User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

The White Hart, Whitechapel, E1

1 Mile End Road
E1
E1 4TP
Phone: 02077902894

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about The White Hart

Imposing Victorian building on a road junction, heftily modernised but retaining good character. There is one large room with scrubbed tables and wooden chairs, albeit with slightly dubious orange seating round the periphery. There is also an upstairs bar signed (not visited). As mentioned previously, originally the home of the One Mile End brewery before it relocated to Tottenham but it still carries their beers (mainly on keg) as well as a good range of draught ales from smaller breweries both local and from further afield. A friendly barman volunteered tasters and a CAMRA discount without being prompted.

On 15th March 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1737 recommendations about 1698 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The White Hart

Definitely worth a visit for their One Mile End beers, which unfortunately are brewed elsewhere now. I went for the One Mile End, Jazz Police, which was a unfined 6.3% pale. Also tried was the Cambrinus Deliverance, which was another good beer. Six pumps, with five ales and one cider.
The service was good and friendly.

On 2nd April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2737 recommendations about 2737 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The White Hart

Fine-looking corner pub, with various decorative features on both facades. However, the interior has been remodelled and furnished in a gastro-pub style (although three substantial columns remain to give a hint of the past). Pleasantly light inside due to the extensive window area. Also has a fair number of small tables out on the pavement. As a brew-pub, there were eight of their beers on the keg taps plus five more One Mile End ales from the six handpumps (with the other offering a Seacider cider). I went for the cask Hospital Porter (£4.00) which proved to be a decent pint. Worth seeking out.

On 15th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5406 recommendations about 5406 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The White Hart

I was impressed with this brew pub.A high ceiling Victorian interior with one large room,there are fine columns throughout,an original Truman's mirror on the back wall and some etched glass around a side door.The furniture is also traditional wooden with some comfortable banquettes.Being close to the Royal London Hospital ,expect a lot of nurses to be liberally distributed inside,and most punters were under 30,although more mature drinkers are welcome,there is a 10% CAMRA discount.
At the end of the room there is an open kitchen churning out good quality bar snacks and pub grub.The One Mile End Brewery is located on the premises and the 6 handpumps were drawing their Hospital Porter (decent),Temperance Session,Great Tom MILD,Salvation Pale (a classic quaffing golden ale,top quality,£3.60 with discount) and a real cider,with one pull unused.There will also be a lot of house output on keg,on my trip Snakes Alive DIPA,Snakecharmer IPA,Tinkers Cuss,Ancho Cocoa Stout,Citrus Crush Saison and a few guest keg beers.A fine selection,likely to rotate depending on what they are currently brewing but always interesting.
The atmosphere on a Friday evening was buzzy without being oppressive and service behind the bar was efficient.A large group of us tried a wide range of beers,enjoyed the bar snacks and all concluded that this pub was on the list for a revisit.

On 25th February 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1908 recommendations about 1908 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about The White Hart

A large Victorian corner pub , inside its a high ceilinged single room affair, it felt a little gastro to me, plenty of seating available for eating and drinking, there also seemed to be a takeaway service from the kitchen in evidence. Six hand pumps on the bar with five in operation on my visit, two from Redemption Brewery, Trinity and Hopspur,the remaining three were from the in house brewery One Mile End,these being Salvation Pale Ale, Temperance Session Ale and Hospital Porter, the bar man happily provided tasters and I settled for the Salvation at 4.4% costing £4.00 a pint, a little hazy but tasting fine. A decent pub and would be prepared to give it another go.

On 5th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1186 recommendations about 1175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The White Hart

An imposing Victorian street corner edifice which has been well and truly stripped out inside to the bare bones. Bare boarded floor, typical high ceiling, modern looking bar, large tables fill the floor area which remains partially divided by a row of substantial circular columns. The windows are all now clear glass with the exception of a remaining bit of etched stuff in an entrance lobby. There a few pub mirrors dotted about, a large Truman's example being the star of the show as well as others from generally defunct breweries, Watney's, Whitbread and Drybrough's. The walls have a few old local street nameplates from the locality but otherwise there is minimal decoration.
The main draw here is the pub's own in-house brewery, One Mile End although unfortunately only one of their brews was available on cask at the time of my visit yesterday. This was Cascara, described as a coffee-cherry wheat beer, I wasn't going anywhere near that, the only other brews were on keg which is not really to my taste, Rye IPA, Salvation Pale Ale, Temperance Session Ale being examples. Three handpumps were reverse clipped leaving a "choice" of Redemption Rock the Kasbek or a cider from Dorset Dabinett. I took the Hobson's choice, £4.50 for a 4% local beer, really not on in my book and we are not exactly in the West End here. I had a bit of a whinge but after all it isn't the barman's fault.
They do food, listed on various chalkboards, Dexter steak, kidney and One Mile End ale pie with swede and parsnip mash is apparently 13. French onion soup and gruyere croutons is 6. I presume they mean pounds.
I was looking forward to dropping in here while following a walking route around East London but I left feeling disappointed and short-changed, literally.

On 13th March 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1677 recommendations about 1654 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The White Hart

Occupying a prominent corner site on the busy Whitechapel Road, close to the overground station, this is a smartly presented pub with its own in-house micro brewery. The corner doors and porch have been converted into a snug of sorts, so you have to enter through the door on the front wall which takes you into a bare boarded room with the servery running down the right hand side. The bar is fairly unremarkable, with a high, arched mirror bar back and an open kitchen visible at the far end. Padded banquettes run along the front wall, from where some good people watching can be enjoyed, but the majority of the room was filled with standard tables and chairs and the odd low stool here and there. A row of support pillars run down the centre of the room, which breaks things up a little and the left side has been decorated with quite a sizable collection of potted plants, plus a large upended cask. Perhaps the most visually arresting item is the huge Truman, Hanbury and Buxton mirror on the back wall, although there are plenty of other pictures and items of breweriana dotted around. I spotted at least one TV screen - turned off on this visit in favour of a particularly drab soundtrack.
There were just the four handpulls in action on this visit, with two of their own 'One Mile End' brews available - Rye Mild and Rudolph Rocker - plus a guest of Fullers Wild River and a real cider. Two more pumps remained unused. The keg selection was much more extensive and offered lots more One Mile End brews which the friendly barmaid helpfully guided me through before I decided which beer to try. In the end, I ended up with the Rye Mild, which I thoroughly enjoyed and thought was in fine condition. Having read some of the comments below, I wonder if a reduced cask ale range has had a positive effect on quality or whether I just got lucky.
I was quite interested to see what this place had to offer since it became a brewpub and I left feeling suitably impressed. It might not be the most interesting pub in which to spend your time, but I was pleased with the beer and would be very keen to try some more of their brews. A good addition to the local scene.

On 26th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2269 recommendations about 2269 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The White Hart

This was the flagship pub in the small Murphy's pub chain back in the 1970s-1980s. They had their own brewery called Godsons based initially in Clapton followed by Bow then a merger with Chudley before closing in 1987. My recollection of their beers were that they were nowhere near as good as the better ones of the 70 or so microbreweries now operating in Greater London, so I was very keen to see what was coming out of their cellar brewery which is now called the White Hart brew pub brewery.
My very distant and vague recollection of this pub was that it was very old and had lots of Victorian features. It seems to have been completely modernised consisting of a long single bar with clear glass windows, a wooden floor and modern mirrors behind the bar. It all seems geared up to attract the so-called hipsters, although the lunchtime trade certainly didn't match that description. On the busy Mile End Road pavement outside there is a small patio.
If I could remember what it was like twenty years ago I may have resented the new look but it seemed OK to me today. I certainly wouldn't call it a gastro-pub.
There are six handpumps of which one was turned and another was wasted with the boring London Pride.
This left four devoted to White Hart beers, Second Half at 3.5%, Dart 18 at 3.9%, Sweet Porter at 4.4% and Hoppy IPA at 5.5%.
I tried three of the four and the Second Half was in very good nick, but was an undistinguished cooking bitter, unsurprising as it was meant to be linked to the pointless and tedious Footbore World Cup.
The Sweet Porter was not all that sweet, but I had a nagging doubt all the way down the pint as to how fresh it was.
The Hoppy IPA was frankly poor, it was hazy and well past its best.
Sadly the beer quality let this place down for me. The other lunchtime beer drinkers were all on rubbish global lagers.

On 13th June 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2119 recommendations about 2114 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The White Hart

The micro-brewery mentioned by a previous reviewer is now up and running, and when I was in there on Tuesday evening they had on three White Hart ales – an Irish Stout; a 5% IPA; and a 4.3% Brown Ale. I had a pint of the Brown Ale, at around £3.30 a pint, which tasted fine but went a bit flat quite quickly. There were also a couple of Fuller’s ales on – London Pride of course, and Bengal Lancer, plus mulled wine at £4 a glass. Food is a big player here, and although I didn’t see a menu, I did spot one chap chomping his way through a pile of mussels.

This old Victorian corner-site pub has been largely gutted now, some of said gutting having been done in recent years. But the cast iron capitalled pillars still range down the centre of the room, and there’s still a bit of etched glass in the “Saloon Bar” doors in a small vestibule on the left. A Really nice Truman’s mirror has pride of place on a wall at the end of the room, but the bar counter looks almost brand new. Furnishings are the usual mix of sofas and standard basic wooden tables and chairs.

I would be very happy to give this one another shot sometime to give the White Hart Brewery’s other ales a try.

On 12th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2478 recommendations about 2399 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The White Hart

large trad pub with 4 tv screens. Free house but they had 4 fullers beers on. The Wild river was in good nick. They have a micro brewery in the basement which should be producing its first beer in the next couple of weeks. Mulligans brewery named after the landlord. Worth a revisit soon.

On 21st June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 886 recommendations about 874 pubs]

Page: 1 2