User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Grapes, Limehouse, E14

76 Narrow Street
E14
E14 8BP
Phone: 02079874396

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Grapes

A well kept pub with friendly and helpful staff. The ground floor was narrow with the bar positioned over on the left hand side, beyond this was a small rear room and an even smaller balcony, over looking the Thames. The upstairs housed a small rear restaurant area overlooking the river. Five ales on handhump, we went for the South X Southwest Beer, which was good. A Lord of the Rings figurine of the wizard Gandalf, can be spotted in the rear lounge.

On 8th April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2978 recommendations about 2978 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Grapes

Sir ian mckellan who I believe lives just up the road is involved in the ownership of this riverside pub. Quite a small dark characterful interior spread over 2 floors. 5 real ales and food served.

On 24th October 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2772 recommendations about 2712 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Grapes

My third visit to this pub over the years and well described below in earlier reviews. The beer selection is a little on the ordinary side, TT Landlord, Greene King St Edmonds, Old Speckled Hen , Black Sheep Bitter and Black Wolf ROC, that aside this pubs well worth a visit.

On 2nd August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1383 recommendations about 1369 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Grapes

Another visit to this famous Dickens associated riverside ale house, so high time I added to the list of positive reviews. Not much to add to the descriptions already given except that you also get a good view of the Antony Gormley ‘Another Time’ statue from the small decking terrace at the back.
For me also all five handpumps in operation on this visit and along with the regular Black Sheep and TT Landlord, Adnams Southwold Bitter, Otter Amber and Robinsons Blonde were available. We tried the TT Landlord, Otter and Blonde during our visit and all were well kept.
For me a top historic pub well worth seeking out indeed,and always a good one to start a summers evening stroll back along the Thames path into Liverpool Street.

On 13th October 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1726 recommendations about 1673 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Grapes

Famous riverside 'ale house', with very traditional furniture and decor to suit. Two narrow rooms separated by a compact bar. However, in good weather, and if you can get a seat, the small decking terrace with great views overlooking the Thames is the prime spot. Restaurant upstairs (never visited). All five handpumps in operation on this visit, dispensing the regular Black Sheep and Landlord, plus Adnams Broadside and two beers from Otter - Bitter and Amber. Well worth seeking out.

On 10th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6357 recommendations about 6357 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Grapes

Well, I may as well start with my first review here with a classic pub - The Grapes, Limehouse.

I read about it recently and decided to make a visit. On arrival, I realised I had been in a couple of times before - probably when walking the Thames Path.

Thin pub, reaching back to the Thames. If you go, check out the (non smoking) terrace at the back for some exceptional views. I watched three people spend 30 minutes here without even purchasing a drink. I don't remember the Anthony Gormley figure in the Thames last time I came.

Lovely roaring fire. I wanted to eat - and there are tables that are on a first come/first served basis downstairs with a restaurant upstairs.

Food was good and well priced - but I was served my starter with my main. Perils of dining alone.

Beer was also good - three real ales, marked up on a blackboard. I had the Timothy Taylor landlord, which was in fine nick.

A true classic of a pub and I enjoyed reading about the owner and the patrons on this site.

On 5th December 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 735 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Grapes

The Grapes is one of those famous Thameside pubs that have to be visited.
The pub does not open untill 12 or in my case 12.03,they had lost 5 customers while i waited for it to open.
Once inside there is a long narrow room with the bar on the left side,there were wood bench seating to the front left,with bar stools where the room narrows,there is a small area up a few steps to the rear which has bench seats,but annoyingly you car'nt see the Thames while sat down,there were some steep steps up to the restaurant,these looked dicey when sober,i would not like to go up and down those after a good session.
There were five real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Portobello Star which went down very well,the other beers were Taylor Landlord,Pedigree,Adnams bitter and Doom Bar.
I would like to add my name to the distinguished visitors list to this pub having now done nearly 11000 pubs.
The pub filled up pretty quickly after opening time.
If visiting this pub note that it keeps old type opening hours 12.03 untill 3.30pm then 5.30 till 11.00 during the week,all day at weekends.

Pub visited 19/2/2014

On 19th February 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Grapes

There is something very apt about the fact that this fine historical pub is located on Narrow Street, given the extremely narrow layout encountered upon entering the premises. A plaque on the wall outside notes that there has been a pub on this site since 1583, although the present day building dates from 1720, and it has attracted a fair few distinguished customers over the years including Samuel Pepys who mentions the pub in his famous diary, and Charles Dickens who introduces the pub as The Six Jolly Fellowship Porters in his novel ‘Our Mutual Friend’. Today, the pub’s leaseholder is the actor Sir Ian Mckellan who stepped in after the long standing previous licensee decided to retire. Despite the celebrity associations (the likes of Patrick Stewart, Anthony Gormley, Kirsten Scott Thomas and Sting have been spotted drinking here since Mckellan got involved), the pub has very few pretensions and offers a classic traditional London drinking experience.
The front room has bare floorboards and dark wood panels with red walls and ceiling. Some settles are arranged along the left hand side before the servery appears and there is an interesting fixed seat in the small curved front window, which is beautifully etched with the pub’s name. A few old pictures dot the walls, in keeping with the pub’s art heritage (Francis Bacon used to drink here) and Mckellan has written a piece on the pub’s website giving details about several of the paintings on show. The servery makes the room even narrower, as does the staircase leading up to the restaurant, before you emerge in the rear snug with its fixed seating and vinyl flooring. There is a fireplace on one wall and the complete works of Dickens are available for perusal, alongside a figurine of Gandalf – Mckellen’s character from the Lord of the Rings movies. Both rooms are free from distractions such as TV screens or piped music, with conversation dominating and it is telling that when the owners insisted the former landlady had to have a fruit machine in the front bar, she put a sign on it asking that people refrained from using it, which resulted in the machine lasting just two weeks before it was taken away again. A small outdoor platform has room for no more than three or four people, but gives some unbeatable views down the Thames for those lucky enough to bag a spot. The restaurant was set up very formally with white tablecloths and another fine view of the river below. We had some food, but plumped for burgers from the considerably cheaper bar menu, which we ate from bar stools as the few tables downstairs were already fully occupied by the time we arrived.
The pub seems to keep a core range of ales in the shape of Sharp’s Doom Bar, Taylor Landlord (off on our visit), Marston’s Pedigree and Adnams Southwold Bitter, plus a guest which was Shepherd Neame Master Brew. Not the most thrilling line up, but my Doom Bar was in good condition, despite the barmaid’s complex routine of pouring the pint into two different glasses before combining them to ensure a full pint.
For such a small pub, there is a lot to take in here and I really enjoyed our food and drink in these civilised surroundings. It’s surprisingly easy to get here from the city and anyone walking the Thames Path would do well to build in a drinks break here. A fine traditional pub that knows how to continue attracting customers – I’d happily return, hopefully to snag that table on the balcony.

On 2nd June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2568 recommendations about 2568 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Grapes

Update - August 2012

Seems to have had a bit of a redecoration since my last visit in June 2011. Sadly most of the historical prints and photos have disappeared and, apart from a few paintings that have remained, the burgundy coloured walls look rather bare by comparison with previously. Some padded high backed chairs have been introduced, replacing the former wooden stools at the bar, and I'm afraid that these do look somewhat out of place in an old pub like this.

Beers on were TT Landlord, Adnams and Pedigree as reported in June 2011 and these seem to be the regulars. TT Landlord in good form and, at £ 3.60p, perhaps cheaper than you might expect in a famous tourist trap like this.

Overall, it's still worth seeking out.

Original review - June 2011

Famous old riverside pub in Limehouse on the north side of the Thames. The history books tell us that there's been an inn on the site since the 16th Century and that the present building dates back to around 1720.

It's a longish narrow single bar featuring wood pannelling and a fine collection of old prints and pictures on the walls. You'll notice a splendid painting - "Saturday night at the Grapes" - definitely no chavs or scumbags in sight.

There's no TV, background music, fruit machines etc to disturb the fine atmosphere. The pub is very much on the tourist circuit, a good number of whom come for the fish and chips at lunch in the popular upstairs restaurant.

At the rear of the pub up several steps is a small wooden balcony on stilts affording fine views of the river and the opposite bank.

Beers on recently were TT Landlord, Pedigree and Adnams, the latter being in good form. It's been a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular in recent years

I've always liked this pub and think it's well worth finding

On 7th August 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Grapes

A cosy and traditional haven selling consistently decent quality ale in an area which has been radically regenerated and modernised over the last 20 years or so. The Grapes feels like something of a refuge and the welcome is warm.
The reviews below give excellent and accurate detail which I won't repeat. Beers offered on a recent visit were Adnams Bitter, Pedigree and Landlord as regulars and Quantock Sunraker as a guest. Both the Sunraker and Pedigree were crisp and quaffable. Unfortunately, the Sunraker and Landlord both ran out and weren't replaced but this may be a function of being a Tuesday lunchtime and the weekend batch not yet being in or ready. Well worth a visit for the beer, food, view and history.
OCTOBER 2010

UPDATE November 2011

Happily, The Grapes remains totally unchanged. A welcoming traditional pub in a modern and thriving area.
Minor quibbles would be an unlit fire on a chilly day and one table on a busy lunchtime swamped by Christmas decorations. These are though minor quibbles more than offset by the welcome, ale and food quality, traditional building and stunning location.
Beer on this time was Adnams Bitter, Pedigree, Robinsons Double Hop and TT Landlord. The latter being in excellent condition and as good as you're likely to find outside Yorkshire. It wouldn't stay in the glass.
A great boozer and well worth a detour for if in London.

On 1st December 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]

Page: 1 2