User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Hogs Back Taproom - not a pub? with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The White Swan, Whitechapel, E1

21 Alie Street
E1
E1 8DA
Phone: 02077020448

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The White Swan

Once a traditional narrow bar but now also expanded into more modern premises next door with the bar counter running between the two rooms. Similar furniture and decoration in both parts so much less difference inside than one might expect. As a Shepherd Neame house, I found Master Brew, the original Spitfire (£4.55) and Whitstable Bay Pale as the choices from a total of eight handpumps.

On 21st September 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The White Swan

A single but divided one room Sheps pub, basicly decorated ,I found rather austere. Despite boasting ten handpumps only three ales were available,Spitfire,Whitstable Bay and Master Brew, the latter being no great shakes.
This pub did little for me.

On 9th August 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1344 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The White Swan

The original pub has clearly expanded into the modern building next door, effectively doubling its size. There was a mix of seating types, including a fair few high tables. Wood flooring and some wood panelling to the walls, decor includes B&W photos of the area and City and a series of pictures of some Scotsman messing around with golf clubs. There is a TV in the newer side, showing some news channel yesterday with subtitles, while background music played. I saw a sign advising of additional seating upstairs but I didn't take a look. Food looked to be good value basic fare such as sandwiches, burgers, soup and sausage and mash.
Shepherd Neame beers, Spitfire, Kents Best and Whitstable were on. Cheery service and a bit of a buzz about the place but the pub certainly doesn't stand out from the crowd.

On 25th September 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The White Swan

Was on my way from the Dispensary to the Hoop and Grapes and thought I’d pay a visit to the White Swan as I hadn’t been in before. Fairly inoffensive Shep Neame pub set up to service local office workers, especially as I noticed it is not open at the weekend. Internally two areas with a crème and burgundy colour scheme, leather seating in the right hand area and half wood panelled with window seating in the left.
Three hand pumps on the main bar area with the usual SN brews of Master Brew, Spitfire and Early Bird, and the Early Bird was in good nick.
Comfortable enough pub but nothing memorable about the place and can’t help agreeing with the previous comment about it being largely characterless. Won’t be bothering to detour again when in the area and I’ll leave this one for the local workers.

On 5th June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1704 recommendations about 1653 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The White Swan

Basic, ok Sheps pub near Aldgate. Beer is ok, though as you may expect rather Southern in distribution.

On 11th October 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James London left this review about The White Swan

Typically Shep's. Worth breezing through if you're in the area.

On 6th August 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 17 recommendations about 17 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The White Swan

Not a bad little place (‘little’ being the operative word) that I popped into on a whim during my crawl of the City hinterlands. The Shepherds Neame beers were fine - three in total (I think) plus the Oranjeboom lager which is unsurprising given the small size of the place and its 'off the beaten track' quality. The interior was clean and orderly, with a slant towards the faux-Victorian in terms of nik-naks and stylings. The punters were mainly office workers, though less annoying than the City average stereotype. I found it relatively busy (although I was in there at the fag-end of Friday lunchtime) so getting a seat was tough. Note that this place (like a number of City pubs) is not open on weekends.

Not a bad place - worth a stop if passing but it's hard to get too excited by it.

On 9th February 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The White Swan

This is a Shepherd Neame pub, with the usual range on offer – plus a porter, which you don't see everywhere. The service was fine. A not unpleasant, although unusual, smell of coffee pervaded the pub. I also found this pub to be smart and clean, but rather characterless, and more like a wine bar or hotel bar than a pub. I have no gripe with the place; it does do some decent beer after all. It's just that I prefer somewhere a little less clinical. But don't let me put you off - I have been to many worse places in the City.

On 6th February 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The White Swan

The White Swan is a decent looking pub on the left side,the pub is a short walk from Algate East tube.
Once inside the pub was quite nice in my opinion with part carpeted and the newer side bare boarded,the seating was fairly comfortable and the pub was fairly quiet on my Thursday dinner visit.
This pub is a Shepherd Neame tied house and there were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Master Brew which was a really nice drink the other beers were Spitfire and a seasonal.
I always enjoy going in Shepherd Neame pubs and i found this pub to be quite nice.

Pub visited 10/2/2005

On 10th February 2005 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]