User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

King Edward VII, Stratford, E15

47 Broadway
E15
E15 4BQ
Phone: 02085342313

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about King Edward VII

Grade II-listed, this is an early 18th century pub which I visited once around 20 years ago. It also has a CAMRA Interior of Some Regional Importance and until 1914, was called The King of Prussia, probably renamed in response to the outbreak of World War I.
I certainly recall a very attractive pub with an atmospheric interior and would return if in the area, which is now exceedingly unlikely.

On 29th October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about King Edward VII

The ale selection here was uninspiring to put it mildly - London Pride (undrinkable but readily exchanged), Doom Bar and GK IPA. They do food at weekday lunchtimes, but the kitchen ddn't open until 1.0 PM when I was in there last Wednesday. Several people came in at around 12.30 but left straightaway when they were told they couldn't get anything to eat. But the menu looked OK - the burger is £7.95; the cod & chips and steak & ale pie are £10 - £11.

The pub seems unchanged from previous reviewers' visits. The bar in the front has some hard wooden settles and standard furnishings, with the Saloon Bar at the back being more comfortably furnished. The apparently now unused corridor on the right leading to the Saloon Bar still has very nice Victorian tiling, plus there is still a fair bit of etched and cut glazing in the paneling separating the corridor from the main bar.

This could, and perhaps should, be a very good pub as it's full of traditional pub character, but the lack of a decent ale selection counts against it in my eyes.

On 7th August 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about King Edward VII

Bar and saloon that is bigger than first appears with a split level interior serving 4 real ales and food.

On 18th November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about King Edward VII

A 19th century Grade II listed pub with a lovely front bar and some attractive side corridoor tile work. Situated over two levels, the front bar has heavy wood panelling, wooden flooring and low ceilings. The elevated back room is more modern in appearance with a real fire on the go. Four ales available, relatively safe choices but I was more than happy with the state of my St Austell Tribute (no sign of the “Eddie’s Best” house ale). There’s also apparently a good wine list if that sort of thing floats your boat. Customers were generally on the younger, trendier side. Music was a bit over-loud for Saturday evening though at least the choices were better than average. It seemed like a friendly place and I can see why it’s so popular; let’s hope the forthcoming Olympics don’t ruin it. This one is worth popping in to sample.

On 24th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about King Edward VII

Beer range much reduced on a recent visit, just Tribute, Bombardier and I think Pride. No sign of Eddie's Best. The destruction of Stratford continues apace, now featuring the cultural barbarism that is the Westfeld shopping precinct. The Eddie still manages to tick most of the boxes, and is about the only worthwhile reason to visit the area now. Let's hope it survives the Olympian depredations of 2012.

Feb 2010 review:
The Eddie is not quite what you expect in a town centre like Stratford, where the destruction wreaked by the developers has far surpassed anything the Luftwaffe ever managed. Maybe it's that the Eddie was formerly called the King of Prussia - some still call it the Prussian - that kept the bombs away.

Anyway the front bar at least has barely changed in decades, the low beams and open fires are still there, and a strangely low serving counter. Further back up a few stairs the rear rooms have suffered more at the hands of the pub designers and it is all a little too gastropubised for my tastes.

The beer however is definitely to my taste, there's usually a decent range though perhaps not as wide as their website suggests, but you're bound to find something you fancy.

On 10th December 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 488 recommendations about 480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aric Duvalis left this review about King Edward VII

Lovely old English pub! beautiful architecture inside. YES! They have the Scrumpy Jack Cider!

On 31st March 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 8 recommendations about 8 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about King Edward VII

Interesting pub with lots of character both inside and out, and plenty of original features in the lounge and saloon bars. The 'house' Eddie's Best from Nethergate Brewery was excellent. Busy, but not heaving, and a reasonable atmosphere. Given its location on Stratford's charmless gyratory system, opposite the equally unappealing shopping centre, it is almost verging on the remarkable...

On 12th June 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ALFRED COCHRANE left this review about King Edward VII

This is a lovely little two bar pub,its sell some lovely real ales,from the Nethergate Brewery,and as one ale (EDDIES)brewed especially for it,the other ales are changed every two weeks,I tried a very good pint of bombardier,and then went to the salon bar ,where the barman seeing my delema at what to have gave me a free sample of Eddie ale,which was half a pint,and it when down a treat,folowed by a few more.Theres some very cosy sofas,but being old school I found a stool by the bar,There is a food menu which looked a little expensive.but I did not try anything so I really cant comment on the quality,All the staff where genuinley friendly.smart,and polite.a lot different to so many oyhers in this area, well worth a visit

On 4th December 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 19 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about King Edward VII

The front bar is far more evocative & representative of the pub , rather than rear dining area. Front section has stone tiling, wooden furniture, windows to street, but is softly lit & has darkly atmospheric feel as you enter, I wrote Dickensian but it's actually 1913. I know! & I'd only had 2 pints at this point. Rear right continues the woody feel and here you find leather chesterfield sofa & chairs, something of the feel of a gentleman's club, beyond this to scrubbed wood tables in restauarant & more leather chairs to rear. Bar menu included Saus&mash £8, Vension Burger £9, Duck Cassoulet £12. Wine of the week Collet de Bovis, Bellet, sounded steep at £20 but it can retail at £15 (cuvee de Mathilde). You can witness the gamut of Stratford life in the short but circular walk from the station, or take advice from another reviewer & take a taxi to ‘avoid contact with Stratford', - it's cosmopolitan, but not as we know it, hahaha!
Anyway, Bombardier, Wooden Hand Cornish Mutiny, Tribute, all £2.80, or Nethergate Eddie's Best (pres.IPA) £2.60. Bit of a drag out here for a one-pubber, but we combined it with Pembury (8mins Stratford to Hackney Central) & Carpenters/PrideofSpitalfields (6mins Hackney Downs to Bethnal Gr BR).

On 25th November 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]