User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with hondo on the Pub Forum

The Pembury Tavern, E8

90 Amhurst Road
E8
E8 1JH
Phone: 02089868597

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about The Pembury Tavern

Set in the vee of a road junction, this rather nice Victorian pub has been knocked though into one large room, extending into a side area, with polished wood flooring and a 1930's club sort of feel. The bar billiards table is a rare survivor for the area. Most ales from Five Points, who own the pub, but including guests from Siren, ELB and Redemption, and a selection of crafty stuff. A very civilised place for a good pint or two but beware it does not open Monday to Thursday lunchtimes.

On 4th December 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2194 recommendations about 2145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Pembury Tavern

bought by Five Points Brewing

On 14th February 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Pembury Tavern

An extremely large corner pub offering the full range of Milton beers, plus a couple of guests ales. The pub was quiet on our Tuesday lunchtime visit and we had just visited the Cock Tavern down the road, which was also very quiet. On this visit we found 5 Milton beers, 2 guest beers and 1 cider on handpump. We opted for the Colchester Metropolis, which was decent enough. The young barmaid was friendly and chatty.

On 2nd November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2974 recommendations about 2974 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Pembury Tavern

Well worth visiting at any time for the impressive beer offering and 14 of the 16 pumps were in operation when we popped in for a late lunchtime visit.
A very impressive range of Milton Ales, including Citra, Pegasus, Sparta and Nero were complemented by four or five others from outside the Milton range and a good pint of Sparta was had.
As others have mentioned, this large odd shaped pub is one which really need the sounds and vibes of a decent crowd in to make it come alive, and on previous weekend evening visits it’s had this and the good feel that goes with it. But, as alluded to in Johns review below unfortunately with a just few late lunchers and an old boy and his dog to keep us company on this visit it more resembled a museum.

On 14th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Pembury Tavern

Has it really been this long? It has and finally I revisited the Pembury. It certainly seems a bit more homely and lived-in these days, some of the walls have been painted green and there’s still the well-maintained bar billiards table as well as a selection of board games. The usual large selection of Milton beers with - as usual - a lack of condition, mine was a pretty insipid half. It’s worth a visit but next time I think I’d head to the fridge instead.

June 2008
Can't really add much to RogerB's excellent review below, as I agree with most of what he's said. The ale/cider range is super (16 handpumps is it?), well served and the oversized glasses are always a bonus, plus there's a decent wine selection. And I'm always up for a game of bar billiards.

But as a pub? It just doesn't work for me. It's too cavernous and (dare I say it) clinical with no atmosphere and character a lot of the time. It feels like a big beer hall - which is fine when very busy but can be off-puttingly quiet and oppressive at other times. Worth seeking out for the ale (mainly Milton) and cider range, but I would struggle to want to stay beyond a couple. Perhaps as time passes the place will take on a more cosy air - I hope so. I will try it again a year or two down the line. Rated 7

On 7th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Pembury Tavern

I haven't been to the Pembury Tavern since it's brief spell as a Banks and Taylor pub over twenty five years ago.

If someone had told me back in the day that in thirty years time over half of the pubs in this area will have closed down, then I would have straight away nominated this as one of the favourites to go. In those days it had a terrible reputation for drug dealing, violence and all sorts of trouble.

Now it survives as a GBG entry with decent looking food and interesting beers. On my Saturday afternoon visit it was quite busy with many who appeared to be off to a football match. Maybe they were heading to Tottenham via the nearby Hackney Downs Station.

The bar sports four banks of four handpumps, nearly all in use but at least one had a cider. As has been noted most of the beers are from the Milton brewery in Cambridge. I went for their Nero which at £3.20 was cheaper than other competing alehouses in the area. It turned out to be a black beer and was in excellent condition.
Happily There seemed to be no evidence at all of the usual global corporate abomination's keg dross.

Definitely worth a visit.

On 5th May 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Pembury Tavern

Nice but very spartan interior.The sort of pub when busy has a real good feel but when quiet feels like a museum.Doesn,t appear to be owned by Milton but tied to Milton beers which to me are a bit hit and miss.Very busy on quiz night and they have 3 or 4 beer fests every year.

On 1st February 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 933 recommendations about 920 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Pembury Tavern

Milton ales predominated during my visit on Saturday lunchtime. They all had an ancient theme – Nike; Dionysus; Tiki; Nero; Pegasus; Sparta; Minotaur; and Abeona all being available, plus a couple of ales from other breweries. The pump clips for the Milton ales offered no clue as to ale style, so I took a lucky dip for the mid range ABV Pegasus, which turned out to be a decent drop of ale. A wall board might be helpful in giving punters a clue as to ale styles when they offer so many rarely seen ales. There’s enough room for one on the walls, and they do have a board for the range of decent bottled beers that they do. There was a food menu on a board above the bar, but pizzas (or “le pizze” according to the menu) seem to be the main food item.

The pub itself is something of a monolith standing on a major junction in Hackney. Inside there’s nothing traditional or cosy about it, being essentially a sanitised drinking space. But on the plus side there’s a pool table and bar billiards – oh, and ten ales as well. This is a destination pub for the ale drinker or someone looking for interesting bottled beers – just don’t expect a traditional boozer.

On 16th October 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Pembury Tavern

First visit to this pub having heard good reports,I wasn't disappointed,of 16 handpumps 10 were on early afternoon ,good management in quiet times of day,wasn't put off by the large barn like interior, although I could imagine it would be very noisy when busy.As with the pub most if not all the beers were new to me so I asked who I took to be the Landlord for a recommendation ,hoppy,citrus and not to high an ABV ,I was pointed in the direction of Buntingford Galaxy, an excellent choice and proved to be beer of the day.An enjoyable visit and it won't be my last.

On 27th June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1321 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Pembury Tavern

ORIGINAL REVIEW Oct 2011
The solid doors give the immediate impression of night club or exotic dancers,but once inside this is clearly a drinkers paradise.As others have mentioned ,the interior has been stripped out and with a lot of well worn tables and mixture of chairs it has the feel of a students refectory.Free wifi also means a lot of people are focussing on their laptops,but the customer mix is not exclusively students and it is always good to see some attractive ladies sampling the wares together with the committed ale drinkers.There is a bar billiards table,a pool table and the pub is dog friendly even though food is being served.The barstaff are very friendly and helpful( samples are given to help ale choice) and the regulars are a good bunch so despite being cavernous there is a good atmosphere.16 handpumps,not all working but with a very full complement of Milton beers and several guests leading to a wide choice of beer styles.We sampled a good number on out trip and found ale quality to be consistently high.There is also an extensive choice of continental lagers,single malt whisky and ciders.The food menu is also quite varied and many punters come here for the food which looked good.A real ale oasis,I would gladly return.

UPDATE
No real change,still offering a range of 6 Milton ales on my trip with a wide variety of strengths ,two guests and a scrumpy cider.A large wooden banquette has been added to the left of the front door,there are still ranks of tables in the centre but the smells from the kitchen really were tempting me to give the food a go.There is an impressive list of single malts,rums and Belgian bottled beers so I would thoroughly recommend a trip in here if alcohol consumption is your game.

On 23rd June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]

Page: 1 2