User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with london calling on the Pub Forum

Ye Olde Rose & Crown, Walthamstow, E17

55 Hoe Street
E17
E17 4SA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Ye Olde Rose & Crown

This is another good pub in Walthamstow. The ales on were Fuller's seasonal Red Fox, Doom Bar, Tring Pelican, Elgood's Saturday Night Fever, and Crouch Vale Amarillo. That's a pretty good showing.

It's essentially unchanged since Ray's visit last year, being a down to earth and honest pub. I like the leaded light windows, even if they are a modern addition - maybe someone will visit in a hundred years and see them as a heritage feature. The single storey room on the right must be a later addition, as inside at the back of it is a mosaic floor with the name of the pub as well as some original tiling. This has to have been an original entrance to the pub. Where we sat there were some paintings on the wall, which were clearly for sale as there was a price (£300) under one of them.

This is a comfortable and friendly pub selling good beer. That works for me.

On 28th October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Ye Olde Rose & Crown

A good traditional pub with a choice of six hand pulled ales. The manageress was friendly and chatty and told us the history of the pub and was also proud of adding stain glass panels over the main front windows, a couple of years ago. She also added that they have run the pub now for eight years and that she is proud of her well kept ales. I noticed a nice collection of various pump clips, amalgamating along the back walls. We sat at the bar on some 80s style barstools and had a great view of the high street and beyond as you are on top of a hill. Beers tried were Brecon Brewing Welsh Beacons and Elland Lucky Dip.

On 23rd February 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Ye Olde Rose & Crown

Ye Olde Rose and Crown is a nice looking Victorian pub that is situated in the middle of Walthamstow.
Once inside there is a large L shaped room with the bar facing,there is a large raised area to the front right,the seating is a mix of normal tables and chairs and a few pew type seats.
There was a very good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Trumans Best Bitter which went down well,the other brewery beers i noted were from Flipside and Crouch Vale,there were many more beers on the bar.
This was a really nice pub to end my Walthamtsow crawl in.

Pub visited 21/3/2015

On 21st March 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Ye Olde Rose & Crown

First time to visit this impressive, large Victorian pub and theatre in the heart of Walthamstow and very difficult to improve on some of the excellent descriptions already provided. It wasn’t so busy for my early Saturday afternoon visit and the raised area to the right of the entrance was actually being used for a clothes sale. Not the type of thing that attracts me to a pub but it was pulling a few non drinking vistors in and any misconceptions I may have had over this evaporated as I approached the bar.
It looks like they are continuing to add to the impressive pump clip collection with a good range of changing ales and for my visit all six pumps were in operation dispensing Deverels Tall Hot Blond, Cottage Brewery Cyclops, Cornwall Coastal Brewery Golden Hind, Bowman Moo Moo, Eland Brewery Old School and a craft lager in the form of the Viennese from Wharf Bank, and the couple I tried were in top form.
Didn’t really have high hopes of this one but well exceeded expectations and was a good venue to kick off a crawl from Walthamstow Central station.

On 22nd December 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1704 recommendations about 1653 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Ye Olde Rose & Crown

This is an impressive, large Victorian pub and theatre in the heart of Walthamstow. The place has obviously undergone a lot of alterations over the years, but there are still a few interesting old features that make it well worth a look. The front part of the pub has a raised seating area under the windows, offering lots of standard tables and chairs and there is a similarly furnished space to the right in a cosy looking corner with a small stove in a fireplace on the end wall. A long servery runs along the back wall before turning 90 degrees and running further to the right rear. Here you can see evidence of previous layouts, as a large section of dividing wall remains here, creating a very narrow, squeezed space next to the bar with some nice stained glass set in a panel above. On the other side of this wall, there is a remarkable porch-like space with a Rose and Crown mosaic floor and bright glazed tile walls. Beyond is a split level rear seating area with lots more standard seating, a few old pews and a battered sofa in a part carpeted, part vinyl floored room. A sprawling collection of pump clips run from the bar on to the back of the room, passing some bookshelves and a bucket full of kid's toys on the way before finally reaching what appears to be a stage of sorts, ideal for the live music that the pub hosts. Pop music played fairly loudly on my Friday evening visit but there was a large crowd in who created a good atmosphere on their own.
The pub puts on a good range of ales and the choice on this visit was from Elgoods Light Bees, Robinsons Citra, Sharps Doom Bar and York Terrier with at least two more pumps unused. A couple of boxes of cider could be seen sat on the bar back as well. I tried the Citra which was in pretty good shape and served to me by one of the efficient barmaids.
I thought this was a lively and enjoyable pub which feels like it's still drink led, despite offering food and a wide range of other forms of entertainment. I liked the unusual features that still remain and would suggest it's probably the best 'traditional' pub in Walthamstow.

On 13th September 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about Ye Olde Rose & Crown

It's clear that they offer quite a bit of entertainment here - one of the seating area's raised and already had a large pair of speakers out at lunchtime. Maybe they just leave them in place? Another curiosity was a pile of kids board games, as well as a wall pretty much covered in old pump clips - they're covering quite a few bases in here.

Six pumps at the bar, although only 4 were clipped this time. The sole barman dealt with our large party's disorganised beer ordering in good humour. That may be because there wasn't much else for him to be doing - the pub was pretty quiet, which is a shame as it's worth a visit.

On 29th January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 291 recommendations about 281 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Ye Olde Rose & Crown

I dropped in here yesterday for day 1 of their beer festival. The only other time I had been here was when it was a keg only Truman's pub. The festival beers were served straight from the cask from somewhere round the back of the pub, so this may not have been the best test for the beer quality, but luckily it was a cold day and the pint of Dark Star Winter Meltdown was well kept. I thought it had a slightly sour note but discovered from the web site that it has spices in the recipe which would account for it.

I would liked to have stopped for a second but was put off by the price. £3.30 is steep when you're used to Spoons prices. It has been said that this is the best pub in Walthamstow, and it probably is, but at the moment there isn't much competition. The Nag's Head is not that far away but the Coppermill is a mile or so away.

This may change when the Bell just up the road re-opens, but I'm not expecting it to be at all cheap.

It is advertised as a Theatre pub, which hopefully attracts extra custom but holds no appeal for me.

On 27th October 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Ye Olde Rose & Crown

Mr Fastard nails the details below.
It's a very large boozer this and it feels it although not in a negative sense. The welcome was warm and the clientele is mixed with a generally friendly and chatty atmosphere.
Beers on four handpumps were Hoggleys Resevoir Hogs, Old Mill Winter Warmer, Triple fff Pressed Rat and Warthog and Windsor and Eton Windsor Knot. The Winter Warmer was in good nick but as all four were rotating guests it's a lottery as to what you'll find.
I wouldn't necessarily make a big detour to return but it'd be my first stop if in Walthamstow.

On 16th December 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Ye Olde Rose & Crown

A very substantial Victorian building situated on Hoe Street,an unfortunate address given the modern vernacular.This is a theatre pub and there are various performers from comics,folk musicians to off broadway plays.
The ground floor bar area has very high ceilings,some wooden booths to the front and a raised area to the right with a mini grand piano and substantial speakers,with bench seating,tables and chairs.The corridor to the somewhat pungent gents has interesting glazed tiling probably an original feature.The rear section has a pool table and a vast collection of board games if you are so inclined.A selection of clothes are on a rail for sale,as are a lot of the paintings that adorn the walls,enterprising if unusual.
The large L shaped bar has a handpump for Thatchers cider and four real ales on our visit with a further handpull unused.My Hoggleys Resevoir Hogs and Old Mill Winter Warmer were both extremely well kept.The pub is part of the SIBA scheme,so the is a constant rotation of guest beers which means you dont know in advance what you might encounter,and my trip coincided with an avarage kind of selection.However quite rightly this pub features in the GBG and it would be my first port of call when in Walthamstow.

On 2nd December 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2086 recommendations about 2086 pubs]