enjoyed my more recent visits since this changed to a brew-pub, with a modernised and interesting interior featuring many visible items of brew plant, we were expecting a pleasant pre-gig stop (especially as the were some free seats in the front courtyard on a warm summer evening). However, following what was no doubt a busy World Cup weekend (which would have been in publicans' calendars for years), there were none of their cask ales and just three keg beers on offer: the 'house' Legend Lager, the hugely expensive Tongerlo Blonde from Belgium and another beer that I failed to note. Yes, they really couldn't organise a piss-up in a brewery!

On 15th July 2018 - rating: 3
[User has posted 6086 recommendations about 6086 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Good place with a slope from the beer garden at the front to the main door. Bar on left hand side with four hand pumps and nine keg selections on the wall. Would return if back in the area.

On 24th June 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Located behind more traditional terraced buildings just off Highbury Corner this incarnation of the growing chain is cleverly located in a former tramshed. The main room within the shed has a long bar running along a side wall beyond which towards the rear are situated the brewing vessels, open to the room itself, all labelled with the name of the beer being brewed. There is a distinct industrial feel with exposed ducting and cable trays on the ceiling, exposed brickwork behind the bar and the high tables which line up in front of the bar are divided by tubes and gauges. I also noticed a former of decorative illuminated tree formed from glass bottles. Towards the front a piano has the names of Arsenal players from times past written over it. A room upstairs at the far end is available to hire, obviously not part of the original shed some either an add on or an ancillary building.
All on were their own plus a cider from Orchard Pig which appeared to involve ginger and chilli. They had Astronomer, Romford Pele, Goal Scorer, Raleigh, Illustrator, Tramshed and Winter Warmer.
I quite liked it in here and there was a good buzzy feel with a mix of after work crowd and football fans prior to the evening game at nearby Emirates Stadium.

On 27th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Nice looking building near Highbury & Islington Station, standard B&K layout, including the inset into the table next to the brewery with malt etc inside, wood floor and bench tables. The brewery is at the far end of the room.

The beer quality was very poor, maybe a one off?

On 8th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

This is a microbrewery which had on seven of their real ales - Granita Pact (an India white ale, whatever that is); Illustrator (a black IPA); Pitch Fever (a grapefruit IPA); Astronomer (amber ale); Colonia Estivo (summer rye ale); Romford Pele (golden ale named after Arsenal's ball playing wizard, Ray Parlour); and Goalscorer (session IPA named after Ian Wright who made his name with the mighty Eagles). There was also a cider called Yellowhammer. I had a pint of Astronomer which I thought was pretty good. Burgers and the like were available; I had a New York burger which was around £14.

This is a modern outfitted pub with nothing of heritage interest. But the microbrewery is actually in the pub, which I found quite interesting. There is some outside seating at the front, which was hugely popular on the nice day when I visited. It's a decent enough watering hole, but nothing like a traditional pub.

On 26th August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Eight handpumps, with 7 ales and 1 cider on our visit. We went for the Romford Pale, which was tasteless for a 4.5% beer. The Goalscorer IPA at 4% was by far the better choice. The layout here is very similar to their Angel outlet. We got here around 3pm on a Monday and a board near the entrance read Special Offer Monday, Burger £6, so I ordered the beers and asked for the Monday Special £6 burger, only to be told that you can't get that until 5pm, which was annoying and had to pay full price. Anyway, it was good and Mrs A paid for it, as I was moaning about misleading advertisement.

On 17th June 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

You enter via the outside beer terrace,down some steps entering into a long ,open plan room with the bar running along the left wall.As other have noted,there is a mix of furniture and lots to see,with seperate alcoves along the right side,and the brewing coppers at the rear,with 6 conditioning tanks beyond the bar.The current head brewer recreates a lot of lager styles,hence the conditioning tanks and at least 3 of the house beers will be served from keg taps,on my visit London Calling,No Fly Zone and Peasants Revolt IPA.On keg there are also around 5 guests from far and wide.
There are 8 handpumps offering a real cider and other house brews which on my visit included No 19 Brown Porter,Tramshed,The Goalscorer,Genuiss Stout ,Old Major and Man's Best Friend.I sampled a wide range on a Brewery Experience trip and found everything i tried to be on top form.Food is firmly pub grub,but cooked in an open kitchen towards the rear.
There are no flatscreens,fruit machines or ear splitting music to spoilt the bibulous atmosphere ,and this is the best of this small chain that I have visited.However I was warned that before Arsenal home games this pub can get rammed.A lot of the beer names have Arsenal connections,clues on the pump clips.
The ale quality is dependent on who is head brewer,and if some one moves on ,a new brewer will create ales that have unique recipes,there is no attempt to standardize across the chain.I count myself fortunate that the current incumbent,an Italian called Roberto Basilico was at the top of his game.

On 4th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2058 recommendations about 2058 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Nicely done out inside, lots of dark wood,copper and steel compliment each other, a semi industrial feel is juxtaposed by some old assorted venician blinds suspended from the ceiling adds a little rusticity to the mix.There was seven of there own beers on when I visited just after midday Saturday,plus one Cider, Orchard Pig Ginger and chillie, not for me that one. I decided on one of their keg beers, Peasants Revolt 4.8% and £4.30 in cost, a decent beer to boot. A very nice pub.

On 18th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1327 recommendations about 1313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Highbury Brewhouse & Kitchen

This is the second London based venture from this small chain of brewpubs, following in the footsteps of their other bar a little further down the A1 in Angel. Located in a former tram shed close to Highbury and Islington tube station, this is a large venue with semi-industrial décor of a similar nature to that seen in its sister pub. A long rectangular room with the bar down the left hand wall forms the bulk of the pub, with the bar counter built out of wooden planks whilst the bar back has windows which look down over the adjacent railway line. There are dark floorboards throughout and an eclectic mix of seating options including standard tables and chairs to the right, some of which are behind a low partitioning wall with a stack of board games on top. To the front I spotted a table with an unused fire pit built into it and there was also an upright piano nearby and some display cases full of local produce which was for sale. To the rear there is a high table with a perspex surface underneath which a variety of beer making ingredients can be viewed, although the stools at this table were too high to allow you to get your legs under the table, so I gave up trying to sit here. Various window shutters have been suspended from the ceiling and there are a lot of pipes, valves and gauges running around the room. To the rear is an open kitchen and to the right of that is the brewery, with brew days and beer masterclasses advertised around the room. Blackboards also detailed the brewing process, presumably so you can figure out what the brewers are up to whilst you sample their handiwork. There is a nice paved seating area out at the front of the pub and steps lead up to a balcony area, although it was unclear whether this was open to the public or not. A good soul music soundtrack was playing throughout my midweek evening visit, but I was surprised to find the place pretty quiet, with more customers on the patio than inside.
Six house beers were on handpull - Tramshed, Romford Pele No 19, Brown Porter, Goalscorer, Illustrator and Colonia Estivo. Keg offerings were poured from taps on the bar back and included the likes of Beavertown and Camden. As with their sister pub, the beer quality was excellent and my pint of Brown Porter barely touched the sides.
This is another good pub from this promising chain and a good addition to an area with a mixed bag of drinking options. Whilst not quite winning me over as much as the Angel venue, this is still well worth looking out for and I will doubtless be making a return sooner rather than later.

On 11th August 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2472 pubs]

Page: 1 2