User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 7th August 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Wentworth Arms, Mile End, E3

127 Eric Street
E3
E3 4SR

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about The Wentworth Arms

Dating from the mid-19th century, the green banded stained-glass windows indicate that this was once a Chazzer’s pub. It was a haunt of the Krays and jewel thief Lenny Hamilton, branded with red-hot pokers by Ronnie Kray. Despite the branding (no pun intended), I’m doubt this is still a Charles Wells’ house, as there’s no mention of it on their website, nor on CAMRA’s.
The place hasn’t changed since the previous reviews; it’s still something of a social club for the area’s indigenous older locals, with such unadulterated Cockney accents that it was hard to understand what they were saying. They were few in number, even on a Friday mid evening, some regarding this callow youth with slight suspicion, so I’m not sure if it really is ‘friendly’, but it’s certainly so compared to the Albert. There’s a jukebox playing at a rather high level, with décor comprising eclectic prints and flowers in vases
There still aren’t any pumps here, me opting for a half of Kronenbourg at a very reasonable £2.15, served by a young, friendly barman.
This place seems to serve its purpose well, but I can’t see any reason to return; the Lord Tredegar is a short walk from here, but it has a certain curiosity value for those with time on their hands, and/or those who want to fund pubs’ survival.

On 17th April 2022 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Wentworth Arms

Not been back to this Charles Wells pub for over nine years, but nothing much seems to have changed. Still looks the business from the street, and the interior retains its unspoilt 'local' look with its basic furniture and traditional decor. Not sure whether the narrow, tapering rear patio area was there previously, but it just catches the late afternoon sun (if you are lucky). Sadly, given its other old-fashioned charms, the real ale has yet to arrive, so the keg Bombardier (£3.80) had to do (as before), and the parting thought of "if only..." certainly lingers.

On 28th October 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Wentworth Arms

No real ale in this small corner pub, that aside it seemed a half decent place . A single long room with wooden boarded floor and grey walls, there is a jukebox for entertainment. Standard keg offerings, the bitter being Wells Bombardier. Very much an old school pub, If someone was to put a couple of decent ales on in here ,it could be a cracker, as it stands though I'd be unlikely to return.

On 27th November 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Wentworth Arms

Small pub tucked away in a side street. Standard draught selection.

On 16th August 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2833 recommendations about 2774 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Wentworth Arms

The Wentworth Arms is a decent looking well kept pub,that it situated behind Mile End tube station.
Once inside there is a single oblong shaped room with the bar facing,there was a darts board to the left,the seating was bench type which faced the bar.
The pub was very busy with older drinkers who where having a good old chat about horse racing.
The pub is a Charles Wells tied house,there were no real ales on the bar,there were two keg options,i had a drink of keg Eagle bitter which was drinkable,the other beer was keg Bombardier.
This pub is very handy for the tube station,i was happy enough having a drink in this pub.

Pub visited 19/2/2014

On 19th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Wentworth Arms

This is a small single room corner pub. It’s apparently a Charles Wells House. There were two handpumps on the bar, but neither was in use. The only bitter available was a keg version of Bombardier, which turned out to be undrinkable. The landlord readily refunded my money (there was nothing else that I wanted to drink). This struck me as a friendly local; all they need is a decent ale or two to make it a really decent pub. Can’t see me returning unless they start serving a real ale.

On 8th July 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Wentworth Arms

This place is pretty much what I would expect from a small east end boozer with its vocal crowd and nice yet authoritative landlady/barmaid.

There is only a standard selection of draught, including Bombardier, as the two hand pumps are unused. I decided upon the Guinness which was well served.

The pub is pretty basic, but there is a dartboard and an outside area for smoking and sitting in the sun. I wasn't that keen with the set up as the railings up each side make this narrow area feel like a cage sandwiched in between some garages and the busy pavement. There were some kids playing football and their ball kept flying over which was irritating a few of the locals and narrowly missed my freshly paid for pint.

This place is ok for a quick drink if meeting people from the nearby tube, but I wouldn't go out of my way to drink here again.

On 7th July 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3948 recommendations about 3925 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Wentworth Arms

Tucked just round the corner from the tube station, the Wentworth is a smallish, no nonsense, local's corner pub with no glamour or pretensions. As previously mentioned, this is a Charles Wells pub but despite 2 hand pumps, they have no cask ales and keg Bombardier is the only option for bitter drinkers. There is a dart board at one end of the bar (mind the bookshelf below) and a couple of TVs and jukebox. The décor is plain and simple with polished wooden floor, padded pew seats and plain ceilings / walls. The windows are partly frosted with the pub name picked out and a staircase cuts across the bar that would have originally been divided into a typical public / saloon set up but is now knocked through into one. The beer garden has an interesting bus stop style shelter so smokers should remain dry. The pub may not be anything particularly special but there are far worse places in the area.

On 14th September 2007 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1239 recommendations about 1233 pubs]