User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Chesham Arms, Homerton, E9

15 Mehetabel Road
E9
E9 6DU

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Chesham Arms

I remembered having been here before when I came here on a Pubs Galore crawl in Spring 2017 (see below for other crawlers' accounts - two-thirds of the way through a crawl I wasn't going to be writing a review). My brother and his then partner (now wife) brought me here one time when I visited them in Graham Road, half a mile away, in about 1980. My return here now found what I guess would be a new team behind the bar (since 2017, I mean - obviously), as they all looked to be in their early 20s, and the surprising thing was that four of them were on duty at 4:30pm on a weekday, when the pub was far from busy. They were mostly standing around making "I'm drinking a coffee, it's not my turn" gestures towards their colleagues as I approached the bar. The one who drew the short straw poured me a half of Gun Chummy Buster 4%, a dark and malty Sussex bitter, which was pretty good, though not exceptional. There were two other beers and a cider among the five hand pumps. The pub was originally at least four rooms and possibly a lobby, judging by the RSJs and the four visible fireplaces and bare-brick chimney breasts. I'd have quite liked it here, with its personal nostalgia, reasonable beer and pleasant surroundings, but the customer service nerd in me was annoyed by the sight four employees (or co-owners, who knows?) standing around chatting, or exchanging crossword clues and quiz questions. Some of my money was going in their pockets, but they weren't doing much to earn it.

On 2nd February 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3141 recommendations about 2950 pubs]


hondo . left this review about The Chesham Arms

Old style pub with a locals feel & a outdoor space to the rear.

On 30th September 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2833 recommendations about 2774 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Chesham Arms

A really nice locals' pub, saved from the developers as detailed below. Inside is now one large tastefully-furnished room with a central bar - further details also still much as well-described below. Still a nice selection of beers in top class condition, when visited including Bristol Beer Factory Milk Stout and Bow Street, Thornbridge Jaipur, Harbour Cornish Bitter and a draught cider. One of those pubs where you automatically feel welcomed and comfortable and definitely worth a visit.

On 8th December 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2660 recommendations about 2603 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Chesham Arms

Despite being just a short walk from Hackney station, this pub somehow manages to find itself in a very peaceful backstreet location, giving it very much a local's pub feel. The place was closed down in 2012 by its property developer owner, but after a high profile campaign running for the best part of three years, the local community have managed, with the help of Hackney Council and CAMRA, to get it reopened and focused on providing good quality beer. You enter into the mid-section of the pub - a bare boarded space with the bar directly opposite the front door. The servery has a modern counter and pleasant traditional bar back topped with an old radio and some Charles and Diana wedding memorabilia. This space is set aside for standing room only, but there is a good deal of chair and low stool seating over to the right next to a nice brick fireplace with a small stove inside and the rare sight of a Branston Pickle mirror to one side. Further back the wall has been painted red and decorated with a fish-eye mirror, before more bare brick emerges to the rear around a second fireplace. An upright piano stacked with board games can be found back here and the eye is diverted by potted plants, a few small pictures, some breweriana and a stained glass Blue Nun sign. The left hand side of the room offers more of the same seating options under similarly decorated walls and fireplaces, with some nice paintings hung above each. Old Penguin books fill a high shelf around the bar area and a door leads out to a nice, bright garden with plenty of flowers livening it up.
The pub's commitment to providing a good range of well kept beer has seen it scoop awards from CAMRA and the Society for the Preservation of Beers from the Wood. Cask options on this visit amounted to Oakham Oblivion, Five Points XPA, Saltaire Triple Chocoholic and 360 Degrees Best with one real cider option. The Triple Chocoholic is one that I rarely turn down the opportunity to sample and I was pleased to find my half was immaculately presented and one of the best beers I enjoyed on a crawl full of good beer. Keg options seemed to steer clear of mainstream brands, favouring higher quality beers from the continent and the odd local brew.
This is a quality establishment where good beer and comfortable surrounds go hand in hand to create a very pleasant environment in which to while away some time. New wet-led traditional pubs of this sort rarely appear in the capital, so drinkers should be embracing this place, a visit to which is made all the more sweeter with the knowledge that it represents a victory against the developers that have cost us so many pubs over the years.

On 3rd May 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2813 recommendations about 2813 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Chesham Arms

A fantastic back street pub well described below by MM and BF, the U-shape deriving from its originally being 2 rooms knocked into one. I found the interior a little surreal, like something Lewis Carol might have written into existence, but the beer (which did seem to cry “Drink Me”) was excellent. The wood burner has a pile of logs, but also 2 fire extinguishers next to it, which was a bit bizarre. Ales on were as listed by MM/BF; I had a pint of the XPA which was in excellent condition, very well received. A Classic Case of a pub rescued from closure by its community, I should be delighted to come back sooner rather than later.

On 6th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2908 recommendations about 2875 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Chesham Arms

This one has been on my hit list for quite a while so it was great to finally visit it on the PuG crawl.
Saved from developers turning it into residential by a high profile campaign supported by locals and Hackney council this listed community asset this CAMRA East London & City Branch Pub of the Year 2016 did not disappoint. Well described below I wont repeat any of that, except to concur that the Oakham Oblivion wand Five Points XPA were on cracking form and this is an absolutely top back street community pub.

On 4th April 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1845 recommendations about 1781 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Chesham Arms

A truly excellent pub this one and ticks a lot of boxes with me. Even on approach to this pub, observing the splendid exterior, I had a feeling it was going to be a good one. The pub has an equally well kept interior and a good choice of five ales on handpump. The service was welcoming and friendly and beer quality excellent. I went for the Five points XPA, which definitely would pass the three pint test. The pub is also worthy as a destination pub status and would happily return here to spend a little longer.

On 31st March 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3121 recommendations about 3121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Chesham Arms

My favorite pub of the day's pub crawl,a classic no frills backstreet boozer,a good selection of beer was available as described by Malden Man below, The Oakham Oblivion was in exceptional form as was the Five Points XPA.A cracking pub.

On 26th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Chesham Arms

As below, though there's a wood burning stove in both rooms, some claret coloured walls with a few Victorian mirrors and a nicely worn floor which may be original. There's some bare brick, but I gather that during this pub's period of closure, some of the fittings were removed, which is a shame.
360 Best had less flavour than the glass in which it was served, but my half of Five Points XPA was very good indeed, and both served by friendly staff.
Off the beaten track in an increasingly gentrified part of Homerton, with a name which is unique; well worth seeking out, especially after a visit to Sutton House.

On 26th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Chesham Arms

A classy looking back street pub in the middle of a regency style terrace and deliberately built wider and taller. A prime example of a people powered saved pub, the place was seriously threatened some years back but was rescued and is seemingly now thriving. A U-shaped room, angled central bar, loads of exposed brickwork and a boarded floor. There is a gilded patterned ceiling with more modern looking cornices, a log burning stove, some hanging tapestries and a collection of framed drawings of vintage cars. A few board games were stacked on a sideboard next to a potted fern. This is the first pub I have ever been in with a Branston Pickle mirror, how odd.
Beers were Five Points XPA, Oakham Oblivion, Saltaire Triple Chocoholic, someone's 360 Best and a cider, Turner's Dry.
A lovely back street pub, saved from extinction by a defiant local group, well done to them, what a great pub you have saved.

On 26th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]

Page: 1 2