User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 19th May 2019) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Pembury Tavern, E8

90 Amhurst Road
E8
E8 1JH
Phone: 02089868597

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Pembury Tavern

bought by Five Points Brewing

On 14th February 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2555 recommendations about 2500 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Pembury Tavern

An extremely large corner pub offering the full range of Milton beers, plus a couple of guests ales. The pub was quiet on our Tuesday lunchtime visit and we had just visited the Cock Tavern down the road, which was also very quiet. On this visit we found 5 Milton beers, 2 guest beers and 1 cider on handpump. We opted for the Colchester Metropolis, which was decent enough. The young barmaid was friendly and chatty.

On 2nd November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2737 recommendations about 2737 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Pembury Tavern

Well worth visiting at any time for the impressive beer offering and 14 of the 16 pumps were in operation when we popped in for a late lunchtime visit.
A very impressive range of Milton Ales, including Citra, Pegasus, Sparta and Nero were complemented by four or five others from outside the Milton range and a good pint of Sparta was had.
As others have mentioned, this large odd shaped pub is one which really need the sounds and vibes of a decent crowd in to make it come alive, and on previous weekend evening visits it’s had this and the good feel that goes with it. But, as alluded to in Johns review below unfortunately with a just few late lunchers and an old boy and his dog to keep us company on this visit it more resembled a museum.

On 14th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1577 recommendations about 1528 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Pembury Tavern

Has it really been this long? It has and finally I revisited the Pembury. It certainly seems a bit more homely and lived-in these days, some of the walls have been painted green and there’s still the well-maintained bar billiards table as well as a selection of board games. The usual large selection of Milton beers with - as usual - a lack of condition, mine was a pretty insipid half. It’s worth a visit but next time I think I’d head to the fridge instead.

June 2008
Can't really add much to RogerB's excellent review below, as I agree with most of what he's said. The ale/cider range is super (16 handpumps is it?), well served and the oversized glasses are always a bonus, plus there's a decent wine selection. And I'm always up for a game of bar billiards.

But as a pub? It just doesn't work for me. It's too cavernous and (dare I say it) clinical with no atmosphere and character a lot of the time. It feels like a big beer hall - which is fine when very busy but can be off-puttingly quiet and oppressive at other times. Worth seeking out for the ale (mainly Milton) and cider range, but I would struggle to want to stay beyond a couple. Perhaps as time passes the place will take on a more cosy air - I hope so. I will try it again a year or two down the line. Rated 7

On 7th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3794 recommendations about 3782 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Pembury Tavern

I haven't been to the Pembury Tavern since it's brief spell as a Banks and Taylor pub over twenty five years ago.

If someone had told me back in the day that in thirty years time over half of the pubs in this area will have closed down, then I would have straight away nominated this as one of the favourites to go. In those days it had a terrible reputation for drug dealing, violence and all sorts of trouble.

Now it survives as a GBG entry with decent looking food and interesting beers. On my Saturday afternoon visit it was quite busy with many who appeared to be off to a football match. Maybe they were heading to Tottenham via the nearby Hackney Downs Station.

The bar sports four banks of four handpumps, nearly all in use but at least one had a cider. As has been noted most of the beers are from the Milton brewery in Cambridge. I went for their Nero which at £3.20 was cheaper than other competing alehouses in the area. It turned out to be a black beer and was in excellent condition.
Happily There seemed to be no evidence at all of the usual global corporate abomination's keg dross.

Definitely worth a visit.

On 5th May 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2119 recommendations about 2114 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Pembury Tavern

Nice but very spartan interior.The sort of pub when busy has a real good feel but when quiet feels like a museum.Doesn,t appear to be owned by Milton but tied to Milton beers which to me are a bit hit and miss.Very busy on quiz night and they have 3 or 4 beer fests every year.

On 1st February 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 886 recommendations about 874 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Pembury Tavern

Milton ales predominated during my visit on Saturday lunchtime. They all had an ancient theme – Nike; Dionysus; Tiki; Nero; Pegasus; Sparta; Minotaur; and Abeona all being available, plus a couple of ales from other breweries. The pump clips for the Milton ales offered no clue as to ale style, so I took a lucky dip for the mid range ABV Pegasus, which turned out to be a decent drop of ale. A wall board might be helpful in giving punters a clue as to ale styles when they offer so many rarely seen ales. There’s enough room for one on the walls, and they do have a board for the range of decent bottled beers that they do. There was a food menu on a board above the bar, but pizzas (or “le pizze” according to the menu) seem to be the main food item.

The pub itself is something of a monolith standing on a major junction in Hackney. Inside there’s nothing traditional or cosy about it, being essentially a sanitised drinking space. But on the plus side there’s a pool table and bar billiards – oh, and ten ales as well. This is a destination pub for the ale drinker or someone looking for interesting bottled beers – just don’t expect a traditional boozer.

On 16th October 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2477 recommendations about 2398 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about The Pembury Tavern

First visit to this pub having heard good reports,I wasn't disappointed,of 16 handpumps 10 were on early afternoon ,good management in quiet times of day,wasn't put off by the large barn like interior, although I could imagine it would be very noisy when busy.As with the pub most if not all the beers were new to me so I asked who I took to be the Landlord for a recommendation ,hoppy,citrus and not to high an ABV ,I was pointed in the direction of Buntingford Galaxy, an excellent choice and proved to be beer of the day.An enjoyable visit and it won't be my last.

On 27th June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1186 recommendations about 1175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Pembury Tavern

ORIGINAL REVIEW Oct 2011
The solid doors give the immediate impression of night club or exotic dancers,but once inside this is clearly a drinkers paradise.As others have mentioned ,the interior has been stripped out and with a lot of well worn tables and mixture of chairs it has the feel of a students refectory.Free wifi also means a lot of people are focussing on their laptops,but the customer mix is not exclusively students and it is always good to see some attractive ladies sampling the wares together with the committed ale drinkers.There is a bar billiards table,a pool table and the pub is dog friendly even though food is being served.The barstaff are very friendly and helpful( samples are given to help ale choice) and the regulars are a good bunch so despite being cavernous there is a good atmosphere.16 handpumps,not all working but with a very full complement of Milton beers and several guests leading to a wide choice of beer styles.We sampled a good number on out trip and found ale quality to be consistently high.There is also an extensive choice of continental lagers,single malt whisky and ciders.The food menu is also quite varied and many punters come here for the food which looked good.A real ale oasis,I would gladly return.

UPDATE
No real change,still offering a range of 6 Milton ales on my trip with a wide variety of strengths ,two guests and a scrumpy cider.A large wooden banquette has been added to the left of the front door,there are still ranks of tables in the centre but the smells from the kitchen really were tempting me to give the food a go.There is an impressive list of single malts,rums and Belgian bottled beers so I would thoroughly recommend a trip in here if alcohol consumption is your game.

On 23rd June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1908 recommendations about 1908 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Pembury Tavern

I popped into this pub early one Saturday evening to find they were having a beer festival and was therefore faced with the task of trying to pick one beer from a selection of 16 on handpull and a further 8 on stilage near the front door. A massive beer list at the bar which detailed countless more ales that were either due to come on or had already gone was little help in whittling things down, so I plumped for a pint of Milton Minotaur, given that the pub serves as a regular outlet for the brewery. I enjoyed my pint very much and it seemed that most of the other customers were quite rightly getting stuck into the very impressive range of beer that stood before them.
The pub itself is a little bland, with bare floorboards and plain white walls in the large open area opposite the bar counter and in the smaller seating areas either side of the bar. There were a few modern art prints on the walls, seemingly for sale, one or two adverts for the Milton Brewery and a collection of pump clips snaking around the beams, but otherwise it all felt a bit bare and sterile. Seating was mostly standard chairs around tables of various sizes, but there were one or two benches and pews here and there.
Food was being served and I spotted a decent looking pizza menu that seemed quite popular with the locals. A pool table was in constant use in the left rear corner of the room and a bar billiards table was situated nearer the front. I also spotted a book swap scheme.
I quite liked it in here, despite the drab surroundings, although the lively atmosphere may have been helped by the beer festival. The staff were polite and patient and the beer is clearly the star of the show, which is always a plus in my book. I'd certainly return again and would be interested to see the place on a normal night.

On 28th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2269 recommendations about 2269 pubs]

Page: 1 2