User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Kings Stores, E1

14 Widegate Street
E1
E1 7HP
Phone: 02072474089

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Metropolitan Pub Co (Greene King)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Kings Stores

Situated in a charmingly Dickensian enclave of east London, this pub was rebuilt for Whitbread in 1902. I came here once about 10 years ago after a long walk in the scorching weather so plumped for a pint of ice cold mineral water!
A return the other night and it's clear that the more traditional pub of old has been opened out into a rather modern 3-screen sports bar where you can also eat.
The interior has a modern bare boarded floor and all-round bare brick with a tubular steel shelf rack with some modern white tiling. Furniture is quite tall in the main bar area but the rear is more geared towards eating with back-to-back upholstered banquette seats, the rear-facing ones meaning that you can't see the dining room's TV football despite being unable to escape from the noise. Customers seem to be mainly male and very exuberant, the overall ambience being a little wearing.
Ales: five pumps with my half of Truman's Swift coming in at a very pricey £2.55 though fine.
Overall, the place reminds me a bit of a student union bar which may be explained by the large student residential block across the road.
I don't envisage a return visit as the far superior William's Ale & Cider House is across the road.

On 16th April 2019 - rating: 3
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Kings Stores

Large open plan pub, beer heavy, lots of space for standing rather than seating, probably suits its location on the edge of the city

On 1st October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


. Wittenden left this review about Kings Stores

Neat and tidy plain pub close to Liverpool Street Station. At my noontime visit on a warm June Saturday it was quiet:doubtless if I'd arrived later in the day I'd have found it differently.An excellent pint of Bedlam Benchmark was taken.

On 1st July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 243 recommendations about 242 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Kings Stores

This rather gloomy Greene King pub was notably quieter than many of the other pubs in the vicinity on my recent Sunday evening visit. The pub is decked out in plenty of dark wood, with a central corridor splitting the room into two distinct areas – a formal seating area to the left with lots of standard tables and chairs ideal for diners and a more open plan bar area to the right with the servery on the back wall. Both areas were notably devoid of any particular decorative touches, except for a few black and white photos on the bare brick walls, and the spacious nature of the bar area with its minimal seating options meant that it all felt rather soulless on such a quiet evening. Stairs in the middle of the pub lead up to a first floor restaurant which I didn’t get round to exploring, but I didn’t see anyone heading up there throughout my stay – indeed, it may have been closed on a Sunday.
There were four beers on handpull, including an IPA from a London microbrewery which I decided to order a pint of. Unfortunately, my request for a pint of IPA was a little too unspecific, as the barman went off and duly poured me a pint of the Greene King IPA instead! I only realised what was happening at the point he was topping my pint up, so I regrettably had to put up with this uninspiring brew, which was at least in reasonably good condition. To make matters worse, after five minutes or so I discovered that the stage times of the gig I was going to in Camden that night had been brought forward, so I had to pretty much down the pint before rushing off for the tube.
I thought this was a fairly unremarkable pub that certainly didn’t come across in the best light on an unusually quiet evening. The whole circumstances of my visit didn’t help matters either, but I saw enough to realise that one visit was enough for me. If you want to try a Greene King pub in this part of town, the nearby Williams Ale House is a far better bet.

On 22nd August 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Kings Stores

perfectly reasonable pub - geared to the after worker crowd. Decent selection of local ales for a greene king house....

Came as it was in the GBG. Probably wouldnt go out of my way to come again. All very typical.

On 6th October 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Kings Stores

As described by Hondo.Reasonable back street pub with a house beer,GK-ipa and Knight of the garter.Busy.

On 20th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Kings Stores

A pub that is split into 2 halves. One half for dining and the other half for drinking. Up to 5 real ales on with a good local flavour. Hackney nz blond £3.95 a pint

On 22nd February 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Kings Stores

Hidden away in a backstreet, this former Greene King house has now been rebranded as a "Pub & Dining" establishment which will give you a good idea of what to expect. The sparsely decorated interior has been partly opened out, with limited seating in the front part but more tables towards the rear. Five handpumps on the counter, with Truman's Swift, London Fields Hackney Hopster, fff Moondance, Nethergate Night Boat stout (£3.90) and something with dark humour called Ripper's Tipple. Noticeably efficient staff.

On 18th April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Kings Stores

Interior as described by Malden man below. 5 real ales and food served.

On 18th November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Kings Stores

There's not much to add to the review below. The important thing about this pub is that Greene King have transferred it to its "Real Pubs" subsidiary, resulting in a wider range of ales being avilable. This is obviously a good thing for real ale drinkers, but one does wonder what motivates a large brewer like this one to go down this road.

The pub itself is a largely characterless, but functional affair. There are better pubs nearby, but they're not so good when you can't get in them for the crowds. This one met our needs the other evening, and I thought the Truman Runner was in top notch condition. It's a handy bolt hole from the throngs around nearby Liverpool Street.

On 28th January 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]

Page: 1 2