User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Halifax Crawl - 21 June 2024 with Gann on the Pub Forum

Faltering Fullback, N4

19 Perth Road
N4
N4 3HB

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Faltering Fullback

A great looking pub internally as describeed by Ian and Tris below but was left a little disappointed by the average beer selection, Pride, Landlord and Sharps Atlantic, the TT Landlord was OK but at £5.60 a pint I won't be rushing back.

On 13th March 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1907 recommendations about 1880 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Faltering Fullback

On first visit impressions, this is an absolutely cracking pub. Ignored by the 2022 CAMRA GBG in preference for the Brave Sir Robin (later visited), I was only aware of its presence from the London Pubs Facebook Group.

Its slightly off the main road and with all the topiary camouflage, you may not noticed it!

It got something for everyone.... two lovely front bars - with ceiling mounted nick nacks. Looked a proper pub.

Good beer - TT Landlord at an eye watering £5.60 but in great condition. Think London Pride was also on.

Huge sports room with high ceiling, loads of benches, all facing the big screens. Bet its amazine when there is a big game on. As you would expect, Rugby.

Go involved in a long and interesting conversation with a local pub enthusiast.

Everything was pleasant about my visit. Would love to come back.

On 19th January 2022 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1361 recommendations about 1346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Faltering Fullback

Built in the mid-19th century as the Sir Walter Scott, the exterior sports a good surviving example of a red and gold illuminated Courage box sign, just visible projecting from the foliage.
Inside, and it’s clearly an Irish pub with a rugby theme, hence the name. The interior is well described and photographed on CAMRA’s heritage website (likewise the pub’s own), for this has an interior of Regional Importance. There’s a fantastic field panelled ceiling from which a multitude of knickknacks dangle, a bit like the interior of the Hemingford; Daniel Radcliffe has filmed here too. There are framed prints to the walls, as well as framed rugby shirts.
The front bar is essentially a very attractive place to drink or should be. The problem here is that, as mentioned, it’s very dark in here with light mainly coming from the TV as well as the illuminated fisheyes affixed to the forest of unattractive drinks’ founts, like giant chrome stalagmites rising from the bar, partially obscuring the view of the barman. Further light comes from candles stuck into JD bottles on each of the exclusively high tables.
The next room has furniture of conventional height, where lighting is less dazzling due to the lack of a TV and fewer fisheyes. Beyond, is a very large room, a bit like a canteen or refectory with open kitchen but otherwise quite plain, where live music is played.
What I really wanted to explore though, was the garden, which is one of London’s most famous, having the nickname of the ‘Ewok Village’ – it’s a bit like a sketch by M. C. Escher: you walk up to one level, walk down to another, then up two and so on; it’s real maze but worth the effort; waiters navigated it with aplomb, despite carrying trays of Thai food.
A rather ordinary ale range though at least three, with Sharp’s Atlantic, Pride and Landlord, on good form but at a painful £5.50.
This is certainly worth a visit if only to admire the garden, but the lighting in the otherwise lovely front bar makes it a place where I wouldn’t want to linger; one for the summer months, perhaps.

On 6th September 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2030 recommendations about 1995 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Faltering Fullback

The Faltering Fullback is also my favourite pub close to Finsbury Park train station and I have utilised it several times for the rugby and especially for watching the Saracens when they have a televised game that I don’t have tickets for.
The front bar areas and the “Sin Bin” have been well described by previous reviewers but the wonderful courtyard outback needs additional praise. As Steve says below it is indeed a triumph of terraced design in how to fit the most outside garden seating into the smallest available space and when I staggered post game into it blinking from the internal darkness of the no natural light Sin Bin, every nook and cranny, ledge table and chair was being utilised on this post Saturday lunchtime.
The three available beers on for my last visit were the usual London Pride, then Sharps Atlantic and a very quaffable Trumans Swift.
The Faltering Fallback is a good pub for the Rugby and it’s a good pub for when the suns out in Finsbury Park. And when the two collide, it’s a really good pub.

On 31st May 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2171 recommendations about 2043 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Faltering Fullback

A decent looking pub with a front door at it's apex,the name refers to rugby rather than football.The front door leads to the tap room full of ephemera with a horseshoe shaped bar and a few tables and chairs,it can get cramped around the bar when busy due to regulars blocking on bar stools.The three handpumps here were serving London Pride,Sharp's Atlantic and Truman's Swift (fair condition) .There were a few keg taps,but not much out of the ordinary.
There are two wings ,the left side with some wood panelling but no windows,while to the right through a door way is a back bar with it's own servery and an ornate bar back.A lot of original features remain,and I enjoyed the authentic feel.At the rear on this side is a vast back room called The Sin Bin and this is where televised sport will be shown on a drop down screen,while a pool table operates when the sport isn't on.There is also a small flatscreen in the tap room,screening the same event.The Sin Bin has a high ceiling,very basic and extremely noisy when busy.
The pub is popular with young drinkers and bouncers were searching bags and making sure of good behaviour on my Saturday evening visit.Go at a quieter time if you want to enjoy the decent interior .Although the ale range was pedestrian it's a lot better than many pubs this close to Finsbury Park.This is my favourite in the area.

On 15th April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2773 recommendations about 2773 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Faltering Fullback

There were a couple of ales on – London Pride, and Truman’s Swallow and Swift (£1.80 a half). There was no sign of food or menus when I was in on Saturday afternoon.

Judging by the external signage, this was apparently originally a Courage pub called the Sir Walter Scott. The exterior is also now almost completely covered in ivy (plus a few flowers) that is encroaching on the windows thus making it a bit gloomier than it ought to be. The interior is unchanged since the previous reviewer’s visit. The front of the pub is a wedg e shaped bar, still with all manner of stuff hanging from the ceiling – such aspush bikes, model aeroplanes, a washboard, a birdcage, and what looked like didgeridoo! There are only tall tables and tall stool in this bar, but behind here is another room with some standard tables and chairs. This in turn leads to a large room at the back called the “sin bin” – presumably a sporting reference. This room is what I would guess is regarded as the sport room as it had the pool table, and maybe there was a dartboard lurking in the shadows (it was mightily gloomy in here – daylight could be a major distraction) but I didn’t see it.

There was no sport on when I was in on Saturday afternoon, but I’m certain sport is still a major player here, judging by the scarves hanging from the ceiling as well as other sporting memorabilia around the place. It’s fairly shabby in a comfortable sort of way, and I wouldn’t mind dropping in here again if I was in the area.

On 4th August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2606 recommendations about 2520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Faltering Fullback

As the name would suggest this pub is the place to go and watch the rugby in the area and fortunately for me my recent visit coincided with a Six Nations afternoon match. The pub was heaving with a boisterous yet harmless crowd and there was a great atmosphere, I just wished that I could have stayed longer to watch the England game.

The main pub area is split into three sections with the main bar area at the front of the pub. There are all kinds of strange objects hanging from the ceiling including old bikes, bird cages, old telephones, a Victorian looking child’s toy pram and I also spotted a trumpet. This area was heaving with people watching the game on the TV up in the corner of the pub. To the left of this bar there is a small seating area and to the right there is a public bar which leads to a very big room at the rear which was packed with more people watching the game on another screen. The door at the rear of this room leads to a courtyard that seems nothing special at first glance, but I have to say that it is the most impressive terracing I have seen and I think that whoever designed it has utilised all of the space provided perfectly.

There are three hand pumps in the public bar and I think that there is also another in the front bar, but only Pride was on one pump and the others didn’t look like they were ever used. Staropramen, Leffe and Hoegarden were also available alongside a selection of standard draught products from which I had a decent pint of Guinness from a friendly barmaid.

The inclusion of only Pride will put some people off and I have to admit that I’m a little surprised as the rugby crowd are well known for their love of ale, but I would still return if in the area.

On 26th March 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5319 recommendations about 5287 pubs]